We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Fairmont Zimbali Lodge

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Fairmont Zimbali Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

362 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 320: English reviews
Start your review of Fairmont Zimbali Lodge
 Click to rate
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

We visited this hotel about 10 years ago and it was awesome so was very disappointed this time - first we had to wait about 25 mins to get checked in. Secondly we waited about half an hour for a shuttle to the beach ! Could have walked quicker! When eventually shuttle arrived we where told it's for the GM...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank W212XCdebbiec
Reviewed 1 week ago

The rooms are spacious, and have the contemporary feel. Swimming pools are amazing and have enough for guests not to be all over each other. Note the beach is not a swimming beach hence the plenty swimming pools. If you need some salty water you would have to drive out the resort to find a swimming beach which is 5-10kms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Unathi M
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a big resort. When we stayed there it was very quiet on walking round the resort we noticed that none of the villas seemed to be occupied, hardly anyone around the pool a very strange place. On checking in the staff were only interested in trying to sell you an upgrade we were ok with the room we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank eje480
Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Clients book me on in at the lodge for a business trip, for the second time. It was not my choice. It is over priced and not value for money. The rooms, hotel and setting are well planned and well decorated. It may be romantic if you are here on honeymoon and have lots of time. The downside if you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Henk007777
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Henk007777 Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are most disheartened to hear that left our Lodge feeling dissatisfied with your stay. We are sorry for the challenges you faced and we would like to reassure you that we are discussing your concerns with our team to ensure improvement moving forward. We hope...

Seattle, USA
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We decided to spend time at both Fairmont properties (Lodge and Resort). They are both excellent with the resort more suitable for families. Our fifth floor room had an excellent view, with a very comfortable bed and pillows. We ordered room service the first night after our drive down from Johannesburg and found it to be among the best meals...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mountainmann
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Mountainmann Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are delighted to hear that you were able to enjoy both of our properties. We are so ecstatic that you our views, room comfort, in-room dining and staff all left a lasting impression on you. We are happy that you found our properties to be...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our first time in Zimbali. Lodgings are pretty and luxurious. Pretty pricey though and a bit sad that 24x7 room service as in the normal room service style is not available if one wants to stay in. Had to specially request for block out curtains in the master room (but staff reacted immediately next day which was super). Overall feeling...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aluette V
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Aluette V Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. We are disheartened to hear that your stay at the Lodge did not fully meet your expectations. We are sorry for any inconvenience that you felt. Thank you for your feedback, we will discuss your comments with our team to improve moving forward. We hope...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Really a beautiful resort with breathtaking views. The staff are sullen and moody and don't greet..and be prepared to wait for everything...check-in slow and arduous. Waiting for shuttles also slow. I have stayed at other Fairmonts and the staff are never this unhelpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DawnMegens
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear DawnMegens Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. We are disheartened to hear that you left our hotel feeling dissatisfied with your stay. We are sorry to hear that the staff did not meet your expectations. This is certainly not in keeping with the Fairmont standard and we would like to reassure you that...

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 11 February 2017

This is a rather large place, and normally we wouldn't stay in one. It was fine except the staff was TOO helpful. We sometimes just want a little bit of peace and quiet, so when the door has a do no disturb sign on it, it means do not disturb. I found I had to yell at the over eager...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KarlKarl_Jacobs
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear KarlKarl_Jacobs Thank you for taking the time to share your stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your overall experience with us. We are glad to hear that our food left a lasting impression on you. We are so sorry for the disturbances you felt from our staff. Thank you for this valuable feedback. We...

Gauteng, South Africa
Reviewed 9 February 2017

the absolute best place to stay in durban! you will never say you in KZN ! the best spa ! the best views ! the pools are massive and awesome fun ! you're not allowed to swim at the beach but perhaps just dipping your toes will be enough ! the current can be very strong there! The drive as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HamzaYacoob
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear HamzaYacoob Thank you for taking the time to share your positive review with us. We are delighted to hear that you had a memorable birthday at the Fairmont Zimbali Lodge! Happy birthday from all of us at Fairmont, we are honoured that you chose to spend your special occasion with us. We are happy to hear that our spa,...

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 2 February 2017

We visited the Fairmont Zimbali Lodge December 2016 and must say I was impressed by the beauty of the place. Our spacious room overlooked the golf course . there was no noice despite the fact that the resort was fully booked. We enjoyed a complimentary breakfast every morning and then just lazed next to the pool. I must say the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rika B
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Rika B Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are ecstatic to hear that your stay at the Fairmont Zimbali Lodge in December exceeded your expectations! We are delighted that the natural beauty, room space and serenity in the busy period all left a lasting impression on you. We are happy to hear that you had a...

223 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (217)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (40)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Other (86)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballito
23.0 km away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,652 reviews
23.0 km away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
954 reviews
2.4 km away
Hampshire Hotel
Hampshire Hotel
#5 of 7 in Ballito
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.0 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban ...
#10 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
248 reviews
2.1 km away
Fairmont Zimbali Resort
1.1 km away
Zimbali View Eco Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Golf Course
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Fairmont Zimbali Lodge

Address: Zimbali Estate | Umhlali, Ballito 4390, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Ballito
Price Range: RM439 - RM930 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Zimbali Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont Zimbali Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Zimbali Hotel Ballito
Zimbali Hotel
Zimbali Lodge
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Fairmont Zimbali Lodge staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Fairmont Zimbali Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room facing the sea”
 of 5 bubbles , 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All rooms face the ocean but those on the upper floors have the bd them to have no ocean view and to be too public.”
 of 5 bubbles Mountainmann, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
“At the end of the row of rooms at the top”
 of 5 bubbles aluettev, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“ask to be left alone, or you'll be easily annoyed”
 of 5 bubbles KarlKarl_Jacobs, 10 Feb 2017 | Read review
“sea view room is a must !”
 of 5 bubbles HamzaYacoob, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5