We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Cutty Sark Hotel

Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Scottburgh
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Show Prices
Management photos
Cutty Sark Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

53 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 51: English reviews
Start your review of Cutty Sark Hotel
 Click to rate
Durban
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This older hotel reminded me of the hotels I stayed in as a child, large open plan rooms, great 180 degree sea views and a really impressive deck where one can watch the waves rolling in whilst having an ice cold beer or gin & tonic.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Munchie2014
Peter R, Owner at Cutty Sark Hotel, responded to this review

As they say "The Old Ones are the Best"....Glad you enjoyed you stay..

Hillcrest, South Africa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

If you are wanting to stay in a hotel which offers great value, set in a beautiful location - look no further. It is an older family run hotel. The fixtures and fittings are not brand new but they are clean and more than adequate. The staff are friendly and the food is great. It is one of the few...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lisabF526UD
Peter R, Owner at Cutty Sark Hotel, responded to this review

So glad you enjoyed your stay...look forward to having you back with us soon...Best wishes...The Cutty Sark Team

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 12 April 2017

Close to the beach, fresh water swimming pool, friendly service and stunning views. On the outskirts of Scottburgh, south coast of KwaZulu Natal, close to town. Restaurant is light and airy with delicious food. Relaxing place though busy during peak times, so if you don't mind kids splashing in the pool and squealing with delight, it's the perfect getaway!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank forever-a-nomad
Peter R, Owner at Cutty Sark Hotel, responded to this review

So So Glad you enjoyed your stay with us...Hurry back again soon..!! Best wishes ..Peter & Cutty Sark Team

Manchester, New Hampshire
Reviewed 28 March 2017 via mobile

Cutty Sark is nice, especially for the price. Breakfast and dinner buffets were worth the money alone, delicious! Very friendly staff and can't beat the ocean views. A short walk has you at a beautiful beach that was great to walk each evening. The hotel is also in a perfect location for diving with Scuba Xcursion. Would absolutely stay with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bobby O
Gosford, Australia
Reviewed 7 December 2016

Location: the Cutty Sark Hotel is a few hundred meters along the beach from Scottburgh’s picturesque bathing area. While Scottburgh is less than an hour on the N2 from Durban, the hotel’s views are of a stretch of coast surrounded by cane fields and forestry and retains a sense of wild isloation absent from so many other parts of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Antipodean_Jeannots
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 1 November 2016 via mobile

Let me start with the positive: great location (right on the beach and next to the best dive center I have experienced), some very friendly staff. Otherwise, if you expect good sleep, clean place, good food, pick another hotel! Our double bed was a 1 and half adult, our mattress probably touched the floor at some point, and - worst...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank emmanuelle g
Peter R, Owner at Cutty Sark Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Emmanuelle g...sorry that your experience at Cutty Sark was below expectations....promise we can do better!! if you visit again give me a call and we will try...Best wishes...Cutty Sark Team

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 25 October 2016

Took advantage of the pensioners special. Had a great time even though the weather was not 100% .Very clean and comfortable. Good food although variety can be samey for longer stays. Reception very friendly and helpful .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ek540913
Peter R, Owner at Cutty Sark Hotel, responded to this review

So glad you enjoyed your stay...hope to see you again soon.! Best wishes.. The Cutty Sark Team

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 9 October 2016

My wife and I have just returned from a four day stay at this resort. I must admit due to the age of the hotel and a few reviews that we had read we were a bit apprehensive and not sure what to expect. Well what a Pleasant Surprise we had everything from check in by friendly helpful reception staff,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank clive n
Peter R, Owner at Cutty Sark Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Chris..am so please you and your wife had a good stay at Cutty Sark. It was great having you...Look forward to seeing you again soon..

Reviewed 3 September 2016

On a golfing visit to KZN we were recommended the Cutty Sark as a convenient ,value for money, place to base ourselves. We experienced a true old-style hotel, well appointed rooms, excellent dining room and bar , near the highway making travel even to the North of Durban , quite convenient. Friendly staff, good service, most of the staff have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John H
Peter R, Manager at Cutty Sark Hotel, responded to this review

Hi John..so glad you enjoyed your stay with us...Hope you putting was also as good. See you again soon..Regards The Cutty Sark Team

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 12 August 2016 via mobile

The stay-over at Cutty Sark Hotel was part of an organised shark dive weekend. The hotel is a hit aged, but still a nice venue and pleasantly laid out and furnished. Food and staff was excellent. Good breakfast and dinner buffet in comparison with other venues. The rooms need a bit attention. The bed we slept on was uncomfortable. What...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Hein_Benoni

17 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scottburgh
0.6 km away
Blue Marlin Hotel
Blue Marlin Hotel
#1 of 2 in Scottburgh
188 reviews
13.3 km away
Selborne Golf Estate, Hotel and Spa
18.7 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Karridene Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.1 km away
Sugar Beach Resort
Sugar Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Elysium
23 reviews
0.8 km away
The Dugong Guest House
The Dugong Guest House
#1 of 3 in Scottburgh
41 reviews
1.7 km away
Gee Wizz B & B
Gee Wizz B & B
#5 of 5 in Scottburgh
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Cutty Sark Hotel

Address: Beachfront, Scottburgh, Scottburgh 4180, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Scottburgh
Price Range: RM215 - RM301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cutty Sark Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cutty Sark Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Cutty Sark Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ground floor rooms have garden access”
Ek540913, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Room 17 was lovely with fantastic view”
cliven35, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Sea view rooms, near the beach are best.”
F4408XWjohnh, 3 Sep 2016 | Read review
“see review”
454MarcoM, 3 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Most rooms are sea facing”
Merricks72, 30 Jun 2015 | Read review
5 of 5