We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hilltop Country Lodge

04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Hilltop Country Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

42 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 29: English reviews
Start your review of Hilltop Country Lodge
 Click to rate
Frankfurt, Germany
Reviewed 2 April 2017

very well located surrounded by a park-like garden with a fantastic view over the ocean. very good breakfast on a beautiful terrace overlooking garden and ocean. We could not have found better hosts than Family Shoemaker.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank peterchu2017
New Forest, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 March 2017

What a position! All that you could wish for for a few days stay. Very comfortable accommodation and fantastic breakfast every morning. Hennie was the perfect host and lovely to talk to. Around the area are great restaurants in Wilderness and a lovely beach and cafe down in Victoria Bay. Also some good walks. Certainly a very enjoyable stay

 Report
Helpful?
Thank erikagraves47
Alicante, Spain
Reviewed 23 February 2017

We spent a wonderful fortnight at Hilltop - it truly is a stunning place with magnificent views. The owners are attentive, helpful and are delightful company. Yes, it is slightly quirky - you are staying in someone's home, with all that that entails. So, if for instance you are not happy with eating your breakfast while four monkeys watch you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David R
Woodbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 February 2017

What a beautiful place to stay for our last few days in South Africa. I'm sat on our balcony overlooking Wilderness Bay and we really don't want to leave. The grounds are stunning with beautiful birds serenading us and Mr Quail and his family parading around - its paradise. Perfectly placed for Victoria Bay, (great for body boarding), George and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christine Q
Solihull, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 January 2017

We booked for four nights in January 2017 and extended for a further two as we felt so comfortable here. Originally built 19 years ago and run ever since by Hennie & Magda Schoeman the Hilltop is a gem of a place. Every part, whether interior or exterior, is beautifully maintained and presented and Hennie, who is well travelled and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AdrianB144
Reviewed 31 December 2016 via mobile

If you are looking for peace tranquility and 1st class service then this is the place,the owners simply cannot do enough for you, lovely clean rooms with comfy beds tea and coffee facilities plus amazing views over Wilderness beach, continental breakfast served which is more than ample to set you off for the day relaxing by the pool or hire...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Debbie W
Stokke
Reviewed 28 December 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights late October - fantastic room, stunning view, and the best breakfast we've had for years. The landlords and their staff was very Nice and helpful. Highly recommended - we'll be back!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Liv V
Reviewed 1 December 2016 via mobile

Great stay at Hilltop, while on second honeymoon!! The 270 degree view from the house is stunning, 800 ft up looking over Wilderness, the mountains and the sea. Beautiful guest house and garden and pool. Very attractive bedroom. Nature trail down through the bush below the house leads to further views. Very well looked after by the host Heny.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Henry B
Magda S, Owner at Hilltop Country Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your response. We really enjoyed having you as guest and come back for another anniversary! Regards Magda

Reviewed 1 December 2016 via mobile

I do no often write reviews however I received very inflexible, unfriendly service from the lodges managers/owners while traveling on business, I can easily say they ruined the experience for myself and they do not deserve near a 4 star status. From most reviews you will see the main compliment is the location and views with "nice management" however the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank D305WNthomasc
Magda S, Owner at Hilltop Country Lodge, responded to this review

Mrs Choice, We are sorry that you found our guest house so unsatisfactory. We only have two family rooms and the ons was booked for guest arriving after you very long ago. So you never had an option of interleading door rooms. The other room was already prepared for the guests who booked the room. You booked one family room...

Camps Bay, South Africa
Reviewed 30 November 2016

Where do I start with my awful experience at Hilltop 4 Star Country Lodge.... The setting is magnificent with the most amazing view with friendly staff but that is precisely where it stops. The owners have a terrible attitude. I travelled with my twins who are two and a half, adopted and black and my Au Pair. We are frequent...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank MarvBlonde
Magda S, Owner at Hilltop Country Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Mrs Choice, We are sorry that you found our guesthouse so unsatisfactory. We only have two family rooms and one was booked for guests arriving the day after you VERY long ago. So there was never an option of interleading rooms. The other room was already prepared for the guests who booked the room. You booked one family room...

15 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
2.5 km away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
2.2 km away
The Wilderness Hotel
The Wilderness Hotel
#3 of 5 in Wilderness
632 reviews
1.5 km away
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
#2 of 5 in Wilderness
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Wilderness Manor Guest House
Wilderness Manor Guest House
#1 of 56 in Wilderness
450 reviews
3.4 km away
Lodge On The Lake & Wellness Spa
2.5 km away
On the Beach Wilderness
On the Beach Wilderness
#2 of 56 in Wilderness
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Hilltop Country Lodge

Address: PO Box 12002, Garden Route Mall, George, 6546 | Victoria Bay Heights, Wilderness, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Price Range: RM558 - RM990 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilltop Country Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hilltop Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilltop Country Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hilltop Country Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Best views”
erikagraves47, 28 Mar 2017 | Read review
“AMAZING VIEWS FROM ALL ROOMS . you must do the walk down the path to see the views”
Tinkerbell070, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are equally good, with a balcony and fantastic views.”
JoHughes65, 9 Apr 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms have superb views”
isabella1953, 14 Feb 2015 | Read review
“Our room, number 3, was cosy and comfortable. All the rooms have amazing views.”
684elizabetht, 2 Mar 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Hotwire.com
* /night
View Deal
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
Travelocity
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates