We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

621 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road
See the most recent reviews
Showing 534: English reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2015 via mobile

10 min away from mandela square. The rooms are clean and descent. The service is good. You can have a dinner buffet in the hotel for 220r . The bar has an amazing view. You need to be careful while using the ATM machines next to the hotel . They stuck ur card and then empty ur account. Try to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Badreddine M
GRHIS, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this review

Dear Badreddine, Thank you for choosing to stay at The Holiday Inn Sandton and sharing your valuable feedback with us. It is always a privilege to have comments from you as one of the well travelled guest. I have regrettably noted your comments on the ATM machines on Maude Street and have taken further action of ensuring The Team is...

London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 July 2015

Pretty standard hotel for Standton although it is nowhere near as good as the Hilton. The rooms are ok but nothing special. The restaurant food is quite good but again nothing special. The service is lacking, waiting for well over an hour for example for room service despite being assured otherwise on 2 occasions that it would be imminent. Also...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Graham D
GRHIS, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this review

Dear "GrahamD" Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Please accept my sincere apology for the substandard service you received, I can assure you that it is not the type of service that we pride ourselves on. Both these matters have been taken up with the Executive Chef and the Travel Desk Manager to investigate...

Reviewed 13 July 2015 via mobile

This time we decided to visit Johannesburg and stayed at Holiday Inn Rivonia Road with my wife and 7-month old daughter and we loved it. This was my daughter's first trip abroad so I was apprehensive but the hotel staff were very helpful. We got a baby cot and she had her own breakfast table which she adored like a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Oluyemi O
GRHIS, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this review

Dear "Oluyemi O" Thank you for taking the time out to write such a lovely & kind review on our hotel! I am happy to see that you did enjoy your room, as-well as the dining in our Lettuce & Lime Restaurant. Overall I am thrilled your stay with us was memorable one. We hope to be able to welcome...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 12 July 2015

We had a networking function there & my word - I could not believe the view when I walked into the pub BUT I cannot believe that the architect could have been so short-sighted as to not extend the pub 'into the direction' of the view! The superb catering made up for in though - keep it up Vuyo buddy!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LOUIS-THE-LAWYER
GRHIS, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this review

Dear "Louis-The-Lawyer" Thank you kindly for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor. I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed the panoramic, magnificent views from our prestige Skye Bar Lounge and the convenience of the Hotel location. Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Warmest...

Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Reviewed 3 July 2015

You would expect "Basic" accommodations when the name Holiday Inn is mentioned, however, this location was the "Upscale" version! A tad far from the airport but Sandton is a Very Nice part of town... It reminded me of Buckhead in Atlanta. This location is walking distance to Nelson Mandela Square Mall as well as many nice restaurants (Bulls Run) and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mytyia
FOM_HIS, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this review

Good day Mytyia, Thank you for your wonderful review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will afford the opportunity to welcome you back in the not too distant future Kind regards Dudu Zondo Front Office Manager

Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 3 July 2015 via mobile

Stayed in the hotel for 5 days and on the last night I visited the sky bar. Where the bar man proceeded to aggravate me and my mellow mood was destroyed. Where I had come to seek refuge became my worst nightmare. All because I asked for a long island tea with less ice cubes. I was ridiculed for not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anne N
GRHIS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this review

Dear "Ann N" Thank you for the feedback on your most recent stay with us. It is with great disappointment that I hear about your unfortunate experience at our Skye Bar. Please accept my sincere apology for the inconvenience caused. I would like to deal with it further, may I kindly ask that you contact me on my e-mail address...

Vilnius, Lithuania
Reviewed 23 June 2015 via mobile

Rooms are clean, staff is well trained, concierge doing good job, breakfast is good (have some hot dishes). Location is ok. We were driving to Gallagher center each morning, it took about 20min. I liked it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marius512
GRHIS, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this review

Dear "Marius512" Thank you so much for your lovely review! I am absolutely delighted to read your kind comments about our facilities and service. Hope to host you in the near future when you visit Sandton, Johannesbug. Kind Regards, Mpho Maphomola Front Office Manager

Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewed 18 June 2015 via mobile

This hotel in Sandton just outside of Joburg has a beautiful interior with nice rooms. The staff is very friendly and helpful and there is a free shuttle to the Gautrain station and to the Nelson Mandela square where you have a lot of restaurants and lots of shops. The surroundings is not very nice but Joburg is a city...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LiBjork
GRHIS, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this review

Dear "LiBjork" Thank you for taking the time to respond. I am overwhelmed by your positive comments and pleased to hear that you had a rewarding stay with us. we strive to provide our guests with an exceptional travel experience. Your comments will be shared with our management and team members. we look forward to welcoming you back in the...

Reviewed 14 June 2015 via mobile

Usually, IHG members are only given VIP lounge access if they are on a gold or platinum status I am on club and got full lounge access No need for breakfast or even dinner The snacks and drinks are amazing Room is quite spacious Staff is friendly and very receptive This is my 3rd stay and I will return always

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anaisa M
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 11 June 2015

i went to the holiday inn for acareer day with them on the 4 of june 2015,it was avery great experiance for me.the hotel is very lovely and the people peopple are very welcoming from the manager of the hotel to the cleaning staff.the hotel is a great place to be,the food was great.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 045Patricia
GRHIS, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this review

Dear "045Patricia " Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience. I am pleased to hear you found the Holiday Inn hotel Sandton services to your liking.I have shared your feedback with the rest of the team who are delighted to hear that you were happy with their hospitality We look forward to welcoming you back to our...

215 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (163)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (40)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (50)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (52)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.2 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
0.6 km away
Garden Court Sandton City
0.4 km away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
0.3 km away
Hilton Sandton
Hilton Sandton
#13 of 49 in Sandton
1,161 reviews
0.9 km away
Park Inn Sandton
Park Inn Sandton
#26 of 49 in Sandton
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Concierge
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Sandton , Rivonia Road located in the heart of Gauteng's corporate, financial and shopping mecca. This cosmopolitan hotel is in close proximity to OR Tambo International Airport, and 500 metres away from the Sandton Gautrain station. Close to numerous attractions such as the Sandton Convention Centre, Sandton City Shopping Centre and Nelson Mandela Square, Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road provides the ultimate accommodation in Sandton for any business or leisure guest. Our lobby features glittering handmade chandeliers and a 10 metre long fireplace were one can relax and surf the complimentary wireless Internet available to all guests. Within the lobby is our Chairman's bar, the perfect spot to grab a hot cup of coffee and a deliciously fresh pastry before you start your day. Indulge in a full hotel continental breakfast buffet at our Lettuce & Lime Restaurant, or enjoy a delectable meal from our a la carte menu paired with a bottle from our extensive wine list. Our state of the art conferencing facilities and professional service combine to make Holiday Inn Sandton, Rivonia Road one of the most sought conference and meeting venues in Sandton. The hotel also has a 24-hour self-service Business Centre, and 7 meeting rooms which can cater for up to 200 people, including 3 conferencing rooms on the 9th floor surrounded by stunning views of the surrounding area. Our 9th floor is also the location of our famous Skye Bar and swimming pool.Our friendly staff are always welcoming and professional, working around the clock to make your Holiday Inn stay as comfortable and memorable as possible. We pride ourselves in our excellent 24 hour room service menu as well as our amazing travel desk, which offers local attraction tips and sight seeing tours."Stay Appreciated" ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road

Address: 123 Rivonia Road, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Price Range: RM432 - RM771 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road 4*
Number of rooms: 301
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road Hotel Sandton
Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road Greater Johannesburg, South Africa
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Sandton
#16 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Cape Town, South Africa
6 months ago
Mutare, Mashonaland East, Zimbabwe

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“High floor if on the construction side or any other side of the hotel”
  • TV
  • Single/Twin bed
  • Sink and amenities
  • View and construction
  • Shower
  • Bedroom
 of 5 bubbles STahboub, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Higher up to avoid building and traffic noise”
 of 5 bubbles pauljC1065HZ, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Make sure your room doesn't face the construction site”
 of 5 bubbles , 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Attention with the size of the sofa bed!”
 of 5 bubbles J3558UOcarmenp, 3 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Pick a room on the other side of the building away from the construction.”
 of 5 bubbles keithat2017, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5