We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hilton Durban

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Hilton Durban
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,222 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,138: English reviews
Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Hilton hotel has really up the standard in certain areas which easily put it into category of 5 star hotel. There is that warm welcome as you enter the hotel, there are people who are there to help and to guide. Inside the room there are amenities that you wouldn't think you find in the hotel, which you always carry...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sibusiso N
Bloemfontein, South Africa
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Excellence excellence excellence excellence , wonderful experience professional service, well done and keep it up. No words can explain except to say thank you. Hilton hotel is the best, the fact that its closer to ICC compliment the hotel standards a lot, the standard in this hotel is international standards really, competent personnel

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tozamam
Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Overall the stay was fine. We had an issue at check in where our booking did not show as we had made a change on booking.com that the hotel had not captured. It took quite a while for that to be sorted out. Once it was sorted we were treated well & given free Lounge access. Dinner at The Big...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AshDWarners
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for being our guest during your recent trip to Durban and for the time you took to share your valued feedback with us on Tripadvisor. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our hotel’s location, facilities and that you were content with your room. Unfortunately I apologize for your overall arrival experience and booking...

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Travelled for business to Durban. My Company booked me into The Hilton for the duration of my business trip. What fantastic service, from start to finish. Absolute customer satisfaction, with attention to detail. From check-in to check-out, the experience was phenomenal. Absolutely to be recommended to anyone travelling to Durban.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank isoldeh676
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for selecting our hotel for your business trip. I appreciate your feedback and I am pleased to read you enjoyed our location, service and facilities. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Yours sincerely Markus

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Checked into the Hilton Durban on the 2nd December 2016. I had the privilege of staying in the newly renovated room which was warm and inviting. We dined at the Big Easy which has a relaxing ambiance. My meal consisted of beef short rib, anise star, horse radish mash and charred leek - simply delicious! Thank you Petros for being...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 33,907,455
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for your time in sharing your experience with me. I am happy to see we were able to take care of your needs and that your stay was enjoyable overall. We appreciate your comments and look forward to having you back with us. Yours sincerely Markus

Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Toasted Sandwich took 30 min to arrive, still had to wait for the burger,waitress had no clue what was happening, hot chocolate order was mixed up! Waited waited waited asked asked asked,eventually the same waitress came with the cold " hot chocolate". Very poor service!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sanjaip2015
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you very much for sharing your feedback about us. I sincerely apologize that we have failed to give you the true high quality we so much strive to deliver, which resulted in your stay not being as enjoyable as we would have wished for. We have addressed this with the Food & Beverage Manager and the...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This is my regular hotel in Durban and I was reminded on this trip why The hotel isn't located on the waterfront or anywhere pretty, but it is central and convenient and the hotel is wonderful The suite was spacious, clean and modern. They have just refurbished in the last year, and it was fine before The staff are exceptionally...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RoadWarrior298
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for such a great review on your recent stay with us. We are truly grateful that you were able to enjoy the many services that our property has to offer our guests and that each of the services and products you enjoyed met and exceeded your expectations. Thank you again for your time, feedback and...

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

extremely happy with the service except that I was given spoiled fruits as welcome gift in the room. The service however was not that bad with other service from the hotel. this was not the first time I was a guest at the hotel I occasionally visit the hotel when I go to durban

 Report
Helpful?
Thank S3566QNandrews
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest I greatly appreciate the feedback from your recent experience at our hotel. We are so very happy to hear you were pleased with our location and staff. However, I do apologize for the quality of fruit received and Wi-Fi connection. We will be sure to share this feedback with our Food & Beverage/Executive Chef and IT teams...

Reviewed 1 week ago

Very nice, fresh and modern entrance and lobby. Many servants are taking care of the guests. The Bar is nice and very friendly. International cocktails should be trained. The craft beers are fantastic. The rooms are of a nice size, modern and ok. Some details could be adjusted. The bathrooms are nice and ok. Very nicely located, easy walk to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank U. G
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to share your impressions here on TripAdvisor. It is lovely to hear that you had a very nice experiences with us. Many thanks for your kind words about our rooms, staff and location. We do hope to be able to welcome you again...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Overall great. only issue was no heating in the room. cigarettes only available from machine on cash basis. but no cash withdrawal facilities available nor cigarettes avail at the bar. jbhibpiughipunpiuhiuon-98fv 5re8tfg865r ytr876fgu7yy9g[98ubn b 796t78gh08y87 b 807y-98uh9p8h

 Report
Helpful?
Thank U588YLashleyb
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you very much for staying with us and for sharing your comments. I am happy to read that overall you were happy with your stay nevertheless we do appreciate your remarks regarding our cigerette machine and cash facilities, as well airconditioner not heating. Our Executive Team will review these comments to ensure that the best possible...

390 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (165)
Viewed
View from Room (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (66)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (225)
Viewed
Room/Suite (84)
Viewed
Dining (41)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (44)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
1.0 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
0.9 km away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
1.9 km away
Suncoast Towers
Suncoast Towers
#5 of 42 in Durban
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 km away
Premier Hotel Pinetown
Premier Hotel Pinetown
#1 of 1 in Pinetown
208 reviews
1.5 km away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#14 of 42 in Durban
521 reviews
1.4 km away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#11 of 42 in Durban
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Hilton Durban

Address: 12 - 14 Walnut Road, Durban 4001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Price Range: RM430 - RM1,152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Durban 5*
Number of rooms: 324
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon and Odigeo so you can book your Hilton Durban reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Durban Hotel Durban
Hilton International Durban
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Durban
#9 Business Hotel in Durban
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hilton Durban staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Hilton Durban staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Sea facing and request an upgrade for a minimal fee”
  • Durban at night is beautiful!
 of 5 bubbles 33907455, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“If you can get a room on a high floor on the coast side, you will get great views of the ocean and the 2 stadiums”
 of 5 bubbles robdubluu, 24 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at higher floors have been redecorated”
 of 5 bubbles JazzmanRotterdam, 24 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Executive suites on the upper floors are possibly more luxurious than the standard rooms which are more than adequate for a short stay.”
 of 5 bubbles 536RichardS, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“they are going through renos so ask for one away from the noise. they start early”
 of 5 bubbles marionb289, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay