We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
29/10/2017 30/10/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Fairy Knowe Backpackers Lodge

    Dumbleton Road, Wilderness, South Africa
    Save
    Lowest prices for your stay
    29/10/2017 30/10/2017
    Traveller (36)
    Room & Suite (7)
    Dining (1)
    Overview
    • Excellent43%
    • Very good30%
    • Average11%
    • Poor7%
    • Terrible9%
    Travellers talk about
    “fairy knowe” (19 reviews)
    “remote place” (3 reviews)
    Free Internet
    Free Parking
    Bar/Lounge
    Kitchenette
    Restaurant
    All hotel details
    Deals
    29 Oct30 Oct
    |
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    • Check booking site for details
      US$24
      View Deal
    View all 7 deals
    Write a Review
    Reviews (166)
    There are newer reviews for Fairy Knowe Backpackers Lodge
    See the most recent reviews
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language

    21 - 25 of 135 reviews

    Reviewed 7 March 2017

    We spent three nights at this wonderful place. Our kajak paddle and following hike to the waterfall was incredible - you see it all from a different perspective. Home cooked dinners were enjoyed outdoors with candlelight and many interesting discussions were had. The garden provided...More

    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    Thank Lars J
    Response from Didi T, Manager at Fairy Knowe Backpackers LodgeResponded 9 March 2017

    I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay! It was lovely having your family here with us. Warm Wilderness regards Didi

    Reviewed 7 March 2017

    Loved the piece & quiet camping under the trees. Wi-Fi, high five! Had drinks at the outdoor bar before hitting the town. Restaurants & shops just a couple of minutes away. The next day had breakfast under the trees before starting of on the King...More

    Thank Bubba D
    Reviewed 5 March 2017

    Interesting place...we stayed in a double bedroom a little further up a hill than the main living area. The weather wasn't kind to us, but the place had a nice bar area and pool table. Room was pretty basic, but the accommodation was cheap. Over...More

    Thank Ryan T
    Response from Didi T, Manager at Fairy Knowe Backpackers LodgeResponded 7 March 2017

    Thank you for your feedback! Unfortunately, as with any family, arguments do happen once in a blue moon.

    Reviewed 20 February 2017

    The kitchen and bathrooms are filthy. Even though it says everyone should clean up, its really dirty. The carpet in the room was wet. No cupboards, or fan. Only stayed there the first night and then went and slept at another place.More

    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    1  Thank 377sharona
    Response from Didi T, Manager at Fairy Knowe Backpackers LodgeResponded 23 February 2017

    Dear Sharona I am so terribly sorry about your experience! I wish you would have told one of the staff about the wet carpet, as we still do not know which room you were in. As far as the bathrooms and kitchen goes, the housekeeping...More

    Reviewed 19 February 2017

    The place is in a verynice area in the garden route surrounded by vegetation and close to the lakes, even though it is not right next the to the village (we had a car). The bar is an interesting place where locals hang out and...More

    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    Thank Z2160FEcristinaa
    Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
    522 reviews
    #1 of 5 hotels in Wilderness
     
    Premier Resort The Moorings (Knysna)
    354 reviews
    #11 of 30 hotels in Knysna
     
    Wilderness Beach Hotel
    172 reviews
    #5 of 5 hotels in Wilderness
     
    The Wilderness Hotel
    686 reviews
    #3 of 5 hotels in Wilderness
     
    About
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Free Internet
    • Free Parking
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Things to do
    • Bar/Lounge
    Details
    • Price range
    • US$10 - US$39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Room types
    • Kitchenette
    • Number of rooms
    • 12
    • Reservation Options
    • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Fairy Knowe Backpackers Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
    • Location
    • South Africa >
    • Western Cape >
    • Wilderness
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (36)
    Room & Suite (7)
    Dining (1)
    Hotel & Grounds (39)
    Family and Play Areas (2)
    Bathroom (1)
    Nearby
    Premier Resort The Moorings (Knysna)
    354 reviews
    43.73 km away
     
    Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
    522 reviews
    2.42 km away
     
    Wilderness Beach Hotel
    172 reviews
    1.48 km away
     
    The Wilderness Hotel
    686 reviews
    2.14 km away
     
    Nearby Restaurants
    Serendipity Restaurant
    577 reviews
    .69 km away
    Joplins Steak Bar
    426 reviews
    .61 km away
    The Girl`s Restaurant
    1,458 reviews
    2.34 km away
    Flava Cafe & restaurant
    1,109 reviews
    2.31 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Harkerville Mountain Bike Trails
    32 reviews
    1.47 km away
    Wilderness National Park
    341 reviews
    .90 km away
    Wilderness Lagoon
    115 reviews
    1.07 km away
    Half Collared Kingfisher Trail
    37 reviews
    .07 km away
    Questions & Answers
    Get quick answers from Fairy Knowe Backpackers Lodge staff and past guests.
    Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
    Posting guidelines
    Submit
    Room Tips
    "Stay in a private room with ensuite - little thatched chalet huts"
    Read review
    "The en suite roops are great"
    Read review
    "Stay away!"
    Read review
    "Definitely upstairs in the old house."
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing