We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tekweni Backpackers Hostel

Save
Traveller (30)
Pool & Beach (5)
Room & Suite (3)
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent34%
  • Very good29%
  • Average14%
  • Poor14%
  • Terrible9%
Travellers talk about
AMENITIES
Free Internet
Free Parking
Pool
Bar/Lounge
Kitchenette
Breakfast included
Restaurant
All hotel details
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (152)
Filter reviews
132 results
Traveller rating
45
37
19
21
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
45
37
19
21
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsflorida roadbraai nightsbars and restaurantscommunal areasawesome placestayed one nightnight lifewithin walking distancesecure parkingenjoyed my stayhome away from homemattressesradshannonkeysdurbssafety
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 132 reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2018

I didn't get to stay here Long enough to really explore much, but the staff who showed me around was really sweet and its close to the main road with lots of cool bars and restaurants so so if you came unprepared like me (...More

Thank samjeebarnstaple
Reviewed 27 February 2018

I know Tekweni has been around for a while, but there are some wrong things in the place that must be repaired. For example, on the day I was supposed to be leaving a cleaner came to my room to wake me up at 8am...More

2  Thank vantrips2018
Response from Patrick M, Owner at Tekweni Backpackers HostelResponded 19 March 2018

You have now put the same review on more than one reviewing platform. I am going to respond the same as I did on the others. Most of what you have outlined could have been dealt with by speaking to us face to face. We...More

Reviewed 12 February 2018 via mobile

You always say when leaving a joint I will be back but don't really think it will materialize so when I knew I would be back in Durban there was only one place I was going to stay and boy did it not disappoint. To...More

Thank Tiocfaidh
Reviewed 4 February 2018 via mobile

This backpackers is my second home. I stayed there years back when I moved down to Durbs for work. The place became my home after I moved into my own place. I have basically met all my Durbanite friends from there. The vibe is great...More

Thank Marius P
Response from Patrick M, Owner at Tekweni Backpackers HostelResponded 6 February 2018

Yup we know you and you are also one of our favorite customers. Thanks for the awesome review. Really look forward to seeing you again.

Reviewed 27 January 2018

One can definitely tell that Tekweni Backpackers used to be a place with lots of buzz & good vibe. The location is great, just around the corner of Florida Road and several restaurants and bars. However, there is much to be desired when it comes...More

1  Thank Mettigel
Response from Patrick M, Owner at Tekweni Backpackers HostelResponded 3 February 2018

Thanks for your review. A bit harsh but some genuine concerns. I know which booking you were and I have been expecting your review. You did indeed get a bad run at our place and I spoke to you trying to make the situation right....More

View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Durban, South Africa
See allSee all
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Pool
Free Parking
Free Internet
Bar/Lounge
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Things to do
Pool
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$29 - US$46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Kitchenette
Details
Price range
US$29 - US$46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Kitchenette
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (30)
Pool & Beach (5)
Room & Suite (3)
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Tekweni Backpackers Hostel staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Room Tips
"room 8, very quite corner and good for sleeping"
Read review
"Room Number 15 is extremely small"
Read review
"Ask for beds in the room on the ground floor to the right as you enter for slightly better beds."
Read review
"For a bit more privacy, ask for the flats next to the main building. More like a proper rented apartment..."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing