We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

219 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal
See the most recent reviews
Showing 213: English reviews
Reviewed 21 March 2016 via mobile

You will see alot of families staying. Has a play area both inside and outside, and a kiddy pool. The facility not new, though comfortable bed and has what you need. To be honest, staffs are relaxed as well. Need to be patient.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank T012933
BON-RivieraOnVaal, General Manager at BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal, responded to this review

Dear T012933 Thank you for the feedback. I am glad that you found the stay relaxing and that we could cater to the whole family. Happy kids make happy parents and guests. Your feedback on the staff has been noted and we will be addressing this to make your next stay even better. Craig Swart General Manager

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 9 March 2016

We visited Bon Hotel Riviera on Vaal recently with the Family and had a really good time. We had a family room. The kids slept on a couch-bed which was a little worn out and needed replacing. The bathroom door couldn't close properly and the main bedroom door's handle was broken. Apart from the rooms needing a refurb or maybe...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gizz2016
BON-RivieraOnVaal, General Manager at BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal, responded to this review

Good Day Gizz2016 Thank you for the feedback. I am glad that we managed to provide you with a "fun family getaway". We know all to well that Happy kids mean happy parents. I will definitely be stepping up the maintenance and addressing your concerns and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Craig Swart General Manager

Reviewed 7 March 2016

We arrived late Friday night, tired after the long drive from Durban and as we arrived we helped with our bags and shown to our room which was very neat and spacious, the staff is very friendly and always willing to assist, I also enjoyed the fun water activities and the food is delicious. i will definitely will be going...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Zibuyile B
BON-RivieraOnVaal, General Manager at BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal, responded to this review

Good Day Zibuyile B I am pleased that we managed to what we started out to do. And that is to make you our guests happy. We place a big emphasis on our staff and I am glad that you found them helpful and smiling as without them we would have no business. We cant wait to welcome you back...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 6 March 2016

Room was very neat and the extra bits of welcome gifts for the kids were great. Rooms are also spacious and have a wonderful view over the Vaal River. Swimming pool is very well maintained and the water was absolutely perfect temperature. The water activities provided by Darryl, launching from the hotel's docks are loads of fun and Darryl is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Phil98765
BON-RivieraOnVaal, General Manager at BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal, responded to this review

Good Day Phil98765 Thank you for your feedback. we are glad that you found the facilities and hotel to the enjoyment of your family, and that the kids could enjoy themselves giving you a deserved break. We have taken note of the cleaning of the mugs and I have had a chat with the child-minder. I do hope to see...

Bloemfontein, South Africa
Reviewed 1 March 2016 via mobile

This was an amazing place. We had a short but good stay. Very tranquil. The only reason I am giving it 4 stars is because the boat restaurant was in for maintenance during our stay and I was looking forward to it. I would definitely stay here or at another BON hotel again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Faheeza R
BON-RivieraOnVaal, General Manager at BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal, responded to this review

Good Day Faheeza Thank you for your feedback. I am glad that you found the hotel to be an "amazing place" and that you found it "beautifull". I do hope that your next stay will be a bit longer. I am sure that by your next stay we will have an alternative boat to offer and the experience will be...

Reviewed 28 February 2016 via mobile

What on earth has happened to the dining experience on the terrace at this hotel. This hotel is in such a beautiful location & their terrace has breathtaking views & immaculate gardens. The staff are friendly & try to be helpful. But that's where it ends. The beautiful old wrought iron tables are filthy ... really filthy ... months of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linda T
BON-RivieraOnVaal, General Manager at BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal, responded to this review

Good Day Linda T I am shocked and Dismayed to hear of your terrible experience. I would definitely like to discuss it further and invite you to send me your details on rov.gm@bonhotels.com. Without your feedback, I will not be able to rectify accordingly. I look forward to your response. Craig Swart General Manager

Germiston, South Africa
Reviewed 26 February 2016

My hubby and I had a break away from our 5 teenagers and we had an absolute relaxing time from sundowners to watching world cup rugby to boat trips. The staff were also amazing! We look forward to seeing you again, SOON!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TrishaMoo1712
BON-RivieraOnVaal, General Manager at BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal, responded to this review

Dear TrishaMoo1712 I am glad that we were able to give you a relaxing breakaway from your 5 teenagers. We definitely look forward to welcoming you back soon. And maybe with the teenagers in tow. Craig Swart General Manager

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 14 February 2016

The Riviera is very well located, 1 hour from Jhb and an a spectacular bend in the Vaal River. They offer a wide range of water sports - we did a lazy cruise on the river which was very relaxing. Really great views down the Vaal and a peaceful setting. They have a good range of food on offer and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kevin S
BON-RivieraOnVaal, General Manager at BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal, responded to this review

Dear Kevin S Thank you for providing us with Feedback on your stay. I am glad that you found our hotel location amazing and will ensure that we spice up the food for you next time to match your taste for chili. The comments on the age of the bathrooms has been noted and we will be working on these...

