We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Beachcomber Bay

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Beachcomber Bay
View Map
{"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

111 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 105: English reviews
East London, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Beachcomber offers much more than the website promises. Warm reception when we arrived and during our stay. Breakfast and views to die for. Highly recommendable and would stay there again if the opportunity came along.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 29willemb
SharonTJ, Owner at Beachcomber Bay, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review, we really appreciate you taking the time. It would be great to welcome you back, I hope you had a good journey home Stay well Regards Sharon

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

If they can get comfortable bed and there was no soap and shower caps in the bathroom. Fridge inside the cupboard shocked by a brick/wood very unprofessional. Please upgrade your accommodation for guests who will be interested to visit. But for me personally I wont visit there again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 288jabum
SharonTJ, Owner at Beachcomber Bay, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay. We do not supply shower caps, however there is a wrapped cake of soap in the bathroom cabinet, perhaps you missed it. With regard to the bed and the fridge, this is the first negative comment we have had so I...

Northern Ireland
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at the Beachcomber Bay in July 2014. This B&B is in one word.... FANTASTIC. Owners are more than helpful, staff are brilliant, view from our room was stunning. Nice walk into Margate or a 2 minute stroll to the beach. Breakfast was not only lovely but plentiful. People who fault here would fault the Burj Al Arab. Visited...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John M
SharonTJ, Owner at Beachcomber Bay, responded to this review

Thank you so much John for the wonderful review, we really appreciate it. I hope we have space for you next time, will try my best. Look forward to your return Keep well Sharon

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 30 October 2016

Perfectly situated not to be right in the middle of were the buzz is. Yet close enough to be there in a 3 minute drive. Lovely clean rooms with secure parking. Very friendly and very informative about the area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank firesv2016
SharonTJ, Owner at Beachcomber Bay, responded to this review

Great to read your lovely review, thank you We look forward to your return Keep well Regards Sharon

Benoni, South Africa
Reviewed 23 October 2016

Very relaxing stay even thought the weather was not the best. Thank you Sharon - rooms were spotless and comfortable, breakfast excellent - especially the freshly made fruit salad I had every morning.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 337priscillaf
SharonTJ, Owner at Beachcomber Bay, responded to this review

So sad the weather wasn't too good, it was great having you stay with us. Thank you for your wonderful review. Keep well Regards Sharon TJ

Wilderness, South Africa
Reviewed 14 October 2016

I was very impressed with the fact that our hosts made that extra effort to find me a comfortable low noise room, and I left with good memories... munching padkos on the way home when I had to leave in the early hours of the morning.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sharonF1141OA
SharonTJ, Owner at Beachcomber Bay, responded to this review

Thak you Sharon it was a pleasure to have you stay with us. I hope your long ..... trip home was okay. We look forward to your return some day Regards Sharon TJ

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 7 October 2016

Wonderful Accommodation with Great Sea view except for the fact that I have to use the plug inside the wardrobe to charge my phone, as the one next to my bed was faulty. I would go back to the guest anytime I get the chance again. I also recommend the place to anyone who is looking for value for money.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 724luyandan
SharonTJ, Owner at Beachcomber Bay, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting your great review. I am sorry you had problems with a plug, a pity you did not tell me as I am sure I would have been able to assist. Keep well regards Sharon

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 4 October 2016

Sharon and Trevor are beyond the most amazing hosts . They place is beautiful and in tip top condition. Words cannot describe the stay at Beachcomber bay , but I would surely say it is a stay that will be well worthy . Erika & Divesh

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 859diveshb
SharonTJ, Owner at Beachcomber Bay, responded to this review

Thank you so much, it was a pleasure having you stay with us Keep well regards Sharon

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 26 September 2016

Beachcomber Bay is convenient to get to with great views of the ocean. Sharon is such a good host and the breakfasts are amazing. Enjoyed the spa bath and comfy bed in Room 4. Such good value for money

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jennifermA5075IT
SharonTJ, Owner at Beachcomber Bay, responded to this review

So good to read your great review, thank you for taking the time to submit it. i am so pleased you enjoyed your stay Regards Sharon

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 18 September 2016

Such a lovely place it is. The owner, the staff cant thank them enough for making our stay such comfort. The parrot, God knows i loved it. Thank you so much.The view from the guest house is beautiful. The sound of the sea from our room was amazing.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank balungilem2016
SharonTJ, Owner at Beachcomber Bay, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review, I shall let the parrot know he has featured on Tripadvisor. It was wonderful to have you stay with us, I hope you return soon Regards Sharon

37 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (30)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Margate
11.3 km away
San Lameer Resort Hotel & Spa
27.8 km away
Wild Coast Sun Hotel
Wild Coast Sun Hotel
#2 of 4 in Port Edward
193 reviews
1.5 km away
La Cote d'Azur
La Cote d'Azur
#3 of 6 in Margate
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.1 km away
The Estuary Hotel & Spa
The Estuary Hotel & Spa
#1 of 4 in Port Edward
236 reviews
0.3 km away
Margate Sands
Margate Sands
#2 of 6 in Margate
69 reviews
0.7 km away
The Homestead Margate
The Homestead Margate
#2 of 22 in Margate
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Mediterranean style Guesthouse decorated in an African theme is superbly positioned on the border of Margate and Ramsgate overlooking the warm Indian Ocean. This tranquil venue is less than a 10 minute walk to the centre of Margate, an ideal position for both business and leisure.Beachcomber Bay is situated on a hilltop with superb breaker and sea views and private access to golden beaches. . Enjoy warm hospitality, personal service and sumptuous breakfasts. Guests may enjoy a refreshing sauna, a spa bath or sunbathe on the pool deck or patios, (where the seasonal whale, dolphin, and sardine runs may be viewed) or partake in a host of activities, and scenic drives.Beachcomber Bay is within easy reach of eight PGA rated golf courses, including Selborne Country Club, South Broom Golf Club, San Lameer Country Club and the Wild Coast Sun Country Club which are rated in the top 50 courses in South Africa.A host of activities and a variety of restaurants are easily accessible ... more   less 

Additional Information about Beachcomber Bay

Address: 75 Marine Drive | Ramsgate, Margate 4285, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Margate
Price Range: RM267 - RM391 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Beachcomber Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Beachcomber Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Beachcomber Bay staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Beachcomber Bay staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Italian at the bottom of the street does a lovely Lamb shank.”
 of 5 bubbles johnmP7244AX, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Beachview family room”
 of 5 bubbles tashiem2016, 5 Apr 2016 | Read review
“room 6 lovely view”
 of 5 bubbles karenp511, 15 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Room 5 is a large room by the pool. Designed as a family room but has a seating area, which is great for relaxing with a book or a drink before dinner.”
 of 5 bubbles BabsN_13, 9 Mar 2015 | Read review
“Check it especially if your intention is to enjoy the beach and do some fishing.”
 of 5 bubbles ZamaB, 4 Nov 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay