We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Manhattan Hotel

Expedia.comUS$55*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$64*
US$55*
Great Deal
US$63*
US$62*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Manhattan Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

110 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 99: English reviews
Start your review of Manhattan Hotel
 Click to rate
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at the Manhattan Hotel for 1 night in May 2017 while I was in Pretoria on business. I have seldom come across more friendly or helpful staff, anywhere in the world! Everyone I encountered at the hotel went out of their way to be friendly and genuinely helpful and warm. Porters, receptionists, shuttle drivers, waiters...all lovely! I had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HCD72
YolandiLoock, PA to the Managing Director at Manhattan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear HCD72, Thank you for taking the time to give us your review on TripAdvisor, we really appreciate it. Thank you for the kind words for our Amazing staff. We apologize for the noisy streets, I can suggest with your next booking, to request a room that is away from the streets. We look forward to welcome you back soon,...

Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here for the fist time and I recon, it was good choice. The charges are a bit high if we compare them with the facilities offered. Overall, it was a good experience. Their food is scrumptious and the rooms are wide n cozy.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ErnestaHemingway
YolandiLoock, PA to the Managing Director at Manhattan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ernesta, Thank you so much for the review on TripAdvisor, we really appreciate it. I would like to request if you can contact my General Manager, Mieta or email her on mieta @manhattanhotel.co.za as she would like to get more clarity on your review for the high charges. Have a lovely weekend. kind regards, Yolandi Loock PA to the...

Harare
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel is good when inside but is located near a busy commuter bus station which is very noisy and dirty. Your good night sleep will also be disturbed by petroheads taking advantage of the reduced traffic at night to drag race. The food is very good. The rooms are too small but comfortable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tanyaradzwa M
YolandiLoock, PA to the Managing Director at Manhattan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tanyaradzwa Thank you for taking the time to give us your review on TripAdvisor, we really appreciate it. Thank you very much for the kind words, this is GREATLY appreciated. We apologize for any inconvenience caused due to the noisy road, we do however offer to move clients to the inside of the Hotel where the room is away...

Knysna, South Africa
Reviewed 18 March 2017

The hotel's location is easy to find.The free shuttle around the city is excellent, it assist you to enjoy the city and not stress about the traffic. My room was neat and clean. The WiFi is excellent at all the times. The service was the best, the front desk, porters, and the lady who was assigned to clean my room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mphomarumo
Nico R, Owner at Manhattan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mphomarumo, Thank you for taking the time to gives us your review on TripAdvisor, we really appreciate it. Thank you very much for the kind words, this is GREATLY appreciated. We apologize for any inconvenience caused due to our lifts, we are excited to inform you that we are doing a complete lift upgrade and this should be completed...

Reviewed 13 March 2017 via mobile

Excellent service from friendly staff members, excellent atmosphere to spend quality time with friends and family, quality facilities and a definte 5 star recommendation from me. This is a lovely place to enjoy a lovely holiday.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maropeng A S
Nico R, Owner at Manhattan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Maropeng A S, Thank you for taking the time to gives us your review on TripAdvisor, we really appreciate it. Thank you very much for the kind words, this is GREATLY appreciated. We look forward to welcome you back soon :) Kind regards, Nico Rowan Managing Director

Reviewed 11 March 2017

We had one night stay at this hotel!! The front desk was friendly and kind! They do provide the free shuttle from the hotel to Pretoria station, it was really nice service for the guests who carry the luggage. However, the whole building felt kind of old. The room was fine and simple. The next day we had a big...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Konrad C
Nico R, Owner at Manhattan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Konrad C, Thank you for taking the time to gives us your review on TripAdvisor, we really appreciate it. Thank you very much for the kind words, this is GREATLY appreciated. We apologize for any inconvenience caused due to our lifts, we are excited to inform you that we are doing a complete lift upgrade and this should be...

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 9 March 2017

we went there for a conference and they have lovely lunches, a nice atmosphere and friendly staff. It is near the Gautrain station and they have a shuttle service to Wonderboom Airport and the Gautrain.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank r0uxw
Nico R, Owner at Manhattan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear r0uxw, Thank you for taking the time to gives us your review on TripAdvisor, we really appreciate it. Thank you very much for the kind words, this is GREATLY appreciated. We are delighted that you enjoyed your conference and meals. We look forward to welcome you back soon :) Kind regards, Nico Rowan Managing Director

Reviewed 2 March 2017

Very close to the station. The room is very clean, quite and facilities in the room are full and good. Shuttle bus service is free within 5 km which can reach most of the places of interest. The bus drives are nice, in particular, Sfiso is a really nice and enthusiastic driver to talk with.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 梦 陈
Nico R, Owner at Manhattan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 梦 陈, Thank you for taking the time to gives us your review on TripAdvisor, we really appreciate it. Thank you very much for the kind words, this is GREATLY appreciated. We look forward to welcome you back soon :) Kind regards, Nico Rowan Managing Director

Reviewed 14 February 2017 via mobile

I stay for business in lots of hotels. Manhattans was the most disappointed one of them all. Small smelly rooms Small uncomfortable beds Wifi not working Waiting ages for the lift from the 8th floor to find out, "button is broken" to stop at 1st floor, to get to restaurant. Room interior is cheap and ugly. Best part of Manhattan...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stiaan K
Nico R, Owner at Manhattan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Stiaan K, Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your review on TripAdvisor. It was obviously not ideal to get feedback like this, but would really appreciate it if you could send me your contract info on nico@manhattanhotel.co.za to discuss your experience and get details and most importantly ask for an opportunity to make this...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 13 February 2017

Most people will tell you that the number one reason why they visit Manhattan Hotel in Pretoria, South Africa is that it is close to all important locations like Gautrain (Our local fast train that connects you to the Airport, Sandton and Johannesburg CBD), education institutions, and a comfortable walk to Pretoria CBD too. But for me, one of the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Romeo M
Nico R, Owner at Manhattan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Romeo M, Thank you so much for taking the time to write us this great review on TripAdvisor. Thank you very much for the kind words, we really appreciate it! We appreciate you staying at the Manhattan Hotel and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future. Have a great day :) Kind regards, Nico Rowan...

70 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (31)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (39)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pretoria hotels
0.5 km away
Burgers Park Hotel
Burgers Park Hotel
#31 of 72 in Pretoria
37 reviews
0.6 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Pretoria Capital
0.6 km away
Morning Star Express Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
#10 of 72 in Pretoria
484 reviews
1.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Pretoria-Sunnypark
1311.5 km away
Premier Hotel Pretoria
Premier Hotel Pretoria
#16 of 72 in Pretoria
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Manhattan Hotel Pretoria - Closest hotel to the Pretoria Gautrain Station (250 meters). The Manhattan Hotel is an upmarket, 3-star business hotel conveniently situated just outside the Pretoria CBD. In fact, you will find that our location makes us one of the most popular hotels in the city. Even though we're just a 3 star hotel, you should and can expect to receive 5 star service from us everytime. What makes us VERY different from all the other hotel's in Pretoria is our food. Our Lunch & Dinner buffet offers over a 110 dishes each prepare with special care and attention to detail. Be spoiled for choice when you enjoy stay with us. We are also the first and only 3 star hotel in Pretoria with a SPA that offers an array of treatments to indulge and spoil yourself with. The following FREE service offerings are available to all our guests: FREE shuttle service to an from Pretoria Gautrain Station (250 meters - 1 minute). FREE shuttle service to any 5km radius around the hotel. FREE shuttle service to Brooklyn Mall (5 minutes). FREE Uncapped High Speed WiFi Internet. FREE Internet access and use of the computer/business center for those travelling without Laptops. FREE use of our in-house GYM open all hours of the day. All this is available at excellent prices that offers our clients exceptional value for money. Manhattan Hotel - Redefining the ART of Hospitality!! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Manhattan Hotel

Address: 247 Scheiding Street, Pretoria 0002, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Price Range: RM251 - RM316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Manhattan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 213
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Manhattan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Pretoria
#7 Spa Hotel in Pretoria
#16 Business Hotel in Pretoria
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Manhattan Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
3 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Manhattan Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room away from the noisy roads and intersections”
HCD72, 11 May 2017 | Read review
“Can't tell”
511tanyaradzwam, 28 Apr 2017 | Read review
“There are rooms a bit far from the street which are quieter.”
, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on the South are quieter for productive work.”
57jabulanin, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
“corner suites are good”
, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$55* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUS$63
Hotwire.comUS$62
Orbitz.comUS$64
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates