We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Sandringham Bed & Breakfast

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Sandringham Bed & Breakfast
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

140 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 135: English reviews
Start your review of The Sandringham Bed & Breakfast
 Click to rate
Phalaborwa, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

We loved our stay at the Sandringham. The place is cozy, nice and clean. The breakfast was great, it was a short drive to everything we needed. The lady at the reception was really helpful and patiently gave me tips about tours and what to do around as it was my first time in Durban.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 846natachas
Sandra N, Manager at The Sandringham Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Your lovely comments and wonderful review regarding your recent stay with us are highly appreciated and we all sincerely hope to see you back here with us in the very near future. Our very best regards, from all of us in the SANDRINGHAM team . 😃

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 20 January 2017

Great place to stay at. The place is within a walking distance to the nearest shopping mall and to the sea show. The staff is quite helpful. They would advise you on what places to visit and the do's and don'ts when travelling within Umhlanga.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank G5394HHbrianm
Sandra N, Manager at The Sandringham Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

We thank you for your nice review regarding your stay with us . We value your input greatly. It would be a privilege for us to be able to host you again , please come back really soon. Our best wishes and Regards , Mike, Sandra and all of the SANDRINGHAM team :

Copenhagen
Reviewed 19 January 2017

I stayed there for one night only, but everything was really nice. From I was picked up at the airport until they dropped me off the next day everything was perfect. And the hostess Sandra is very sweet. Thanks for a great stay!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank mariemeiern
Mike G, Owner at The Sandringham Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Wow thank you so much for your kind words , your valued comments are very much appreciated. Please try and come back and stay ( for a longer period) and allow us to spoil you . All of the very best to you and your family, Mike, Sandra and all of us at The Sandringham.

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 16 January 2017

I went to Sandringham to celebrate my birthday which was on the 24th of December. We arrived on the 23rd of December and checked out on the 27th of December. The establishment is clean and well kempt, the staff are also polite and professional.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank vangilet2017
Mike G, Owner at The Sandringham Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

We are sorry that we have taken so long to respond to you, firstly to thank you for your positive review , but not least to wish you a belated happy birthday . We look forward to hosting you again in the near future and assure you of our best attention at all times . Very best to you, Mike...

Reviewed 24 December 2016 via mobile

I would love to rate this higher because the staff are amazing. But the B&B is a bit dated and looks slightly tired. However I must say it was clean. This place is all about the staff. The breakfast was great. As a overnight stay, great.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cagrogers
Sandra N, Manager at The Sandringham Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you , Your valued comments have been duly noted and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Please visit us again really soon .

Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Reviewed 19 December 2016

My daughter and I were warmly welcomed. The room was clean and the chocolate on the pillow was a lovely surprise. We arrived late at night and so being able to have a cup of tea (biscuit provided) was great. The Sandringham was conveniently located -close enough to the airport/Durban and highway. It was also easy to find! Our only...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank karengD2444XM
Mike G, Owner at The Sandringham Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

We're sorry about the disturbance caused by the t v in the next door room but very pleased that you enjoyed the rest of your stay with us . Thank you for your really nice review and your valued comments which have been noted . Our best wishes and Regards, All of us here at The Sandringham.

Gothenburg, Sweden
Reviewed 4 December 2016

The manageress was very helpful in arranging pickups and other stuff. Good breakfast and lovely view. Our room had safe, AC , fridge and a bathroom with huge bathtube. Safe parking -if some-what - cramped.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mikael R
Sandra N, Manager at The Sandringham Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you so much , we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope we have the pleasure to be of service to you again in the very near future . Best Regards, Sandra , Mike and All Of Us in THE SANDRINGHAM TEAM :😃

Reviewed 17 November 2016

A great place to stay, friendly staff and very clean rooms. Breakfast is great and parking is adequate and safe. Nice pool for a quick swim and a quiet part of Umhlanga Rocks away from the freeway. Worth it!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John K
Sandra N, Owner at The Sandringham Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you so much 😊. We are really very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us , it is what we strive for and this makes it all worthwhile. Please visit us again really soon . Our very best Regards, Mike and the Sandringham Team .

Ladysmith, South Africa
Reviewed 31 October 2016

Accomodation fine BUT Umhlanga is so built up and congested- what a terrible choice for a weekend with my wife. Traffic jams all over and when we finally got to the beach, signs said it was unsafe to swim ! The guesthouse is surrounded by ' New Money' people, who have too much of it but no class for tasteful...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 919shanef
Mike G, Owner at The Sandringham Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

So sorry you did not enjoy your stay in Umhlanga but we are really pleased that your accommodation was to your satisfaction.

Benoni
Reviewed 31 October 2016

For a brief stop it was clean and neat. I did expect a balcony/patio however my room was located downstairs and I didn't have that bit of privacy. Good standard, good service and pleasant breakfast. Parking is a very awkward though, hardly enough for all guests and then you have to park in a tight spot or behind someone.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank pearl418
Mike G, Owner at The Sandringham Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Unfortunatly not all our rooms have balconies or private patios but hopefully you were able to enjoy the use of either our large upstairs deck overlooking the ocean and the ships in the bay , or our covered and very tranquil downstairs patio , overlooking our sparkling pool. Although we must admit to our parking facilities being slightly congested, all...

9 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.9 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban ...
#10 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
248 reviews
0.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
0.8 km away
AHA Gateway Hotel
AHA Gateway Hotel
#7 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Coastlands Umhlanga
Coastlands Umhlanga
#9 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
285 reviews
1.6 km away
The Square Boutique Hotel & Spa
The Square Boutique Hotel & Spa
#14 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
193 reviews
1.2 km away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We have ten luxury bedrooms all en-suite and fitted with fully ducted air-conditioning. Our rooms are serviced daily and are equipped with D.S.TV, tea & coffee facilities, room fridge, room safe, hairdryer, radio/alarm clock, internal intercom and free Wi-Fi connection. Laundry service and airport shuttle are also available on request.Other features include a spacious dining room and a shady covered patio, where you are served a full English breakfast as well as a selection of cheese, biscuits, pastries and croissants, a selection of tea's and fresh filter coffee. We have an upstairs sundeck, honesty bar and fridge, a sparkling pool, a home theatre system with an extra-large screen in an exclusive viewing lounge as well as ample and secure off street parking. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Sandringham Bed & Breakfast

Address: 8 Sandringham Court, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range: RM310 - RM576 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sandringham Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your The Sandringham Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Sandringham Bed & Breakfast staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“They are all good rooms”
 of 5 bubbles G3445DTsuet, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms are amazing.”
 of 5 bubbles Lebo_Lechela, 23 Nov 2015 | Read review
“check if bathroom has bath or shower only”
 of 5 bubbles goldy61, 14 Nov 2015 | Read review
“Definately ask for a room with a view, or a quiet corner room if you prefer peace and quiet”
 of 5 bubbles sheilab849, 27 May 2015 | Read review
“Only rooms worth considering are upstairs on first floor.”
 of 5 bubbles zambezi2, 3 Apr 2015 | Read review
5 of 5