We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers: Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Very cool place, great atmosphere and great people. The staff are friendly and very helpful and are willing to go the extra mile. If you are in or around Durban give it a try for a great experience. Lekker
Response from Patrick M, Owner at Tekweni Backpackers HostelResponded 31 January 2017
Thanks sooo much for the amazing review. I can see you are coming back. Fantastic!
This hostel is definitely an okay place to stay if you are looking for cheap or close to Florida Road. The actual hostel is not the best though unless you are looking for a party feel and not the cleanest accommodations. A couple people I...More
Response from Patrick M, Owner at Tekweni Backpackers HostelResponded 21 January 2017
Thanks for your review. Yes we have a fantastic location and we are very clear that we have a party feel. That is why most people stay with us. I will be honest we had an issue with our cleanliness in certain sections a few...More
We found the member of staff who checked us in to be very helpful and friendly. We asked about an indian restaurant and he gave us directions.
The premises were as expected for a backpacker hostel.
The duvet smelled like it had not been washed,...More
Response from Patrick M, Owner at Tekweni Backpackers HostelResponded 17 January 2017
That is horribly unfortunate. Most of the comments about Tekweni itself were very positive. Then our rating gets spoiled by obnoxious guests. I see you were with us over the holiday period and to be totally honest we went well out of our way to...More
The hostel is known as a party place, so you can forgive its shabbiness.
However the place was filthy, bedding appeared old, dirty and covered in stains and holes, floors were covered in rubbish too.
We spoke to the staff who were happy to move...More
Thank Adi R
Response from Patrick M, Owner at Tekweni Backpackers HostelResponded 23 December 2016
Not a good review. Sorry you feel this way. We will have a closer look at things you pointed out but I really don't think filthy is an accurate description. You are entitled to your opinion on that however and unfortunately for us you are...More
Personally i can only say s.t. bout the dorm: It is very basic (no lockers, chairs, tables ecc.) but it is clean and the price is budget. They have a safe at the reception. Carmen and her whole crew were absolutely amazing; trustful, welcoming, hearty,...More
1 Thank Ronald T
Response from Patrick M, Owner at Tekweni Backpackers HostelResponded 13 December 2016
Carmen actually showed me this review basically the day you did it. She was stoked. You definitely get us. The compliments on our staff always the best. Our pride and joy. Thanks for reviewing us. We hope to see you back very soon.
US$14 - US$40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Tekweni Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.