We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Blue Waters Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Blue Waters Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

554 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 503: English reviews
Start your review of Blue Waters Hotel
 Click to rate
Pretoria
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

For those that dont mind the sound of beachfront rumble of the waves. The cool sea breeze in your face. The main areas are all within waljing distances. The best value for money in a upclass Hotel. The food is very delightful and tasteful. The real place to stay and enjoy all Durban can offer.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank slakkie30
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Basic 3 star hotel on a prime position on the beach front and close to all entertainment and restaurants. Reception staff very pleasant and friendly. Nice indoor pool area next to reception. Passage way leading to our room was untidy and old. Rooms were almost clean as it had bubblegum stuck on the bedside table which indicates that it was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Colin247
BlueW, Assistant guest services manager at Blue Waters Hotel, responded to this review

Dear valued guest, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and the wonderful service you received from our staff. We are currently doing minor preventative maintenance on the corridors and we do apologise with regards to that, we do only have limited WIFI connection in the rooms as advertised online but we do however have...

Boxborough, Massachusetts
Reviewed 1 week ago

Contrary to the issues that others have had, I must say that I had a wonderful month there. The view is spectacular even from the north facing rooms. Lindie from Guest Relations was always very pleasant as was all but one of the reception staff and that person was leaving and had already tendered her resignation. Petros (whom I affectionately...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank soling_sailor
BlueW, Guest Relations Manager at Blue Waters Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest. Thank you for taking your time to provide us with feedback regarding your stay. We thank you for such a lovely review. All above personel mentioned are doing wonderfully and send their regards. We also thank you for your recomendations above. We hope to host you again in the near future with your international travels. Yours in...

Tzaneen
Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel has a prime spot on the beach front. Walking into the lobby, there were extremely noisy guests that was distinctly off-putting. After a rather curt book-in, I found myself in a really dirty corridor (debris from a dirty mop, poor cleaning of skirting, bottle tops, workman's leftover nails, sawblade, pieces of glass....). My room was a mixed bag:...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aurantia
BlueW, Guest Relations Manager at Blue Waters Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your stay. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed certain aspects of your stay. We would appreciate the opportunity to investigate the comments mentioned above to rectify the shortcomings, please may we ask that you kindly contact the Hotel pertaining to details of your...

England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a great three night stay at this hotel. Food was good, service excellent and we had great sea views from our room. Also thought this was good value for a hotel on the sea front. Would recommend staying here.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sheila W
BlueW, Guest Relations Manager at Blue Waters Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your stay. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. As service professionals in the hospitality industry we continually strive to offer good service and meet our guest expectations. We are looking forward to welcoming you back on your next visit. Yours in...

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed one night at Blue Waters Hotel. Apparently the hotel has undergone some improvements in recent years, but the family rooms we got didn't show that. We had big problems with our room key. The manager had to come and reset it physically. Yet the keys still wouldn't work. After several tries they eventually got the keys to work....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lungi N
BlueW, assistant guest services manager at Blue Waters Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your stay. We are however disappointed to hear that you did have a wonderful stay with us. We do sincerely apologise that you were inconvenienced and received the service that you received from members of the staff in the restaurant. We do sincerely apologise for...

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I booked a sea facing room and the extra package with the Champagne, Flowers and Chocolates for myself and my partners anniversary in Mid January over Saturday and Sunday. We booked for 2 nights and decided when we arrived at check in to book a 3rd night. After checking in the room was good with flowers on the bed, floor...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GarethRossi
BlueW, Guest Relations Manager at Blue Waters Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your stay. We are however disappointed to hear that you did not have the magical time you imagined. We apologise that you were inconvenienced with regards to moving rooms during this special time. We apologise for the matters mentioned, I can assure you this has...

Bloemfontein, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Wow what a surprise for a 3 star hotel! As we travel once a year overseas I can honestly say that the Rooms are of international standard. We booked 3 rooms and all has a south sea view. Room numbers 604,804 and 502. Comfortable bed, great big shower, lovely towels, different plugs for cell phones and hairdryers and lights and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ria S
BlueW, Guest Relations Manager at Blue Waters Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your stay. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. As service professionals in the hospitality industry we continually strive to offer good service and meet our guest expectations. We are looking forward to welcoming you back on your next visit. Yours in...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Traveling to Africa I was unsure what to expect from each city. This hotel is central to the Golden Mile (beach front) and a few cafes and restaurants. It was safe and comfortable. The rooms were clean (had several problems with the hot water system) and staff (for the majority of the time) were friendly and very helpful. The hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chenoajane
BlueW, Guest Relations Manager at Blue Waters Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your stay. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are looking forward to welcoming you back on your next visit. Yours in Hospitality, Lindie Lotriet, Guest Services Manager

Epsom, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great location on Marine Parade with superb views from my 8th floor balcony. My room was clean, spacious and with all the facilities I needed. The staff were helpful and the service generally very good. A great breakfast buffet and lively bar, with a proper pizza oven operating in the outdoor area. One major downside - the hotel wifi is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alan R
BlueW, Guest Relations Manager at Blue Waters Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your stay. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. As service professionals in the hospitality industry we continually strive to offer good service and meet our guest expectations. We have ample wifi access in our public areas with passwords obtainable at Reception...

227 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (202)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
View from Room (45)
Viewed
Other (61)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
1.5 km away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#4 of 41 in Durban
1,298 reviews
0.7 km away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
1.6 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#9 of 41 in Durban
399 reviews
0.4 km away
Suncoast Towers
Suncoast Towers
#7 of 41 in Durban
418 reviews
1.9 km away
Garden Court South Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Beachfront
Food & drink at the hotel
Blue Dolphin
Blue Dolphin
Cuisines: Pizza, Italian, Bar, Sushi, Pub
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast included
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Blue Waters Hotel is a three star beach front hotel located on Durban's famous Golden Mile in KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa. The Blue Waters Hotel specializes in offering the best accommodation at affordable rates to corporate business, honeymooners, sports teams, groups and holiday makers alike. We also specialize in hosting unforgettable wedding receptions. We have a number of wedding venues to choose from depending on the size of the function required. The hotel offers business conference and function facilities for small to large events. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Blue Waters Hotel

Address: 175 Snell Parade | North Beach, Durban 4001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Price Range: RM290 - RM682 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Waters Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 262
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Blue Waters Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Waters Hotel Durban
Blue Waters Durban
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Durban
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Blue Waters Hotel staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Blue Waters Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Definitely sea facing rooms and preferably higher floor.”
 of 5 bubbles Colin247, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms above 8th floor are quiter, sea facing rooms do have a good view”
 of 5 bubbles Aurantia, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Great views from the upper floor, sea-facing rooms”
 of 5 bubbles AlanR808, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Choose a family room with sea view it has 2 small size beds and and one queen bed”
 of 5 bubbles CikuGacuru, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Make sure you get a room with a balcony.”
 of 5 bubbles MargarethaN, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5