We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Garden Court Umhlanga

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Garden Court Umhlanga
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

573 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Garden Court Umhlanga
See the most recent reviews
Showing 566: English reviews
Bilthoven
Reviewed 1 week ago

I have stayed many times in this hotel and will certainly return.The location of the hotel is quiet and the rooms are comfortable. Being in this hotel is feeling home from home. The organisation Tsogo Sun is my favorite hotel group in South Africa.

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bartfuij
grdncrtmill, Manager at Garden Court Umhlanga, responded to this review

Dear Bartfuij, Thank you very much for communicating your thoughts with us via the tripadvisor website after your recent stay at the Garden Court in Umhlanga Rocks. We do welcome your feedback and value the ongoing support which you have shown our hotel and for supporting our quality assessment programme in the past. I am happy to see that you...

Kempton Park, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a great stay, although there were a few areas of concern, such as: Hotel requires more facilities to accommodate young children, as a mere sand pit, will never be sufficient enough to stimulate young minds, for those days, when the parents just feel like taking it easy at the hotel for 1 or 2 days. Daytime / snack...

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank T3590GZericn
grdncrtmill, Manager at Garden Court Umhlanga, responded to this review

Dear T3590GZericn, Thank you very much for passing your thoughts on to us via the tripadvisor website after your recent stay at the Garden Court in Umhlanga Rocks. We do welcome your feedback and value your patronage. I have taken note of your concerns and I will share them with the relevant people. Should I be able to assisst you...

Nongoma, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

should have more variety to choose from during breakfast , the rooms should be cleaned earlier because some people check in earlier so that they can relax because some people come from far and they will need their room earlier than expected.

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank nondumisozamazuluz
grdncrtmill, Manager at Garden Court Umhlanga, responded to this review

Dear nondumisozamazuluz, Thank you very much for taking advantage of the tripadvisor website in order to communicate your thoughts with us after your recent stay at the Garden Court in Umhlanga Rocks. We appreciate your feedback and we remain grateful for your much valued patronage. I have taken note of your comments and I will make a point of conveying...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Excellent visit, once again. Superb value for money. Rooms and general hotel facilities are excellent. Dining buffet and breakfasts are great. Well worth the stop over. Was as hot as hell in Durban, room air-conditioning changed that quickly. Thanks to all.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CraigEdmondson
grdncrtmill, Manager at Garden Court Umhlanga, responded to this review

Dear CraigEdmomdson, Thank you very much for taking the time and trouble to pass your thoughts on to us via the tripadvsor websire after your recent stay at the Garden Court in Umhlanga Rocks. We do welcome your feedback and value your patronage and support for our hotel. I am happy to see that you had a succesful stay with...

Pretoria
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Rooms are big enough and welcoming. There is also a room were you can exercises or do workout as individual or family. The hotel food (dinner and breakfast) is mouth watering and I would not do mistake to visit again and again. The hotel is not far away from the beautiful ocean and the big mall called Gateway theatre of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JSDirane
grdncrtmill, Manager at Garden Court Umhlanga, responded to this review

Dear JSDirane, Thank you very much for taking the time and effort to complete to evaluate the Garden Court Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks on the tripadvisor website. We do appreciate your feedback and value your custom. I am happy to see that you had time to shop around and experience the local attractions and that you found our hotel to...

Dudley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

the impressive hotel frontage does not match the small but well decorated rooms slightly better than a premier inn. staff are attentive and friendly, food is of a fair quality ,has underground parking, but why is the pool in the large central atrium wonder why I never saw it used in 3 days ? (wrong place to have any privacy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mdevans
grdncrtmill, Manager at Garden Court Umhlanga, responded to this review

Dear mdevans, Thank you very much for posting the details of your recent stay at the Garden Court Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks on the tripadvisor website. We do appreciate your feedback and value your custom. I am sorry to see that the oise from outside of the property disturbed you and failed to add to the comfort of your stay....