Reviewed 7 February 2016

This hotel has recently been refurbished and has almost everything going for it. Splendid River view, good rooms, good dining and lovely outside bar alongside the river. The big downside to this hotel is the old central air conditioning that ranges from mild heat to severe heat even when set on cold condition. I switched it off and try to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John L
BON-RivieraOnVaal, General Manager at BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal, responded to this review

Good Day John L Whilst we are happy that you found the rooms, dining and view good. We do apologise that the air-conditioning let us down and has now cost us business that you would have brought to the hotel. Whilst we were able to remedy the situation by moving you to another room, this is disruptive of your stay...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 19 January 2016

All was in great order, neat, clean, stunning views. It was a birthday get away and cake was already waiting in the room. Friendly staff and very peaceful and relaxing. Complimentary milkshakes and biscuits waiting on the kids beds. Lovely home away from home.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank prani2016
BON-RivieraOnVaal, General Manager at BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal, responded to this review

Dear Prani2016 We are glad that you found the hotel to be a home away from home and that the Birthday celebration was a memorable one. We look forward to welcoming you back "Home" for many more. Craig Swart General Manager

108 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (86)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (26)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vereeniging
11.2 km away
Emerald Resort & Casino
Emerald Resort & Casino
#1 of 6 in Vanderbijlpark
865 reviews
11.9 km away
The Shakespeare Inn
The Shakespeare Inn
#4 of 6 in Vanderbijlpark
4 reviews
22.9 km away
The Waterfront Country Lodge
The Waterfront Country Lodge
#3 of 6 in Vanderbijlpark
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
Three Rivers Lodge & Villa Anna Sophia
37.3 km away
Vaalnest Boutique Hotel
Vaalnest Boutique Hotel
#1 of 15 in Vereeniging
98 reviews
13.4 km away
Ikhamanzi Bed & Breakfast
Ikhamanzi Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 7 in Vereeniging
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Golf Course
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Airport Transportation
  • Free Breakfast
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A 45-minute drive from Johannesburg, our luxurious hotel caters to the corporate and conference markets, as well as families and leisure travellers who are looking for a resort that has it all. BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal is one of few child-friendly Vaal River resorts that have struck a perfect balance in offering family enjoyment whilst also fulfilling the business travel market needs. Steeped in history this 91-room hotel, a converted farmhouse from the 1800s, is situated on a bend of the scenic Vaal River. Ideal for company conferences and events, the hotel offers 4 multi-purpose venues and a range of exciting team building activities, with flexibility to suit your needs. BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal has a reputation as one of the best wedding venues in Gauteng; choose from a variety of wedding packages to ensure a memorable day. If you are looking for a relaxing breakaway, why not pamper yourself at the Zorgvliet Spa or play a round of golf at the Country Club. Should that sound too energetic, pop down to the water's edge and float along the Vaal River on one of our boat cruises. BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal also offers a variety of water sports, a gym, picnics spots and kids' entertainment programs. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal

Address: 10 Mario Milani Road | Three Rivers, Vereeniging 1939, South Africa (Formerly Riviera on Vaal Hotel & Country Club)
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Vereeniging
Price Range: RM308 - RM665 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera On Vaal Hotel And Country Club
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The view and outside is beautiful”
 of 5 bubbles alegna63, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Needs an upgrade too outdated. The sleeper couch was falling over.”
 of 5 bubbles Y9509BGbrendas, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“beware this is not a true 3star,”
 of 5 bubbles pranels, 15 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Family rooms have a sleeper couch for the kids. Keep this in mind if you have bigger kids.”
 of 5 bubbles BooTaz, 14 Jul 2016 | Read review
“The beds were hard and the sheets to heavily tucked in, it was hard work pulling them up.”
 of 5 bubbles kgaogelom873, 8 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay