We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Kingston House B&B

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Kingston House B&B
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

65 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 53: English reviews
Start your review of Kingston House B&B
 Click to rate
Benoni, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

The B&B is well located, very comfortable and friendly host! Excellent breakfast and great view of surrounds and the sea from the balcony. The staff were very helpful in assisting with arrangements to courier shirts which we left behind!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank W2341DBanner
Kingstonclose, Owner at Kingston House B&B, responded to this review

It was our pleasure to host you. Glad that you finally got the shirts.

Tzaneen, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The lady who was the host, came out multiple times bare feet and it looked like she just woke up. She might have been sick but then she should have asked any of the staff to take care of the clients. I thought it was very unprofessional and I did not feel welcome at all. Maybe it was just a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JuanWinter
Kingstonclose, Owner at Kingston House B&B, responded to this review

I am really sorry that you had that experience. We try very hard to make our guests feel welcome and at "home". The experience you had definitely would not have helped in that regard. The person you are talking about was in fact very ill, and should have left it to the staff as you suggest. Her nature however is...

Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 February 2017

Having been to the area a few weeks before and stayed in a hotel I really wanted something with a nicer vibe. The owners are lovely and go the extra mile. It's a very short cab ride from restaurants and there are perks hotels don't provide (midnight swim in the pool, a drink from the bar after 10pm). Quiet, relaxing...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank _spsharp33
Kingstonclose, Owner at Kingston House B&B, responded to this review

Thank you. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 25 January 2017

My home away from home, I have been staying here on business trips for a few years now. Thank you for your hospitality Howard. I can and do always refer both frieds and associates to your establishment.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank christiaanvaughnh
Kingstonclose, Owner at Kingston House B&B, responded to this review

Hi Vaughn, Thank you. We also always enjoy your visits. Thank you for staying with us.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 December 2016

I had initially been booked into a chain hotel in Umhlanga Ridge which left me cold and I moved out to this B and B. It was a lovely stay. I was on business. Ut felt so relaxed amd looked after. Thanks very much to Michelle and Howard.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 627garethw
Kingstonclose, Owner at Kingston House B&B, responded to this review

Thanks so much Gareth. It was a pleasure to host you. See you on your next visit.

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 4 November 2016

Kingston House was so cute. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Howard and the team were so friendly and accommodated our needs where necessary. We would definitely recommend Kingston House B&B to our friends and family.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 223karlh
Kingstonclose, Owner at Kingston House B&B, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. We hope to see you again. I am really sorry for the slow response.

Reviewed 6 October 2016 via mobile

Had a very cosy two night stay at Kingston BnB. Very memorable experience. Great location within a walking distance to Umhlanga Rocks Beach and all the shops and entertainment. The host and hostess made sure my every need was met and would be right there standing ready to make your stay as pleasant as ever . Made sure I was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Masikati
Kingstonclose, Owner at Kingston House B&B, responded to this review

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Zagreb, Croatia
Reviewed 27 September 2016

The B and B was in a very upmarket, quiet neighbourhood. The rooms were very tastefully furnished and the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good and fresh fruits were served. Nice walk up the beaches and coastal forest as well as shopping centre. Public transport was not great. Best if you have a car. I would certainly...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank EL6064
Kingstonclose, Owner at Kingston House B&B, responded to this review

Thank you so much. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 20 July 2016

Kingston House is situated just over the M4 from the Umhlanga Beach. It was a cosy, comfortable and clinically clean place, run by a warm host, Howard, his family and friendly and accommodating staff. My little nieces and I stayed in 3 single beds in a King Suite and we felt like roommates😄. I booked at very short notice and...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alicia2374
Midrand
Reviewed 10 July 2016

we enjoyed our stay at this ovely B&B. The service was amazing and the hospitality was beyond measure. the food was amazing as well. The location of the property is close to many ammenities in and around Umhlanga.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank millicentmarogam
Kingstonclose, Owner at Kingston House B&B, responded to this review

We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you very much for the kind review.

28 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (18)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.6 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban ...
#12 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
254 reviews
0.8 km away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,692 reviews
0.7 km away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
1.6 km away
Teremok Marine
Teremok Marine
#1 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
343 reviews
0.4 km away
Manaar House
Manaar House
#2 of 43 in Umhlanga Rocks
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Relax and enjoy luxury, comfort and the warmest hospitality at our 4 Star "home from home" in the heart of Umhlanga Rocks. We have 7 beautifully appointed en-suite, air conditioned rooms, TV Lounge and Pub, Poolside Gazebo with Entertainment area, sun deck with lovely sea views and much more. Scrumptious breakfasts are served by your hosts and dinner is provided on request. Try us - we'd love to have you stay. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kingston House B&B

Address: 2 Kingston Close, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range: RM403 - RM503 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kingston House B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kingston House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Kingston House B&B staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Definitely the Serengeti room”
287priyenp, 22 Mar 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms are good”
patrickp680, 21 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Garden room was great”
DeborahAremband, 28 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Any room is will do.”
MorneBritz, 9 Jul 2015 | Read review
“our room with the jacuzzi was good and the garden one as well”
948karineb, 3 Feb 2014 | Read review
5 of 5