We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Traveller (1325)
Room & Suite (200)
Dining (150)
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
Overview
  • Excellent88%
  • Very good8%
  • Average2%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“curry buffet”(215 reviews)
“the grill”(185 reviews)
“lighthouse bar”(120 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Air Conditioning
Beachfront
Pool
Non-Smoking Hotel
5 Star Hotel
All hotel details
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (2,072)
There are newer reviews for The Oyster Box
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
1,965 results
Traveller rating
1,747
156
41
16
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
1,747
156
41
16
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscurry buffetthe grilllighthouse barhigh teaoysterswayne coetzerocean terrace restaurantoyster barresident catgarden villaattention to detailour waitersea facing roomcolonial styleindian oceanbucket listtreated like royalty
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
241 - 245 of 1,965 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2017

My wife and I spent four wonderful nights at the Oyster Box Hotel. From the minute we walked in to the reception we felt like royalty. The staff were amazing, professional, helpful and made us feel very welocme and comfortable. We had complimentary afternoon tea,...More

Thank Seanthesheep
Response from OBumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster BoxResponded 17 August 2017

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your 4-night stay with us at The Oyster Box to celebrate your 30th Wedding Anniversary. I am absolutely thrilled to hear that you found all aspects of the hotel to your liking...More

Reviewed 15 August 2017

Stayed there on the 10th of August 2017, Reception area atmosphere is totally unwelcoming!, its like take a number and wait!, ground floor too noisy, Decoration too complicated, bad smell near the breakfast area, rooms are match box size although we had a lighthouse facing...More

Thank ZENVIE
Response from OBumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster BoxResponded 22 August 2017

Dear Mr Ihsan Abuhgazalah Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am sorry you were unhappy with the rate you were charged to stay at the Hotel. We have a number of large suites with wonderful private gardens and plunge pools...More

Reviewed 14 August 2017

Absolutely fabulous! The food, décor and welcoming staff really made it a birthday to remember! There really is nothing that could have been done any better! Thank you so much Oyster Box! We will be back!More

Thank Jennay1980
Response from OBumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster BoxResponded 15 August 2017

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your visit to The Oyster Box. I am delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your birthday celebration which will hold unforgettable memories for you. I am very proud that the staff...More

Reviewed 13 August 2017 via mobile

This is my fifth stay at this wonderful hotel. From the moment they collect you at the airport to the minute you leave with a nougat treat they cannot do enough for you . The service is outstanding . The garden facing rooms are well...More

Thank claire w
Response from OBumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster BoxResponded 14 August 2017

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your stay with us at The Oyster Box. As a returning and much-valued guest, I am thrilled to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your luxurious Superior Garden Villa with private plunge pool...More

Reviewed 13 August 2017 via mobile

For my partners 50th Birthday, he wanted to escape from the hustle and bustle and enjoy a quiet weekend away. As a surprise, our friends flew in for the weekend and we all stayed at the wonderful Oyster Box hotel. There was not enough that...More

Thank Mshooti
Response from OBumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster BoxResponded 14 August 2017

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your weekend stay with us at The Oyster Box to celebrate your partner's special 50th birthday. As returning and much-valued guests, your feedback is most important to us and I am therefore...More

View more reviews
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
About
Awards & Recognition
Travellers' Choice2018 Winner
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Pool
Beachfront
Room Service
Restaurant
Spa
Breakfast included
Bar/Lounge
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Business Centre with Internet Access
Room Service
Breakfast included
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Shuttle Bus Service
Airport Transportation
Dry Cleaning
Meeting Rooms
Laundry Service
Concierge
Banquet Room
Multilingual Staff
Conference Facilities
Babysitting
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Minibar
Things to do
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Pool
Restaurant
Spa
Bar/Lounge
Hot Tub
Heated pool
Outdoor pool
Details
Price range
US$338 - US$1,050 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#1 Spa Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#1 Family Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#1 Luxury Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 Romantic Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 Business Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
US$338 - US$1,050 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#1 Spa Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#1 Family Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#1 Luxury Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 Romantic Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 Business Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (1325)
Room & Suite (200)
Dining (150)
Pool & Beach (101)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (5)
Family and Play Areas (2)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
krinelle
13 November 2017|
Answer
Response from OBumhlangaRocks | Property representative |
Dear Future Guest, Unfortunately The Ocean Terrace and The Grill Room Restaurants are not Halaal. Kind regards, Wayne Coetzer General Manager
0
Votes
Suzanne L
8 November 2017|
AnswerShow all 13 answers
Response from OBumhlangaRocks | Property representative |
Dear Future Guest, Absolutely! We definitely cater for families. The hotel is situated right on the beach and we offer an in-house Cinema for residing guests and two swimming pools, one sea facing and a garden pool... More
0
Votes
14 September 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from OBumhlangaRocks | Property representative |
Dear Future Guest, Thank you for your enquiry. We do offer a selection of items which are Gluten Free. However, please specify you are allergic to gluten when making your booking with restaurant reservations as each outlet... More
1
Vote
Room Tips
"Sea view always best"
Read review
"Choose a room with a sea view on either the second or third floors - room 307 is great"
Read review
"Ocean view rooms are luxurious"
Read review
"Rooms with the sea view are beautiful, but ask for a room away from the lift areas - as they are quieter."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing