We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

An Upper Room

PricelineUS$64*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
An Upper Room
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

154 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 149: English reviews
Start your review of An Upper Room
 Click to rate
Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The services offered by An Upper Room is awesome. They deserve 10 stars. I would recommend anyone to go and visit "An Upper Room". The accommodation is close to all tourist attraction areas, easy to locate. You will definitely not regret it.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank rofhiwan180
Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

Beautiful, relaxing and friendly people with a nice view of Durban. All expectations were met and it was worth the stay. My first stay at An Upper Room and I have stayed at many places during all my business trips.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank F1848GHcarlog
Berlin, Germany
Reviewed 1 week ago

Good for a brief stay in Durban above the city with a very kind host and excellent staff. The small house in the courtyard is a little exposed to kitchen and houseworks. Edith gave us good hints on where to go and what to do.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank hvl2017
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 10 March 2017

Warm friendly environment with a nice room and en suite bathroom. Staff - especially Connie - are fantastic and extremely helpful. The breakfast was freshly prepared and delicious and the pool a welcome respite from the heat of Durban.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank ross_co_za
Reviewed 4 March 2017

It was really nice to stay in An Upper Room in Durban for two weeks. It's located on a small hill with beautiful view, safe and quiet, close to the Natal university. The staff are very friendly. Suppers are well prepared and different everyday (pasta, BBQ, salad). All the things make you feel like home.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fanegenstein W
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 20 February 2017

An Upper Room is convenient, comfortable and close to the city. It is perfect for a work trip stay over. There are several good restaurants nearby too. The neighbourhood is quiet and leafy. There is a lovely swimming pool.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank ReneCapeTown
Bergen, Norway
Reviewed 9 December 2016

We stayed three nights with Edith and Leon and their staff. They were the best hosts we could have. They are friendly, flexible and helpful and made us always feel welcome. The rooms were clean and convenient and the breakfast very good. This is a great place if you want to explore Durban and the surroundings.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank oivin2016
Kimberley, South Africa
Reviewed 3 December 2016

The view I'd great. The place Is quaint. The beds make you knock out. The rooms are quite. The towels are fluffy. It is definitely an upper room. The parking is high and the rooms are high. It was a very relaxed stay for us. No fuss.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Boipelog
Edith T, Owner at An Upper Room, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review. We always enjoy having lovely people stay with us. Glad you enjoyed yourselves. Hope to see you back

Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 November 2016

I honestly can't thank Edith and Leon enough for their kindness whilst we stayed with them, they made us feel so welcome. Our car broke down in Durban during our 2 week tour of SA. They were so kind and helpful, letting us use phones and tools to fix the car. The place is very clean and tidy, great location....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Coles21
Edith T, Owner at An Upper Room, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review, we were happy we could help you and hope the rest of your trip was good. Hope to see you back again one day.

Sankt Gallenkirch, Austria
Reviewed 12 November 2016

During our roundtrip in SA we stayed one night in Durban with Edith and Leon. We arrived in the early afternoon and our rooms were not ready. However we could deposit our bags and Edith showed us the place were to go and to park in Durban city centre. It's just a short drive to the centre but you fell...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank XdamaX
Edith T, Owner at An Upper Room, responded to this review

We are happy enjoyed your stay as we did having you at our establishment.

22 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (9)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
4.5 km away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 42 in Durban
1,342 reviews
4.3 km away
The Concierge Boutique Bungalows
5.4 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 km away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#8 of 42 in Durban
413 reviews
5.9 km away
Goble Palms Guest Lodge & Urban Retreat
4.0 km away
Essenwood House
Essenwood House
#5 of 246 in Durban
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
An Upper Room Bed and Breakfast is situated on the Durban's ridge with a spectacular view over the harbor. Set away from the main roads in tranquil surroundings and frequented by many species of birds. We are situated at the top of Pigeon Valley which teems with numerous species of wild life. An Upper Room offers peace and tranquility for the business executive or holiday maker. Children of all ages are welcome, and those who are 5 years and under stay for free. There is a street patrol 24 hours a day in the area to ensure that the area is safe. We are 800m from the KZN University Howard Collage, within walking distance. We have two dogs Lily & Bentley, who love visitors especially children, and are friendly. ... more   less 

Additional Information about An Upper Room

Address: 60 Clair Avenue | Manor Gardens, Glenwood, Durban 4001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Price Range: RM237 - RM417 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your An Upper Room reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from An Upper Room staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from An Upper Room staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Great nights sleep but best breakfast.”
olibarnes, 28 Sep 2016 | Read review
“A very quiet location”
rwiles2016, 11 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Tranquility. full aquipped kitchen in cottage.”
Aloncohen2015, 6 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Room with view at the harbour”
Miranda1880, 18 May 2015 | Read review
“Rooms with balconies are super”
  • View from my blacony - looking up towards the University as evening set in
DebA37, 10 Dec 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Priceline
US$64* /night
View Deal
Booking.com
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates