We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Capital Hydro

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
The Capital Hydro
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

64 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 59: English reviews
Start your review of The Capital Hydro
 Click to rate
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 22 January 2017

The on duty manager was really great. He does his homework and offered me a great deal. The apartment was spacious. I was not impressed with the curtains and the mouldy smell in the cupboards. The curtains in too 1011 was partially broken. This allowed early morning light to wake me up abruptly. I recommend that the hotel fixes all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GrantH490
Reviewed 20 January 2017 via mobile

I paid almost $ 200 per night for this apartment and did not live up to standards. The broken washing machine spewed water all over the kitchen and no one came to address this, yet I complained to management. Toiletries , teas , coffee sachets and towels were not replaced on a daily basis, yet I phoned reception several times....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Renu P
Kinshasa
Reviewed 13 January 2017

I can say that everything is OK. I was happy with my family and I can recommend friends and other members of family to come there. Try to organize a better system of taxis and transport in town. Sometimes, it's too difficult

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank claudebandjenga
CapitalVilla, General Manager at The Capital Hydro, responded to this review

Dear "Claudebandjenga" Thank you for choosing to book and stay at The Capital Hydro and for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your stay with us. Thank you for the positive feedback. I am delighted to hear that you and your family were happy with the services and facilities offered and that you would recommend us to...

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 6 January 2017

The hotel/apartment is well located, can be accessed easily and is within reach of very important facilities around Sandton. The interior is very clean and well maintained. All staff members are courteous and friendly. I warmly recommended the Capital hydro!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank oluyomia2017
CapitalVilla_Hydro, General Manager at The Capital Hydro, responded to this review

Dear "Oluyomia2017" Thank you for choosing to book and stay at The Capital Hydro and for the lovely feedback you have given. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the location of the hotel as well as the apartment and our staff. Your feedback is greatly appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Capital Hydro...

Abuja, Nigeria
Reviewed 13 December 2016

Great apartment but the management must improve on the television channels subscription. The internet service also failed during my stay. The staff are courteous and helpful. Security also had to improve.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patrick A
CapitalVilla_Hydro, General Manager at The Capital Hydro, responded to this review

Dear "Patrick A" Thank you for choosing to book and stay at The Capital Hydro and for the feedback you have given on your stay with us. Thank you for the positive feedback with regards to the apartment. I have noted your suggestion with regards to the improvement of our television channels. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the lack...

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 28 October 2016

As we walked in it all looked great...... But shower door handle was broken. balcony door off bedroom was broken Microwave was not working properly - turntable didnt turn DSTV didnt work for 2 days no dishtowel in kitchen no soap in downstairs toilet

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank evanr89
CapitalVilla, General Manager at The Capital Hydro, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Roberts Thank you for choosing to book and stay at The Capital Hydro. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your stay and for bringing our shortalls to my attention. I have noted the maintenance and housekeeping issues in your apartment and I would like to sincerely apologise for these. I can assure...

Santiago, Chile
Reviewed 20 September 2016

We arrived at the apartament at 22:30 and my reservation was not respected. At that time of the night we had to move to another facility of Capital. Besides the above, I was charged twice in my credit card and I'm still waiting the refund for the extra charge. Avoid it!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank andres_s_1970
CapitalVilla, General Manager at The Capital Hydro, responded to this review

Dear Andres_s_1970 Thank you for the feedback you have given. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the confusion with regards to your booking as well as for the inconvenience caused with regards to the double charging of your credit card. I can assure you this is not the usual level of service we provide to our guests. Your refund has...

Reviewed 27 July 2016

I took a one bedroom apartment for 8 nights checking in after midnight. From the time I checked in at 1.30 am to my last day the service has been superb, the apartment has been excellent and the response time for any issue has been prompt. I also had a minor emergency to which the staff responded well. Only downside...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bashir A
CapitalVilla, General Manager at The Capital Hydro, responded to this review

Dear Bashir Thank you for choosing to book and stay at The Capital Villa. I am very pleased to hear that the apartment and the service you received was superb. I do apologise for the poor DSTV connection, I can assure you this has since been corrected. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Capital Villa in the...

Lekki, Nigeria
Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

I love the hotel! The staff were very friendly and helpful and the environment was quiet, just the way I like it. I got good value for my money and I'm very sure I'll be returning next year with my family.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank edirinedewor
CapitalVilla, General Manager at The Capital Hydro, responded to this review

Dear Edirinedewor Thank you for choosing to book and stay at The Capital Hydro. I am so pleased to hear that you loved the hotel and that the staff were friendly and helpful. Your feedback is greatly appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back next year. Kind Regards Lindsay Wright General Manager The Capital Hydro

Maputo
Reviewed 8 July 2016 via mobile

Dont stay at this appartment hotel. The stuff do what they want. I arrived at my appartment at 21:50 and was not able to get in. They have changed the lock in my appartment for no reason and I was not informed. We had to call another The Capital Hotel that have the front office working 24/7 to help us....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Hugo M

64 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (48)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandton
1.0 km away
Glenalmond Hotel Sandton
Glenalmond Hotel Sandton
#23 of 49 in Sandton
83 reviews
1.4 km away
The Capital Empire
The Capital Empire
#20 of 49 in Sandton
169 reviews
0.8 km away
Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
The Maslow
The Maslow
#7 of 49 in Sandton
776 reviews
0.2 km away
Westpoint Executive Suites
Westpoint Executive Suites
#28 of 70 in Johannesburg
131 reviews
0.7 km away
Courtyard Hotel Sandton
Courtyard Hotel Sandton
#21 of 49 in Sandton
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Stay where you're right on the money. Stay where you count. All 56 apartments are spacious and stylishly decorated with impressive attention to detail - and guests also enjoy the use of a pool and barbeque area and a gym. The Capital Hydro is hip, happening and hassle free. It's the perfect four-star rated choice - smart, fully furnished simplicity. For overnight or long-term stays; for single guests, families or groups, all our guests at The Capital Hydro enjoy complimentary parking, complimentary laundry, complimentary scheduled transfers to Sandton and complimentary Wi-Fi access throughout their stay. If you want to be in the hub of where it's happening, then staying at The Capital Hydro is spot on. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Capital Hydro

Address: 86 Grayston Drive | Unit 102 Hydro Park, Sandton 2196, South Africa (Formerly Hydro Executive Apartments)
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Price Range: RM465 - RM677 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Capital Hydro 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your The Capital Hydro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Capital Hydro Sandton, Greater Johannesburg, South Africa
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Sandton
#24 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Capital Hydro staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose Top levels away from the noise on the roads.and do your shopping at a supermarket before check in.”
 of 5 bubbles GrantH490, 21 Jan 2017 | Read review
“I think its not bad at all”
 of 5 bubbles helvale, 29 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Apartments facing Mandela Square”
 of 5 bubbles EZM2607, 27 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Higher floor, better view, but only from Sandton Mall side.”
 of 5 bubbles 369ankap, 23 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Choose the room on the right in apartment 708, it has a heated floor in the bathroom. ”
 of 5 bubbles Glisson_Niekerk, 31 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5