We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Blyde River Canyon Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Blyde River Canyon Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

215 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Blyde River Canyon Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 138: English reviews
Limburg
Reviewed 31 March 2016

This a very nice lodge with an 'Old-World' charm .. shades of the colonies still hanging around. There is a very friendly family type of reception, they will do everything to make a pleasant stay .. and arrange visits/trips etc ... no chain 'hotel' feeling here. Very nicely appointed rooms .. WIFI & good TV .. decent pool. My only...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David H
Blyde, Owner at Blyde River Canyon Lodge, responded to this review

Dear David Thank you for your lovely feedback. We enjoyed having you here. We hope to see you back at some time. Kind Regards Vicky Mittan

Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewed 29 March 2016

The lodge is really close to the Blyde River Canyon as the name says, and you are also fairly close to the Kruger National park. The staff at the lodge is lovely and so sweet! And they are helpful and arranged a boat ride on the dam for us. I’m sure they also arrange lots of other activities for their...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marieke115
Blyde, Owner at Blyde River Canyon Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Marieke115 Thank you for wonderful comments. I agree, our staff are lovely and always try to make the time spent by our guests at the Blyde River Canyon Lodge special. Unfortunately when you were here there was a private wedding about 4 kms from us and the sound did travel in the quiet african night. It was beyond our...

Reviewed 20 March 2016 via mobile

I had to check out before the 2 days that we had initially booked for. let them have our money that's how bad it was, the TV was not working, no signal on cell phones,no activities to do with the kids so if you plan to go there with the kids please don't ever the only thing we were told...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Musa P
Blyde, Owner at Blyde River Canyon Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Musa It is sad to see how people want to damage business that are committed to service excellence because they do not book into the correct style of accommodation which would suit their needs. I see that you have reviewed us on Tripadvisor. When you left early I asked you for the reason. You said that you could not...

Reviewed 20 March 2016

Food was not very good at all. The only place in South Africa where we didn't like the food! No menu to choose from. Staff were very nice and accommodating. Very attentive. Some animals would wander onto the reserve which was nice to see. Room was fine. Wifi was poor, but it is the bush! You must pay to use...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sabrina G
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 15 March 2016

We recently stayed over at the Blyde River Canyon Lodge as we were attending a wedding in the area and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. While it was a short overnight stay, of the little we experienced, we were thoroughly impressed. The staff were welcoming and pleasant, the room was cosy and neat, and the farmhouse breakfast the next morning...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank India G
delhi
Reviewed 13 February 2016

We stayed at the Blyde River Hillside House about 10k away from the lodge. There were 6 of us staying very comfortably in the large well furnished house. It is self catering so need to bring your own food and drinks, but they do have spices, salt, pepper and sugar for one to use. They also have a Nespreso type...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank africanbush
Berlin, Germany
Reviewed 14 January 2016

No working WiFi, no SAT-TV, the bar is closed at half past eight and no further service. The staff there was extremly loud talking to each other, when we are lying at the pool and want to relaxe, after one hours we left the pool. I complained about the not working TV and WiFi at the receiption, but the staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jens G
Blyde, Owner at Blyde River Canyon Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Jens G Thank you for your taking the time to review Blyde River Canyon Lodge, we take constructive criticism very seriously but find that your review on Trip advisor is incorrect. To put it chronologically. I am surprised at your reaction towards the staff being loud as when you arrived you were very happy and enjoyed your interaction with...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 6 January 2016

I was taken her on a surprise engagement weekend by my now fiance. The staff were friendly from the minute we arrived and while we checked in were given a welcome drink. Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The fourposter bed had mosquito net curtains and was huge and comfy. The bathroom had a bath and a shower and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank beansy201
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 31 December 2015 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights but wish it could have been longer. The rooms at the lodge are gorgeous and the food was excellent. The setting is also lovely and very convenient for the Blyde River activities and the animal Rehab centre which is only a 10 minute drive away. The best thing though was probably the staff. Portia...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ciara M
UK
Reviewed 28 December 2015

Stayed in the 2-room cottage at the Lodge in December 15. The staff are excellent and the food was very good indeed. The place has a nice, remote feel to it and is surrounded by very nice scenery. It is a short 10 min drive into the centre of the Blyde River Canyon, which is worth the effort for its...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TheBrownTrout

206 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (194)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (72)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (40)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hoedspruit
13.4 km away
Blyde River Wilderness Lodge
Blyde River Wilderness Lodge
#28 of 99 in Hoedspruit
143 reviews
1.4 km away
umVangati House
umVangati House
#1 of 18 in Hoedspruit
171 reviews
5.1 km away
Amafu Forest Lodge
Amafu Forest Lodge
#1 of 1 in Kampersrus
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.4 km away
African Rock Lodge
African Rock Lodge
#3 of 99 in Hoedspruit
263 reviews
32.0 km away
Bushriver Lodge
Bushriver Lodge
#5 of 99 in Hoedspruit
317 reviews
22.6 km away
Shikwari Game Reserve
Shikwari Game Reserve
#43 of 99 in Hoedspruit
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Blyde River Canyon Lodge

Address: Swadini Road | Blyde River Botanical Reserve, Hoedspruit 1380, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Hoedspruit
Price Range: RM567 - RM1,241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Blyde River Canyon Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Blyde River Canyon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blyde River Canyon Hotel Limpopo Province
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Blyde River Canyon Lodge staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Blyde River Canyon Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Extra space, ask for honeymoon suite ( It is a better sized room )”
  • Bedroom
  • View from the honeymoon suite
 of 5 bubbles sassiecat2015, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Stay in Hillside House for family groups or small groups of friends”
 of 5 bubbles HappyTravelsQld, 4 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Some of the bedrooms on the web site appear larger than they actually are.”
 of 5 bubbles Jenny0053, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“See if you can get a room on the river side, the open on to greeny.”
 of 5 bubbles 173FrancisB, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
“2 bed rooms with bath and own kitchen - perfect for 4 person families”
 of 5 bubbles 908kaib, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5