We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Gateway Country Lodge

Hotwire.comUS$66*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$71*
US$66*
Great Deal
US$68*
US$71*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Gateway Country Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

115 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 109: English reviews
Start your review of Gateway Country Lodge
 Click to rate
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Perfect Getaway and home-base from which to conduct our honeymoon. The people were eager to make our stay memorable. They decorated our room with champagne and flower-petals, after I let them know that they will be the first stop on our honeymoon.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 59louist
InaReq, Owner at Gateway Country Lodge, responded to this review

We are happy you felt special. We at Gateway Country Lodge hope you have a wonderful fulfilling life together.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Everything from the check in, to the rooms, to the food were absolutely fantastic. There was no bad point to the stay. We will definitely be making us of the establishment again on our next trip to Durban.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 914sethb
InaReq, Owner at Gateway Country Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind response, we realy appreciate it when we get our service right.

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a lovely experience at Gateway Country Lodge. On arrival, we got upgraded at no extra charge. Owners were extremely hospitable and friendly. Food was wonderful! We will recommend them to anyone. Thank you for making our holiday so much more memorable and comfortable, especially with a 2-year-old!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank monefranz
InaReq, Owner at Gateway Country Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind review. We are happy that you felt comfortable and at home at our Bed and Breakfast. We are looking forward to your next visit to Umhlanga Rocks.

Paulpietersburg, South Africa
Reviewed 13 April 2017

We had a hospital appointment , the location was 5 minutes drive we were happy about this We enjoyed the Honesty bar and the beautiful garden which surrounds the property , I think that the swimming pool would be a winner should you bring children along

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank K1180QHandrer
InaReq, Owner at Gateway Country Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind review. Looking forward to your next visit to Umhlanga Rocks.

Paarl, South Africa
Reviewed 4 April 2017

I stayed for three night is this establishment with my wife and daughter. The lodge is very conveniently located vis-à-vis the airport and business centre of Umhlanga. It is around 25 minutes from the airport. On arrival we were met by a friendly staff member who showed us our room. The ground floor rooms and beautifully set amongst a beautiful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 471andrev
InaReq, Owner at Gateway Country Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for the kind review and we are happy that you felt at home with us. We are looking forward to your next visit.

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 4 April 2017

Very nice locate and nice place to stay at and meets the basic needs. Definitely will live there again as the location is perfect and accessible in the area to all parts of town by car or by foot. I will recommend this place.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank shaynedarianh
InaReq, Owner at Gateway Country Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind review. We strive to make you feel at home in Umhlanga. We are looking forward to your next visit.

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 30 March 2017

I have stayed at this Lodge many times and the entire experience has always been fantastic!! Friendly people delivering exceptional service!! The location is perfect as it is close to all the Gateway Mall and the International Airport.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 570bertramp
InaReq, Manager at Gateway Country Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind review. We are always happy to accommodate you. We are looking forward to your next visit.

Pretoria
Reviewed 18 March 2017

The rooms are very dated and stuffy. The airconditioner was not working. The is no lounging area and access to the dining room was locked after 8pm. Only the breakfast was good. This guesthouse needs an upgrade.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 2lindin
InaReq, Owner at Gateway Country Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are sorry that you did not enjoy the old fashioned farm ambiance that we are trying to portray. We checked the aircon in your room and it is working properly; please call us the next time you have a problem and we will try to solve it for you while you are still here....

UK
Reviewed 1 March 2017

We arrived on a late night flight but were made welcome by the staff. Taxi driver had problems finding the house as it is a very quiet location but got there in the end. Hosts most hospitable & helpful. Recommend the omelette for breakfast.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 63viviennew
InaReq, Owner at Gateway Country Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for the kind review. We do however have comprehensive map and directions on our website. This can be printed or viewed on a phone if needed. Looking forward to your next visit to Umhlanga Rocks.

Alberton
Reviewed 27 February 2017

Hubby and I booked into Gateway Country Lodge at =/- midnight, after our plane was delayed 3 times. Ina was waiting for us on our arrival, very friendly warm welcome, you really feel very special when you are there, home away from home. Lindsay who helped out when Ina and Eugene went away for the weekend was extremely helpful and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Georgeous010
InaReq, Owner at Gateway Country Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for the kind review. We are happy that you had a pleasant stay and look forward to your next visit to Umhlanga Rocks.

43 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
2.3 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban ...
#11 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
264 reviews
1.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
1.6 km away
Road Lodge Umhlanga
Road Lodge Umhlanga
#16 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Aha Royal Palm
Aha Royal Palm
#10 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
253 reviews
2.6 km away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,728 reviews
1.5 km away
City Lodge Hotel Umhlanga Ridge
City Lodge Hotel Umhlanga Ridge
#12 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Gateway Country Lodge is a homely up market guesthouse in Umhlanga Rocks with a feeling of country living while conveniently situated minutes away from the Gateway Theatre Of Shopping, Umhlanga Ridge office park and Umhlanga's world renowned swimming beaches. Our Bed and Breakfast is nestled within two acres of beautiful and tranquil garden with an abundance of bird life and butterflies. All rooms are en-suite and comfortable with quality percale bedding. We have a variety of rooms offering private entrances with verandas. We are more secluded than the Durban hotels and therefore have the benefit of peace and quiet after a long day at the beach or in the office. Some of our most attractive features are our beautiful garden setting, our ample secure parking, comfortable rooms, televisions in each room and a swimming pool. We also have a guest lounge with an honesty bar for your relaxation and a wireless hot spot for internet access. Gateway Country Lodge B&B is owner-run by Ina and Eugene and is ideally suited for discerning business and leisure travelers who can look forward to a warm welcome, superb hospitality and a home away from home. Our accommodation is within easy driving distance from The Durban ICC, multiple sports stadiums, golden beaches, King Shaka airport, Sun Coast and Sibaya Casino, Craft Markets, and UShaka Marine World. We are also well situated en route to St Lucia, Hluhluwe and Umfolosi Game Reserves and is in the province of Kwazulu Natal, South Africa. Gateway Country Lodge - the jewel of Umhlanga and Umhlanga Rocks' best kept secret. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Gateway Country Lodge

Address: 3 Woodland Close | Prestondale, Umhlanga Rocks 4021, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range: RM263 - RM421 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gateway Country Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Gateway Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Gateway Country Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I would say all the rooms are good, we had the second room from the dining area, very nice.”
Georgeous010, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are great”
rhynosmall, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Great family self catering apartment at the back of the BnB”
stevebO6012PS, 18 Jan 2016 | Read review
“My 3 stars is only because we had the room next to the breakfast area. Otherwise it would have got 5 stars from me.”
frigilianafreddy666, 17 Mar 2015 | Read review
“Room 9 was great for my family. Children in 1 room and the adults in another.”
stevebO6012PS, 20 Jan 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotwire.com
US$66* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUS$68
Booking.comUS$71
PricelineUS$71
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates