We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Benjamin

View Deal
#6 of 42 Hotels in Durban
Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
The Benjamin
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

216 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Benjamin
See the most recent reviews
Showing 192: English reviews
Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 1 December 2016 via mobile

NO HOT WATER!!! This us not a very good impression on my first stay... shower poor, part of the bath, noises in passage & street cannot sleep, only few channels on tv, really poor, air con looks like not working and bad coffee in room, no dinner or even coffee on offer, this cannot be called hotel, hope not stays...

Thank Gerrie N
Nicole M, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this review

I am so sorry that you experienced such a poor stay on your first time with us. We unfortunately are having water shedding in our area during the night. This therefore effects the water temperature in the early mornings. We do not have a restaurant that serves dinner but have a road full of restaurants for you to choose from....

Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 November 2016

This was booked as part of a package, it was a one night stopover before flying on to Port Elizabeth. If doing the trip again, I would have flown straight to PE and missed Durban and The Benjamin out. We had a tiny room, with views of a roof. I ran the shower for five minutes but it was still...

Thank Missturkey
Nicole M, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments . We are sorry about the water issue, we have had severe water restrictions in our area which has effected our water pressure into the hotel. We have however now put an extra water pressure valve on our boiler and the hot water is now coming in much quicker , so no need to wait...

Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 October 2016

The hotel is stylish with friendly staff. Its key asset is its location on a road with the choice of several styles of good quality restaurants and bars to walk to & from in the evening. Outside area is limited, but not enough to put me off staying here again or in recommending it to others.

Thank Mr_H_thoughts
Nicole M, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review and positive comments on the hotel and area.

Worksop, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 October 2016

We only spend one night before flying to PE .The hotel has a very homely feel to it .On arriving we checked into our rooms and where told there was a free bar so we sat by a small pool having a welcome glass of wine The breakfast was very good freshly made.

Thank Christopher113
Nicole M, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking time to do the review, sorry your stay was so short but am delighted you enjoyed it.

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 6 October 2016

I had a company training session at the Benjamin on the 3rd and 4th of October. I arrived to a room that was beautifully made up with water and stationary for my employees. The second day my secretary had double booked the 1st session, so 40 people arrived instead of 20. Without hesitation the conference organizer and her staff jumped...

Thank Diandewet
Nicole M, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. We are really appreciative and glad that you enjoyed our conference venue and hospitality. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Reviewed 9 September 2016 via mobile

It is very pleasant hotel with feels home like . Well located in an elegant area with lots of coffee and restaurant . I will stay again in this hotel . Thanks to the lovely receptionist that she was very kind

Thank Abu A
Nicole M, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. Glad you felt at home in our hotel.

s wales uk
Reviewed 27 August 2016

This boutique hotel is set in a tree-shaded colonial-era Victorian villa. Due to touring we only had one night at this hotel. It was beautiful food lovely at the hotel for breakfast. Staying on Florida road its busy with restaurants you wont struggle to find a place to eat.

Thank ridwen
Nicole M, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I am so happy that you enjoyed it. Sorry it was so short.

Reviewed 24 August 2016

I often stay here on business trips and find the hotel to be constantly reliable and comfortable. Only night I would not really like to be here is on a Saturday night at the end of the month with a couple of Florida Road clubs nearby, the noise can be disturbing. Otherwise the place is really pleasant with attentive staff,...

Thank Garth J
Nicole M, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review, we are delighted that you love coming to our hotel. We love having happy guests.

Brentwood, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 August 2016 via mobile

Nice big room. One window overlooks the front road the other overlooks the pool area. The night club opposite the hotel played music until 1.30am although the double-glazing helped block out some of the sound. Second night night club kicked off at 5.19am and continued until breakfast!

Thank ps_pause
Mechelen, Belgium
Reviewed 20 August 2016

We stayed 3 nights in this hotel (you ve seen the city in 2 days, so we where there a day to long) The staff in the hotel is very friendly and helpfull. Breakfast is good. typical buffet and you can order warm breakfast aswell. The room is nice and clean (see photos).

Thank Nerinckx
Nicole M, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay. Regards

89 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (89)
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Bathroom (3)
Room/Suite (15)
View from Room (3)
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Dining (1)
Videos (1)
Other (50)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
2.4 km away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 42 in Durban
1,345 reviews
0.6 km away
The Concierge Boutique Bungalows
2.2 km away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
1.0 km away
African Pride Audacia Manor Boutique Hotel
1.0 km away
The St. James on Venice
The St. James on Venice
#11 of 42 in Durban
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
"Home away from Home"A warm welcome awaits you at The Benjamin located a 5-minute drive from Durban Beaches and in the heart of the vibrant entertainment strip in Florida Road. The hotel features gardens with an outdoor pool and a shaded terrace. Free parking is available on site.The Benjamin and offers free WI-FI.41 rooms where no two rooms are the same open onto balconies and gardens . The cosy rooms offer airconditioning, tea,coffee making facilities,hairdryers,Satellite TV and work desks in all rooms. Overlooking the garden and pool, Benjamin’s breakfast is served in our open glassed conservatory style restaurant and offers a fresh continental breakfast buffet and plated hot breakfasts. Walk out of the Hotel into the restaurant road of Durban and enjoy your dinners and lunches in some of Durbans famous restaurants.The Moses Mabida Stadium, The Rugby Stadium, Suncoast Casino and Durban ICC are within 5km by car from The Benjamin. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Benjamin

Address: 141 Florida Road | Morningside, Durban 4001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Price Range: RM414 - RM549 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Benjamin 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Benjamin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Benjamin Hotel Durban
Benjamin Hotel Durban
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Durban
#6 Business Hotel in Durban
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Benjamin staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Overlooking the pool is better.”
ukcoupleBucks, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms 17, 19, 21, 23 face garden; 18, 20, 22 24 face road.”
BJAJDA, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“At the back”
jacknickolas, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ground floor rooms overlooking the pool must be better than our room, and they had hot showers!”
Missturkey, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Not sure if there is lift service available to all levels. Check with hotel if this could be an issue.”
Mr_H_thoughts, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
US$103* /night
View Deal
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates