We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
02/07/2017 03/07/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Nomads Backpackers

    70 Essenwood Road | Kzn, Durban 4400, South Africa
    Save
    Best prices for your stay
    02/07/2017 03/07/2017
    1 room
    • 1 room
      2 adults
      • 2 adults
        0 children
        • 0 children
          Gibela Backpackers Lodge
          158 reviews
          #6 of 77 Speciality lodging in Durban
           
          Roseland House
          91 reviews
          #12 of 255 B&Bs / Inns in Durban
           
          Curiocity Durban
          66 reviews
          #3 of 77 Speciality lodging in Durban
           
          Buckleigh Guest House
          13 reviews
          #70 of 255 B&Bs / Inns in Durban
           
          Overview
          • Excellent33%
          • Very good21%
          • Average20%
          • Poor20%
          • Terrible6%
          Travellers talk about
          “baz bus” (4 reviews)
          “one night” (7 reviews)
          Free Internet
          Free Parking
          Breakfast included
          Pool
          Non-Smoking Rooms
          Restaurant
          Suites
          Bar/Lounge
          Laundry Service
          Shuttle Bus Service
          All hotel details
          Gibela Backpackers Lodge
          158 reviews
          #6 of 77 Speciality lodging in Durban
           
          Roseland House
          91 reviews
          #12 of 255 B&Bs / Inns in Durban
           
          Curiocity Durban
          66 reviews
          #3 of 77 Speciality lodging in Durban
           
          Buckleigh Guest House
          13 reviews
          #70 of 255 B&Bs / Inns in Durban
           
          {"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
          Write a Review
          Reviews (60)
          Traveller rating
          Traveller type
          Time of year
          Language

          1 - 5 of 60 reviews

          Reviewed 1 week ago

          If it was not for Nomads staff we would be talking other thing, they were so helpful,friendly,loving and so sweet, so entertaining. The blankest were stinking and old fashioned also the mattresses were so stiff.

          Review collected in partnership with this hotel
          Thank dikhatrading
          Reviewed 16 May 2017

          Location is great. The place need to be cleaned up. linen either need replacement or cleaned. rooms are dark. Probably should be painted to brighten the place. you seem to have workers not sure what they do. Random people hang out at the bar. Improve...More

          Thank SFD2014
          Reviewed 15 May 2017

          I stayed here for almost 3 months and I miss it really badly. The backpackers itself is clean and nice. There´s a beautiful pool area and breakfast is included. But a lot of Backpackers can offer this. The great and unique thing about Nomads is...More

          Thank luca_woeger
          Reviewed 2 May 2017 via mobile

          I stayed there for 3 nights while on a quick visit through Durban. It's located in a safe neighbourhood with a large supermarket within 5 minutes walk located within a small shopping centre. When I arrived I was immediately welcomed into a very friendly and...More

          Thank bhw_ie
          Response from NomadsBp, Manager at Nomads BackpackersResponded 5 May 2017

          Im glad to see you had a great time visiting us, yes Johnny is very proud of our city and really enjoys showing Durban off to as many Guests as he can all with that personal touch, hopefully your return is sooner than later, have...More

          Reviewed 15 April 2017 via mobile

          Very noisy- lots of permanent people staying there not so many travelers to mingle with. Strange people lurking around....Music was up loud till early hours of the morning every night. Uncomfortable bed and no air conditioning. Staff were friendly though often intoxicated...terrible parking and poor...More

          Thank 442hamishp
          Response from NomadsBp, Manager at Nomads BackpackersResponded 5 May 2017

          I'm Sorry to hear you weren't comfortable, the thing is during the quiet season we do get requests for contractors who have landed jobs to do in Durban and surrounds and usual they help fill most of our Dorm room Accommodation or a few days...More

          Gibela Backpackers Lodge
          158 reviews
          #6 of 77 Speciality lodging in Durban
           
          Roseland House
          91 reviews
          #12 of 255 B&Bs / Inns in Durban
           
          Curiocity Durban
          66 reviews
          #3 of 77 Speciality lodging in Durban
           
          Buckleigh Guest House
          13 reviews
          #70 of 255 B&Bs / Inns in Durban
           
          About
          Amenities
          • Top amenities
          • Pool
          • Free Parking
          • Bar/Lounge
          • Free Internet
          • Restaurant
          • Breakfast included
          • Hotel Amenities
          • Free Parking
          • Shuttle Bus Service
          • Breakfast included
          • Laundry Service
          • Breakfast Available
          • Things to do
          • Pool
          • Bar/Lounge
          • Restaurant
          Details
          • Room types
          • Suites ,
          • Non-Smoking Rooms
          • Number of rooms
          • 9
          • Location
          • South Africa >
          • KwaZulu-Natal >
          • Durban
          Nearby
          Coastlands Musgrave Hotel
          222 reviews
          1.06 km away
           
          Road Lodge Durban
          39 reviews
          2.34 km away
           
          The Concierge Boutique Bungalows
          231 reviews
          2.42 km away
           
          Emakhosini Hotel On East
          6 reviews
          2.13 km away
           
          The Benjamin
          225 reviews
          2.58 km away
           
          Nearby Restaurants
          La Bella
          55 reviews
          .64 km away
          The Little India Restaurant On Musgrave
          312 reviews
          .34 km away
          Unity
          103 reviews
          .27 km away
          Amaravathi Palki
          98 reviews
          .34 km away
          Nearby Attractions
          Durban Botanic Gardens
          852 reviews
          1.08 km away
          Giba Gorge Mountain Bike Park
          90 reviews
          1.34 km away
          St. Thomas' Church
          21 reviews
          .60 km away
          Markets of Warwick Tour
          36 reviews
          1.53 km away
          Questions & Answers
          Get quick answers from Nomads Backpackers staff and past guests.
          Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
          Posting guidelines
          Submit
          Room Tips
          "Shopping Mall close by."
          Read review
          "We just relied on the knowledgeable and helpful staff"
          Read review
          "stay away from the dorms, it is quite cramped."
          Read review
          "Join in or you won't enjoy it haha"
          Read review
          Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
          Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing