We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

ANEW Hotel Hilton

Save
Share
1 Hilton Avenue, Pietermaritzburg 3245 South Africa
Lowest prices for your stay
Agoda.com
US$91
View Deal
Free cancellation until 29/06/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
eDreams
US$91
View Deal
Free cancellation until 29/06/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
US$90
View Deal
Free cancellation until 01/07/21
Expedia.comUS$90
Booking.comUS$91
TravelocityUS$90
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (121)
Room & Suite (50)
Dining (5)

About

#3 of 10 hotels in Pietermaritzburg
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Experience old world charm in the Pietermaritzburg Midlands during your stay at ANEW Hotel Hilton. Situated right on the doorstep of the Midlands Meander, this hotel combines old-world charm with highly rated friendly and efficient service. The four-star architectural showpiece that is ANEW Hotel Hilton, with its imposing Tudor lines, is a must-stay for the meandering country charm seeker, as well as being the perfect venue for business conferences, weddings and banquets. Originally established in 1936, the elegant and upmarket hotel consisting of 97 rooms now boasts all the modern amenities expected from vacationing families and businessmen alike, making it the first choice for Pietermaritzburg accommodation. The Midlands Meander, only 5 hours from Johannesburg is perfect to rekindle romance while you enjoy a private dinner on a floodlit pool deck with cascading water. Anew Hotel Hilton is located within an historic district and is in close proximity to Howick Golf Club and the
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Babysitting
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Secured parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Special diet menus
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Massage
24-hour security
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Safe
Telephone
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
See more room details
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans, Zulu
302Reviews3Q+A75Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 132
  • 110
  • 38
  • 15
  • 7
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
evahed619263 wrote a review Nov 2020
1 contribution
This is a lovely hotel , well situated, just off the highway with easy access. It has old world charm and is perfect for the midlands which takes u back in time. The little town of Hilton is absolutely charming band is worth a visit on the weekend.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Anthony Moskovitch, General Manager at ANEW Hotel Hilton
Responded 29 Nov 2020
Good Day evahed619263 Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are truly most delighted to hear your positive feedback but wish to further reassure you that success is never final, and we continually strive to improve where possible. Indeed it was lovely having you stay, please do come visit us again soon. Kind regards Anthony Moskovitch General Manager
Read more
cnyama905157 wrote a review Nov 2020
1 contribution
The guard denied us entry, even though we had booked on booking.com and indicated that we would be arriving late. We also additionally called to confirm that we were arriving late. Then after 5 hours of driving from Johannesburg to Pietermaritzburg, the guard attempted to deny us entry. It took a lot of arguing for us to be allowed to see the manager. Thats when we were finally accepted into a noisy lobby full of drunk guests who were clearly overbooked. Excellent bedding, beautiful bathrooms. I know COVID has depressed society, but I hope Anew renews!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Anthony Moskovitch, General Manager at ANEW Hotel Hilton
Responded 27 Nov 2020
Good Day cnyama905157 Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. Please do allow me to apologise profusely for what can only be deemed a "disastrous arrival". Please do rest assured knowing that this has already received our most urgent attention to ensure this does not repeat itself. We pride ourselves in ensuring GUEST satisfaction remains our key priority and that this is to never happen again. Thank you again for sharing these comments with us, we certainly hope to see you again soon in order for us to prove to you that this was an isolated incident. Kind regards Anthony Moskovitch General Manager
Read more
Fellside-traveller wrote a review Oct 2020
Johannesburg, South Africa19 contributions17 helpful votes
My husband came for a conference and I came with my toddler. I was very impressed with the level of service from every staff member. From the breakfast staff, to the reception, to the room service staff- I was impressed with their friendliness and attentiveness. It definitely felt like everyone was going the extra mile to make our stay enjoyable. The room was spacious and comfortable, the location very convenient.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Anthony Moskovitch, General Manager at ANEW Hotel Hilton
Responded 1 Nov 2020
Good Day Fellside-traveller Thank you so very much for sharing this wonderful review with us. We are indeed elated that you had a great time with us, whilst under our care. I shall ensure that the TEAM on duty during your stay receive this amazing news as well as a little celebration on a job well done. Please do come visit us again soon. Kind regards Anthony Moskovitch General Manager
Read more
chriskS3887SJ wrote a review Sep 2020
Johannesburg, South Africa27 contributions5 helpful votes
This is an ideal hotel for a weekend break as it is well located within close proximity of the Midlands meander. Unfortunately with Covid restrictions in place the breakfast buffet could not be displayed to its full potential and therefore meals were rather limited. The staff did however work around this and were very helpful under these trying times. The room was very comfortable however I disagree with the "no room make up every day" rule due to Covid as this can be overcome with sanitising and it something that most guests expect when you are in fact paying for this service.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Faith Mabele, Other at ANEW Hotel Hilton
Responded 20 Sep 2020
Good Day chriskS3887SJ Thank you ever so much for taking the time to share your feedback with us. Please do allow me to apologise for the us not living up to your expectations. This by no means is a direct reflection of how we usually deliver on our GUEST's needs however due to the current climate, our aim is to ensure all GUEST's safety remains our critical focus and thus the reduced standards have been implemented to best ensure social distancing is adhered too without a reduced service experience. It seems however that this has negatively impacted on your stay to which we shall revise our current offerings and make the necessary changes where applicable. Thank you once again, I do hope we see you again soon for an elevated service experience. Kind regards Anthony Moskovitch General Manager
Read more
Monde S wrote a review Feb 2020
Johannesburg, South Africa309 contributions45 helpful votes
The hotel is set in an “English” countryside with modern refurbishments. The amazing rooms were great except for being close to the main road off the highway. Dinner was a disappointment. The buffet takes my appetite away so I never try it if I can help it. The a la carte menu was none the better. Ordered a seafood basket & every morsel was dunked in batter & fried, except for mussels which was also swimming in a creamy sauce. A full baby rotisserie chicken was also not moist. Try to drive to PMB town for better restaurants.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Choose rooms away from the main road
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from ANEWhotelhilton, General Manager at ANEW Hotel Hilton
Responded 25 Feb 2020
Good Day M0ondeS Thank you kindly for taking the time to share this with us. I too am terribly disappointed to learn that we let you down in our food offering. This, most certainly is not the way in which we pride ourselves in, and is something that is currently receiving my personal undivided attention to ensure we get this rectified immediately. As you so perfectly mentioned, the recent refurbishments have certainly added great value and comfort to our GUESTS and we certainly don't want to disappoint by "dropping the ball" in the areas in which we have direct control. Please rest assured knowing that on your follow up visit with us, that this will most certainly have been addressed, assuring you peace of mind going forward. Thank you again, please do come see us again soon. Kind Regards Anthony Moskovitch General Manager
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$73 - US$111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Protea Hotel Hilton
LOCATION
South AfricaKwaZulu-NatalPietermaritzburg
NUMBER OF ROOMS
97
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about ANEW Hotel Hilton
What are some of the property amenities at ANEW Hotel Hilton?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at ANEW Hotel Hilton?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a fireplace.
What food & drink options are available at ANEW Hotel Hilton?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at ANEW Hotel Hilton?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to ANEW Hotel Hilton?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ground Coffee House, Artisan, and The Upper Millstone.
Are there opportunities to exercise at ANEW Hotel Hilton?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does ANEW Hotel Hilton have an airport shuttle?
Yes, ANEW Hotel Hilton offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at ANEW Hotel Hilton?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does ANEW Hotel Hilton offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at ANEW Hotel Hilton?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Afrikaans, and Zulu.
Is ANEW Hotel Hilton accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.