We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Sandton Sun

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Sandton Sun
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

763 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 704: English reviews
Start your review of Sandton Sun
 Click to rate
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Probably one of the best hotel customer delight experiences I have ever had. From my first morning on arrival, your night time manager Africa, to other receptionist staff displayed desired attention and absolute professionalism and everything was 100% perfect. It was a pleasure staying at the Sun. Even when I got sick and had to return to your hotel prior...

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank P1066HNstuartb
PeterDavidson01, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this review

Dear Stuart Buchan, Thank you for choosing our hotel, and for taking the time to write a review! I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your accommodations, and that you found our staff to be professional and friendly. We hotel aim to provide a truly unique experience, and are thrilled that we were able to exceed your expectations. I...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

I live in Johannesburg but occasionally enjoy having a little "staycation " at one of our beautiful hotels in the city . This past weekend I decided to try the Sandton sun . I've stayed there in the past and loved it and thought now that it has been newly refurbished I would try it again . The hotel looks...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Riaan U
PeterDavidson01, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this review

Dear Riaan U, Thank you for your feedback and for choosing to stay with us at Sandton Sun. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our newly refurbished property, however I was most disappointed that you found the service not to the standards expected and please accept my personal apologies for this. Your comments are of vital importance to...

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a weekend away with hubby to celebrate our birthdays and anniversary. The weekend coincided with the jazz weekend. The hotel was full to capacity. Room itself beautiful and very modern. Bathroom not very spacious in the standard room, not expected for a 5 star establishment. Dinner was great, at least they prioritized the hotel guests, since it was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Zodumo N
PDavidsonSandton, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for your feedback and for advising us of your experience with us. Guest feedback is an essential part in ensuring that our clients are provided with the standards of quality and effective customer service that are synonymous with the heritage of the Sandton Sun. We appreciate your opinion and we look forward to welcoming you...

Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 1 week ago

The Hotel is beautiful and the rooms are elegant. However, the customer service is wanting. The waiters were arguing in front of me who should serve me-till the bartender abandoned his station to come get my order. They take too long to serve you. The wifi needs to be improved as well. I was working most of my nights and...

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank elizabethnS9032SK
PeterDavidson01, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback. Please accept my sincere apologies that you found the service and WiFi to be below expectations. This is not the standard we expect or strive for and it is disappointing that we have missed this opportunity during your stay. I have personally communicated your concerns with...

Arusha, Tanzania
Reviewed 1 week ago

It is a good city hotel with good service Great bed.. Good for shopping and eating out . Also had great room service Only complaint I had was the even with calling maintenance I could not regulate the temperature in my room it was to warm for me.....

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alex M
PeterDavidson01, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this review

Dear Alex M, Thank you for your feedback. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed our city as well as your accommodation. Please accept my deepest apologies for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay due to the maintenance issue in your room. I have communicated your concern to the relevant line manager to ensure that corrective measures are...

Reviewed 1 week ago

Room was large, clean and well kept. Recommended. The breakfast was very good and the hotel atmosphere very good. The staff were friendly and obliging. Being connected to the shopping centre meant not having to go out of the hotel. Unfortunately safety is an issue in S.A. and this is a major benefit.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank almal00
PeterDavidson01, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your review and kind comments. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our convenient location. Your thoughts are of vital importance to us as we use these to evaluate and improve on services we offer as well as incorporating the needs of our guests in changes we make in the...

Santiago, Chile
Reviewed 1 week ago

We were in holidyas with my husband. We chose the Sandton Sun because of its location. We got much more than the great location. Everyt single person working at the hotel made our stay enjoyable. The breakfast was great, excellent quality and a huge varierity of choices.

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rommy V
PeterDavidson01, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this review

Dear Rommy V, I appreciate your positive feedback about our hotel. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your accommodations, as well as our convenient location.We are on the constant look out for ways in which we can enhance your time with us. If you found anything that would have made your time with us more comfortable, or...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

What a super hotel. Very friendly staff that had time to talk freely to guests. We were met and given our room before 2pm. The room had everything , coffee machine, lots of English channels on the plasma TVs. Very comfortable bed and large bathroom. We had a lovely breakfast on the open terrace . The designer shops are joined...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anna W
PeterDavidson01, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this review

Dear Anna W, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us and for giving us a perfect rating. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our hotel aims to provide a truly unique experience, and we are thrilled that we were able to exceed your expectations. I look forward to welcoming...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My partner and I are just stopping over in jhb for two days and decided to stay at Sandton Sun due to the close vacinity to amenities and the relative safety in the area. Could not be happier with our choice. It's so convenient being attached to the shopping centre and the hotel is very grand but at the same...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kellybenj
PeterDavidson01, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this review

Dear kellybenj, Thank you for your great five star review and for choosing Sandton Sun. I am delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful experience with us. We take pride in catering to our guests' needs the best way we can. I hope to welcome you back soon. Kind Regards Peter Davidson

Schilde, Belgium
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Just arrived in Johannesburg and went out for a quick lunch. Reasonable food for a reasonable price. Service is what I would remember. Personal and fast. Prices are reasonable. Good atmosphere. Would surely come back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marc v
PeterDavidson01, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this review

Dear Marc V, Thank you for choosing Sandton Sun and for your feedback. I am glad to hear that you had a positive experience with us. Your thoughts are of vital importance to us as we use these to evaluate and improve on services we offer as well as incorporating the needs of our guests in changes we make in...

260 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (238)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (36)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (58)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (87)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.3 km away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#3 of 49 in Sandton
869 reviews
0.1 km away
InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers
0.3 km away
Garden Court Sandton City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
DaVinci Hotel and Suites
0.7 km away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
1.0 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the heart of Johannesburg's business district and connected to the most luxurious shopping centre in the city, the hotel offers 5-star accommodation and a range of business and leisure facilities to all travellers, including state-of-the-art boardrooms, conference and banquet facilities. The menus at the award-winning restaurants are seasonal and sustainable while the outdoor deck offers breath-taking views of the city. Everything from a sundowner deck to a luxurious spa can be found under one roof, highlighting accessibility and connectivity ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sandton Sun

Address: Cnr Fifth & Alice Lane, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Price Range: RM880 - RM1,377 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandton Sun 5*
Number of rooms: 326
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Sandton Sun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandton Sun Hotel Sandton
Sun Hotel Sandton
Sandton Sun Greater Johannesburg, South Africa
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Sandton
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
#9 Business Hotel in Sandton
#10 Romantic Hotel in Sandton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sandton Sun staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question
Gateshead, United Kingdom
9 months ago
Metro Manila, Philippines
1 month ago
Kuwait City, Kuwait
4 months ago

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Sandton Sun staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“we have nice room but it is small ,it has small bath room actually ,but room size ok”
 of 5 bubbles 737heshamh, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Family suites are good size”
 of 5 bubbles Brett0730, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
“As high up as possible so quieter”
 of 5 bubbles tali71, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on the higher floors have a great view”
 of 5 bubbles dki2015, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“all rooms are great”
 of 5 bubbles lecalabash, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5