We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Tekweni Backpackers Hostel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Tekweni Backpackers Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

129 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Tekweni Backpackers Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 111: English reviews
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 18 February 2016

I enjoyed my stay at Tekweni :) It's certainly a party-type-of-hostel,so please be prepared for lots of music and noise throughout the day and night. But with this, the staff is incredibly friendly and wants to make sure you as a guest have a good time. The provided City and Zulu tours were great as well! You are 20 seconds...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank kaylacody0
Patrick M, Owner at Tekweni Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Yes yes yes. Nice review! All the stuff we love to hear. Hope to see you back.

Reviewed 26 January 2016 via mobile

We chose a quite month to travel so things we not too crazy but we timed it perfectly by arriving on a braai night. Everyone brought some meat and chucked it on the bbq. Perfect way for people to mingle. Close walk to Flordia street with all the pubs. About a 20 minute walk from the beach. Staff was friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Boz-t16
Patrick M, Owner at Tekweni Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Sooo cool! We do the free braai at least twice a week and we do our best to make it nice. A perfect setting for guests to get to know each other and us of course. Fantastic when it is really appreciated. Thanks for the great review. Hopefully we will see you back.

Oslo, Norway
Reviewed 17 January 2016

I absolutely loved the place. It is definitely a party place and you should know that coming in. They seem to party most nights of the week so if your looking for a good time - this is the place to go. Me and my friend checked in with the intention of staying just one night but we ended up...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PallePall1
Patrick M, Owner at Tekweni Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for the star studded review! You definitely get us. Love the compliments on our staff particularly. We pride ourselves in that department. I will pass them on. Hope to see you back soon.

Albany, New York
Reviewed 8 January 2016

I was passing through and wanted to stay for two nights but had such a great time I ended up staying for an extra day. The beds were comfy and the bathrooms were clean and the bar was open! The staff are great and Ben did a lot helped me sort out some sightseeing arrangements. Wati and Martin were a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ghost5586
Patrick M, Owner at Tekweni Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for your very cool review. I will pass on the staff compliments in particular. We really appreciate the kind words. Hopefully you make it back at some point.

United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 December 2015 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights, hostel was ok, had a good atmosphere. Definitely a party hostel and can be loud, can even hear the bars from across the road. Our room was ok, the fan needs fixing, it works but was squeaky and quite annoying when trying to sleep. The bar area seemed like a local hangout at times....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 24jb9
Patrick M, Owner at Tekweni Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

This is actually a pretty good review ruined by one staff member. Very sad. Particularly because we pride ourselves in our staff. To us it is the most important part of our business. We have taken your review very seriously and are dealing with it. There is is no excuses. Very very sorry about that.

Warsaw, Poland
Reviewed 27 November 2015

Reception guy gave us inadequate information about prices on arrival which according to him, was due to "language barriers". The crappiest explanation ever, since the correct price wasn't even mentioned during our first talk. No hot water in most of the basins. The pool so dirty I wouldn't let my dog swim in it. Very small private double room. Good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lukasz I
Patrick M, Owner at Tekweni Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Ouch. With all due respect this is a very aggressive review. You wouldn't let your dog swim in our pool? there are plenty of bikini clad peeps enjoying our pool as we speak some with ice cold drinks soaking in the sun and enjoying the endless stream of cool music in the background. Its possible the pool needed a bit...

Reviewed 23 November 2015 via mobile

If you are looking for a good night and a great atmosphere then this is the place for you! The facilities and the rooms were clean and the staff were wonderful! If you are looking for a quiet time with lots of sleep then maybe look else where but that aside this place is rad!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lauren P
Patrick M, Owner at Tekweni Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Yes, yes yes!!! You soooo get us. You have return customer written all over you. Thanks so much and we really do hope to see you back.

Reviewed 13 November 2015 via mobile

Well,is a party hostel. With everything you expect from a place like this. Its Well located,you have loud music and nice people drinking everynight. In otherside you will not sleep a lot - even if staying in a faraway room,cause you will have drunk people coming inside or talking loud on the corridor - the staff seems to be there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rodrigo R
Patrick M, Owner at Tekweni Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for reviewing us. i think. You did get the first part of your review right. Yes we are festive and it does appear we were particularly festive while you were there. Im quite suprised about your comments about our staff however. Yes they are layed back because that is the Teks vibe but they are hard working, helpful and...

Birmingham, Alabama
Reviewed 3 October 2015

Had a lot of fun at Tekweni! If you are looking for quiet and rest, it's probably not the best place, but if you are looking to meet people and have fun, it's perfect! Right off Florida Road, and I also walked to the beach one day and took a mini bus back with no problem. If you are a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Hannah T
Patrick M, Owner at Tekweni Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. We love you. We love you alot! Please come back again!

Reviewed 9 September 2015 via mobile

Tekweni really goes off, there is music and party almost every night. The dorms are nice and clean, Florida Rd is very close, you can walk there easily and at night as well. There are nice bars and restaurants. Tekweni staff is very friendly and helpful. Ask for Jonny to experience a unforgettable day at Durban's markets. Unfortunately there are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emilia S
Patrick M, Owner at Tekweni Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Great review. Thank you. Its soo nice to be loved. We normally refer the ladies to the upstairs shower as there is alot more privacy. A tip for next time and we really hope there will be a next time.

41 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durban
3.1 km away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#33 of 41 in Durban
73 reviews
14.7 km away
Splendid Inn Pinetown
Splendid Inn Pinetown
#1 of 1 in Pinetown
231 reviews
2.4 km away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 41 in Durban
1,320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Gibela Backpackers Lodge
3.0 km away
Curiocity Durban
Curiocity Durban
#4 of 82 in Durban
42 reviews
2.6 km away
Mesami Hotel
Mesami Hotel
#68 of 254 in Durban
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Tekweni is located in the centre of Durban's hippest entertainment area : pubs, clubs, restaurants and markets are on the doorstep. It is comprised of 3 neighbouring houses, the oldest and main house built in 1896. The hostel was established in 1992 making, it one of the first five hostels in the country and the longest established in Durban. We are close to everything, only two km to the beach and town. The various types of accommodation ramble across the 3 properties. You have the choice of staying right in the middle of the action or in one of our quieter more remote rooms away from the hustle and bustle. The rooms are comfortable and tastefully decorated all with ceiling fans. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Tekweni Backpackers Hostel

Address: 169 Ninth Avenue, Durban 4001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Price Range: RM62 - RM124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Tekweni Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Tekweni Backpackers Hostel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Tekweni Backpackers Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room Number 15 is extremely small”
 of 5 bubbles natascha755, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for beds in the room on the ground floor to the right as you enter for slightly better beds.”
 of 5 bubbles anonn256, 21 Aug 2016 | Read review
“For a bit more privacy, ask for the flats next to the main building. More like a proper rented apartment rather than your typical hostel.”
 of 5 bubbles , 19 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Quieter rooms are to the front of the house”
 of 5 bubbles GavinGrierson, 15 May 2015 | Read review
“The dorms are comfortable and clean but I wouldn't recommend room 4 as it's right by the front door.”
 of 5 bubbles RosieM942, 3 Mar 2015 | Read review
5 of 5