We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Gallo Manor Country Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Gallo Manor Country Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

98 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Gallo Manor Country Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 93: English reviews
Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 22 January 2015

An excellent place to stay in Johannesburg. Very conveniently situated near the motorway and not too far from Sandton City. Lovely gardens and well-appointed rooms. Lynne Taylor, the owner, is very helpful and her staff are competent and friendly. The only drawback is that parking could get a bit tight if the Lodge is full. We didn't have a problem...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Johndssmith
Lynne T, Owner at Gallo Manor Country Lodge, responded to this review

We that you for your review and are pleased that enjoyed your stay

Benoni, South Africa
Reviewed 1 January 2015 via mobile

Once again we had an amazing stay at Gallo Manor Country Lodge. A tranquil setting in which to greet the New Year with amazing people. Hospitality impeccable as always. Thank you, Lynne. May the Lord continue to bless you and your establishment.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GertieTesta
Lynne T, Owner at Gallo Manor Country Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience of Gallo Manor Lodge. We enjoyed the New Year celebrations with you too. May 2015 full fill your wildest dreams with good health and happiness!

Cape Town
Reviewed 23 September 2014

I stayed for one night for business and was sorry to have to leave. Lynne was a charming host from booking right through to check out. She was attentive and willing to go out of her way for a guest who was only spending one night. For example, I needed 100kg of boxes delivered for my business trip, which she...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CVP002
Lynne T, Owner at Gallo Manor Country Lodge, responded to this review

We thank you for sharing your Gallo Manor experience. It is of great importance to us, that we meet the need of our guests.

Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I cannot praise enough how welcome I've been made to feel by Lynne and her staff. Beautiful lodge and nothing was too much trouble. Wonderful bedrooms and grounds . Will definitely be coming back should we be this way again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charlie672013
Lynne T, Owner at Gallo Manor Country Lodge, responded to this review

We are pleased that you appreciated the true Gallo Manor hospitality and trust that you will feel free to visit us again.

gatorgirl515
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Lynn is a lovely host and the house is beautiful! Rooms and bathrooms are large and very comfortable. She really goes out of her way to accommodate. You will need a driver because nothing is walkable but she suggested a great service that we enjoyed. Overall recommend!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gatorgirl515
Lynne T, Owner at Gallo Manor Country Lodge, responded to this review

We appreciate your comments as it is of great value to us.

Surrey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Located on the edge of the JHB Country Club golf course this makes the residence and pretty gardens very quiet. Easy driving distance from local shops and about 10-15 minutes from Sandton City centre. The staff and owners are lovely and friendly, the breakfasts were good. Rooms are well appointed. But that's where it stopped. I was disappointed that my...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Vivrelife
Lynne T, Owner at Gallo Manor Country Lodge, responded to this review

We are mindful that reviews are the opinion of the individual and have taken into account that at no stage during your stay any mention was made of the negative feed back reported in your review. It is unfortunate that we can therefore neither defend or accept that your comments are true. I would recommend that in future whilst travelling,...

Snohomish
Reviewed 6 March 2014

This would be an excellent B & B if you have transportation because it is in a very nice, secure, gated, residential area but quite a distance from restaurants. Lynn is a great hostess trying to meet the needs of each of her guests. We did not have transportation so she offered to drive us to the local shopping center...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank kakeeter
Lynne T, Owner at Gallo Manor Country Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your valued coment. It is always a great joy hosting our guests

Gabon
Reviewed 14 February 2014

I usually stay at the major hotels around Sandton, but for the first time I stayed at Gallo Manor and what a experience. It has been like a home away from home. Lynne and her team will go out of their way for your comfort. It's definitely a 5 star. The property situated in a safe and quite neighborhood, it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Madey00
Lynne T, General Manager at Gallo Manor Country Lodge, responded to this review

It is always a pleasure to hear that B&B's are a good alternative to Hotels where guests can experience a home from home experience. Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

Torhout, Belgium
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Stayed at this accomodation for a week, for business purposes. Very quiet and safe area but keep in mind that it is a little far away from the city and other activities. Nevertheless, this was not important for me as I did not had too much time to wander around. You feel very welcome upon arriving and Lynne and her...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DavyDS
Lynne T, Owner at Gallo Manor Country Lodge, responded to this review

Your comments are of great value to us. Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Stayed here as a stop over on way to and from Mabula game reserve. Lynn the propriter was so helpful, the accomodation spotless and so comfortable and spacious. The gardens and pool lovely. But what made our stay was Lynn offering us our rooms (we were with friends) free of charge for the rest of Saturday as our flight wasn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maureen F
Lynne T, Owner at Gallo Manor Country Lodge, responded to this review

We enjoyed meeting you all and thank you for sharing your Gallo Manor experience

18 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandton hotels
5.9 km away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#3 of 48 in Sandton
832 reviews
5.5 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
5.8 km away
Garden Court Sandton City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 km away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
5.4 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
1.2 km away
Thatchfoord Lodge
Thatchfoord Lodge
#5 of 72 in Sandton
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled between Rivonia, Sunninghill and Woodmead, bordering the prestigious Johannesburg Country Club Golf Course. This popular Guesthouse boasts a secure, tranquil touch of luxury associated with a relaxed homely feel. We pride ourselves on superb excellence in service, and uphold high hospitality standards. Gallo Manor, a Guesthouse of distinction and style, awaits you. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Gallo Manor Country Lodge

Address: 23 Canterbury Crescent | Gallo Manor, Sandton 2191, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Price Range: RM297 - RM403 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Gallo Manor Country Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Gallo Manor Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gallo Manor Country Lodge Sandton, Greater Johannesburg, South Africa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Gallo Manor Country Lodge staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Gallo Manor Country Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We stayed in two different rooms and they were both great,,,,”
 of 5 bubbles whitney756, 28 Jun 2015 | Read review
“Out of Africa”
 of 5 bubbles X8807DEsarahc, 26 May 2015 | Read review
“The garden rooms are superb.”
 of 5 bubbles Barrie47, 26 Feb 2015 | Read review
“The neighbour's aircon was audible from our room (Venezia).”
 of 5 bubbles Johndssmith, 21 Jan 2015 | Read review
“Request one in the guest extension, not within the main house or you'll be disrupted by communal noise.”
 of 5 bubbles Vivrelife, 20 May 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay