We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Westford Hotel, Sandton

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
The Westford Hotel, Sandton
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

82 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Westford Hotel, Sandton
See the most recent reviews
Showing 70: English reviews
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 12 July 2015

Booked this hotel because we attended a concert and needed one night's accommodation. Hotel was run-down and dilapidated. The room wasn't as clean as I would have liked and breakfast a disappointment. Location is convenient though and the rates were cheap.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lindsay_vanrensburg
A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2015 via mobile

The hotel was a little run down, but the rooms were very clean and the staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was very enjoyable. The hotel is very close to all the amenities and a stones throw from Sandton City. I will make use of this hotel again.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank A TripAdvisor Member
USA
Reviewed 25 March 2015

The Hotel is in a very convenient location. I found the staff to be very friendly and helpful, I needed an Iron and the maintenance an went out of his way to deliver one to my room. The reception staff were on point A little facelift wouldn't be a bad idea.. The rooms were well cleaned and comfortable. I enjoyed...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank ClaireUsa
Christopher N, Front Office Manager at The Westford Hotel, Sandton, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Westford Hotel & Suites, Sandton and providing us with such wonderful feedback. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your time with us and I would like to thank you once more for bringing to our attention the great service you received from the reception and the need for...

Reviewed 12 February 2015

I booked this hotel for two nights because of the location, esp it's close proximity to the Gautrain. However, the hotel is inaccessible by footpath because of roadworks spanning 100m in both directions. On the way there, I damaged my expensive luggage dragging it over rubble, and on my way out I risked life and limb walking to the side...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Carrie B
Christopher N, Manager at The Westford Hotel, Sandton, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Westford Hotel & Suites, Sandton and for sharing your valuable feedback with us.We take all guest feedback very seriously and always hope to meet our guests’ expectations. Thank you for bringing to our attention the problems you experienced during your stay with us. We understand and sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused...

Francistown, Botswana
Reviewed 2 January 2015

This is my home away from Home. When ever i am in Johannesburg i stay at The Westford Hotel. the staff there is so great, welcoming and warm.The buffet breakfast is just great, my family enjoyed it, offers cold and hotel foods. The reception helped us book a tour to Lions Park and my family had a great outing.place is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank xxx34
Christopher N, Manager at The Westford Hotel, Sandton, responded to this review

Thank you choosing to stay with us and providing us with your valuable feedback, it is much appreciated, we are delighted to read that your stay with us was an enjoyable one and that we were able to exceed your expectations, It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We look forward to hosting you...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 December 2014

You have been warned - stay at this hotel at your peril. A budget hotel that performs well below budget level. Poor standard of facilities throughout - rooms, hallways, reception, dining room. Little choice for breakfast. Want toast - use the domestic two slice toaster and be prepared to stand and hold down the lever. Had to ask for plates...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Arthur W
Christopher N, Manager at The Westford Hotel, Sandton, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Westford Hotel & Suites, Sandton and for sharing your valuable feedback with us. Please note that we take all guest feedback very seriously and always hope to meet and exceed our guests’ expectations. Whilst we have failed to exceed your expectations on this occasion, we hope for an opportunity to be of...

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 18 November 2014 via mobile

This is my 2nd visit to this establishment. It was like my worst nightmare. The doors dont close properly. Not 1 window could close. The curtain and I mean 1 curtain in the bedroom did not fit the window. The shower is so small in room 141 it seemed as if it was an after thought in the design. Now...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CindyLLancaster
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 15 November 2014

We loved our breakfast, buffet with freshly cooked eggs/omelettes right there. Our room was a bit tired and had a door to the adjoining room (locked of course) but still heard the two men beside us which we didn't like. We just watch TV and went to sleep, till breakfast time!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lissf1976
Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 25 September 2014

We checked in very late for a one night stay and was very annoyed to hear that they we had been given a twin room, after I had specifically booked an Executive Suite. However I had no energy to argue so late at night. The room was comfortable but looked tired. It was quite a warm night but we could...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank c88traveller
seychelles
Reviewed 2 September 2014

nice location 5minit walk to Nelson Mandela Square Mall, the room are very clean, the staff is very warming and nice. the hotel environment is very clean and the room are done to it's perfection. the room look old but has comfortable sitting area and bedding. Service standard is up to expectations. all together i really enjoy may stay the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank IslandMermaid2014

18 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.5 km away
Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road
0.2 km away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
0.6 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Courtyard Hotel Sandton
Courtyard Hotel Sandton
#21 of 49 in Sandton
83 reviews
0.8 km away
Glenalmond Hotel Sandton
Glenalmond Hotel Sandton
#23 of 49 in Sandton
82 reviews
0.7 km away
Raphael Penthouse Suites
Raphael Penthouse Suites
#34 of 49 in Sandton
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Westford Hotel now offers business and leisure travelers the convenience of staying in the heart of Sandton, Africa's economic, shopping and leisure centre at very reduced rates. We offer an alternative to business travellers who are looking for world class convenience, cleanliness, superior comfort and leisure. The hotel is centrally located close to all the main business and leisure centres within entertainment precincts of sprawling restaurants, cinemas, theatres as well as high end clubs and nightspots. The rooms are spacious with kitchenettes, bathrooms and comfortable TV Lounges. The cleanliness is of the highest quality. Security is 24 hours with more than enough secure, free parking on-site. The Westford Hotel is located 5 minutes walk from: The Sandton Convention Centre, The Sandton City Shopping Centre, The Gautrain Station (Rapid rail transport from the airport), Embassy of The United States, The Nelson Mandela Square with the Statue of the global icon, The Johannesburg Stock Exchange. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Westford Hotel, Sandton

Address: 84 Katherine Street, Sandton 2196, South Africa (Formerly Pembury Plaza)
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Price Range: RM465 - RM585 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Westford Hotel, Sandton 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Also Known As:
Pembury Plaza Sandton
Pembury Plaza Hotel Sandton
The Westford Hotel, Sandton Greater Johannesburg, South Africa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Westford Hotel, Sandton staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Not mandatory”
 of 5 bubbles mmak0enam, 30 Dec 2015 | Read review
“I stayed in room 212.. it was specious. Had a kitchenette..”
 of 5 bubbles ClaireUsa, 25 Mar 2015 | Read review
“if travelling with family request interleadings rooms, they can even put an extra bed at no cost if the child is under 12.”
 of 5 bubbles xxx34, 1 Jan 2015 | Read review
“The only chance of a good room is in another hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles 621arthurw, 1 Dec 2014 | Read review
“the suites are large and very comfortable for a family vacation”
 of 5 bubbles IslandMermaid2014, 1 Sep 2014 | Read review
5 of 5