Pretoria
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The location , accommodation and service was very good and of high standard and I enjoyed my stay. The staff of the hotel were helpful and friendly. I will definitely recommend the hotel to my family and friends

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank mbulungenim
grdncrtmill, Manager at Garden Court Umhlanga, responded to this review

Dear mbulungenim, Thank you very much for taking advantage of the tripadvisor website and posting the details of your recent stay at the Garden Court Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks. We do value your patronage and welcome your feedback. I am happy to see that you did have succesful stay with us and that you found our hotel to be suitable...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 14 February 2017 via mobile

Had the pleasure of visiting Umhlanga this past weekend as my daughter was swimming Midmar. The hotel was perfect. We found it clean and beautifully maintained. The staff were attentive and accommodating to our requests and breakfast was awesome. The hotel is well positioned a short drive to the main beach in Umhlanga as well as just behind the Gateway...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hugo C
grdncrtmill, Manager at Garden Court Umhlanga, responded to this review

Dear Hugo C, Thank you very much for taking the time and effort to post your personal rating on the tripadvisor website after your recent stay at the Garden Court Umhlanga. We do value your patronage and as always the feedback which you hve supplied remains invaluable to us. I am happy to see that you had an enjoyable stay...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 5 February 2017

the staff at the breakfast hall was not friendly, not helpful at all I suggest they are given training on how to treat people at breakfast and they are very tired they don't even clean the tables. I suggest they must learn about the service from other hotel such as (Erlangen) where I normally stay if I am in Durban...

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank sthembisomandlenkso
MickeyRau, General Manager at Garden Court Umhlanga, responded to this review

Dear sthembisomandlenkso Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel after your recent stay and providing us with valuable feedback. I am very disappointed to see that we did not meet your expectations especially on the food and beverage front. Please be assured that we will work on this and ensure improvement in our service delivery in our...

Johannesburg
Reviewed 1 February 2017

Everything was great except the service at the front desk when i first arrived at the hotel. Front desk staff not very friendly and their willingness to help was limited. Not a very good start when arriving at the hotel. Other than that; it was great Thank you!!!

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 631kareni
MickeyRau, General Manager at Garden Court Umhlanga, responded to this review

Dear Karen Israel Thank you very much for your feedback, I am pleased to see that after the not so great first interaction with receptions, you did manage to have an overall good stay with us, your comments are noted and the feedback will be shared with the Front Office team. Once again thank you for the feedback and we...

85 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (68)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
1.3 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban ...
#10 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
248 reviews
0.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
1.7 km away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
958 reviews
0.2 km away
Protea Hotel By Marriott Durban Umhlanga Ridge
Protea Hotel By Marriott Durban ...
#13 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
294 reviews
1.6 km away
Teremok Marine
Teremok Marine
#1 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A contemporary interior design of fusing water features. The colours and textures of natural reed, sets the mood of the newly opened Garden Court uMhlanga. This hotel is ideally situated in uMhlanga Rocks. Within close proximity to the Gateway Shopping Centre and popular uMhlanga beaches. The hotel offers spacious guest areas with business and internet facilities to cater for business travelers.The hotel boasts a lush courtyard that offers guests a heated pool with a play-ledge for young children to enjoy. The gym facility on the 5th floor will ensure that health fanatics are also catered for. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Garden Court Umhlanga

Address: 7 Aurora Drive, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range: RM474 - RM642 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden Court Umhlanga 3*
Number of rooms: 204
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#4 Business Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#6 Family Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Garden Court Umhlanga staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Derby, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Garden Court Umhlanga staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose a room close to exits as its quiet and less noise”
 of 5 bubbles 363earlp, 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Higher floors are best”
 of 5 bubbles Alison_R_Travel_Mad, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“dont think you can unless you get an inner room”
 of 5 bubbles mdevans, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms that are larger are sea facing but are more expensive. Higher rooms quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles lesleyannw2017, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We stayed in room 504 which has a view on the pool area and is much quieter when groups are staying at the hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles Martie1S, 15 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5