We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Alpine Heath Resort

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Alpine Heath Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

424 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Alpine Heath Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 406: English reviews
Amanzimtoti, South Africa
Reviewed 17 February 2017

Overall a wonderful experience Beautirul surroundings and garden well looked after Cleaning staff very loud while walking to the chalets Waiter / Girl in training at coffee shop struggled (Had to be her first day) Compliments to the Chef!! Food were excellent!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank amandalU4911UY
AlpineHeathResort, Digital Marketing Co-ordinator at Alpine Heath Resort, responded to this review

Greetings Thank you so much for the review. We have addressed the issue of the noise level with our Housekeeping Executive and she has taken it up with the chamber maids. During your next visit you shouldn't have the same problem again as we would love to have you visit us in the near future.

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 15 February 2017

Best place to be outside the busy city life, peaceful, quiet. There is a lot to do onsite, especially for kids. service is excellent, The rooms are clean.one weekend is not enough. Lastly Thank you for adding the braai area on your chalets, makes life very easy.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank phelwanatita
AlpineHeathResort, Digital Marketing Co-ordinator at Alpine Heath Resort, responded to this review

Greetings Thank you for your valued and awesome review. We take pride in ensuring that we keep all our guests happy and we're glad we managed to keep you satisfied during your stay. We had a great pleasure hosting you and would be honored to have you back again in the near future.

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 14 February 2017

I stayed at Alpine Heath Resort for 7 nights. The place is truly phenomenal! the environment is tranquil, the establishment is clean and is out from the hustle and bustle of city life. The chalets are really nice, service from staff amazing - from the Gate!!! Lots of activities to enjoy, including horse-riding, a spa and mini-gym and many more!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Samkeliso_2016
AlpineHeathResort, Digital Marketing Co-ordinator at Alpine Heath Resort, responded to this review

This is an amazing review. Thank you so much, your kind words warm our hearts and make us want to excel and do so much for our valued guests such as yourself. We thank you for visiting us and really hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 14 February 2017 via mobile

Alpine heath, awesome place to unwind in natural surroundings. Kids are kept occupied with activities planned and wi5h a staff member like Victor there is never a dull moment. Was great to hear that the resort is being refurbished. I will be back!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Riaz R
AlpineHeathResort, Digital Marketing Co-ordinator at Alpine Heath Resort, responded to this review

Hope you're having a great day. Thank you so much fort he awesome review. It was an absolute pleasure having you with us and we cannot wait to welcome you back again.

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 11 February 2017

Accommodation was as expected for the price charged. Facilities and food most acceptable and the staff were outstanding. Their enthusiasm, dedication and work ethic cannot be questioned. From arrival to departure we experienced excellent service. Well done to all concerned. Give yourselves a pat on the back !!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mikebee0
AlpineHeathResort, Digital Marketing Co-ordinator at Alpine Heath Resort, responded to this review

Hi Thank you so much for the amazing review and feedback, it's good to see you had a wonderful time and that we managed to make your stay a great one. We cannot wait to have you back at our resort in the near future.

Reviewed 5 February 2017 via mobile

Visited resort with 12 colleague's for our strategy session & team building. Was disappointed with the condition of chalets. Bathrooms we very dirty, staff really need to be taken to task, toilets & shower not cleaned properly, rooms not vacuumed. In today's time can you please install aircons in the chalets. We had booked a full conference package so included...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Famida R
AlpineHeathResort, Digital Marketing Co-ordinator at Alpine Heath Resort, responded to this review

Greetings We would like to thank you for your feedback, we take all feedback from guests seriously as it assists us in progressing and in bettering our service. We sincerely apologize for the inconveniences caused during your stay, we have addressed all your issues with the relevant departments. We do however hope you return for a much better experience as...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 18 January 2017

Overall stay was good, service was great and activities and kids entertainment was exceptional. The units need a refurbishment as they are quite old. The TV channels need to be improved as there was only 1 movie channel

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank iakmoosa
AlpineHeathResort, Digital Marketing Co-ordinator at Alpine Heath Resort, responded to this review

Greetings We would like to thank you so much for the valued comments. Kindly note that we are currently undergoing refurbishments to all our chalets with only 15 chalets fully renovated and the rest to be fully completed in May 2018. We do hope you will visit us again and get to see the changes we've done on our resort.

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 14 January 2017

The resort is vey well located and has excellent facilities . The staff could be a bit more interactive with the guests . Decor is poor and needs to be more reflective of South Africa and not bland.Braai facilities should be made permanent at each unit and not have to be hired at an additional cost.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 2robf
AlpineHeathResort, Digital Marketing Co-ordinator at Alpine Heath Resort, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for your feedback. Kindly note that we are currently undergoing training for our staff member in efforts to offer valued guests better service. We are also undergoing a refurbishment programme that is set to be complete in May 2018 and with this all chalets will have a permanent braai area for our guests convenience.

Midrand, South Africa
Reviewed 10 January 2017

My family and I experienced surreal location, surroundings and scenery. The rooms were not up to standard, and cleaning staff were unprofessional and tardy. The reception staff was unfriendly and unaccommodating to our needs, they took time to respond when we complained. The kids enjoyed swimming and the daily activities offered. We also enjoyed hiking and partaking in adventurous activities...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank xabal2017
AlpineHeathResort, Digital Marketing Co-ordinator at Alpine Heath Resort, responded to this review

Greetings Thank you so much for your valued feedback. We appreciate all feedback from our guests since it assist us to evaluate where we need improvement. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience during your stay and we will most certainly address the issues you have raised with our Housekeeping and Front Office Departments. We hope to see you...

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 9 January 2017

We visited post Xmas / New year for a bit of an escape. Unfortunately the weather was not to our advantage and we ended up spending two days indoors but managed to make the most of the sun when it eventually appeared. The units are very clean and have all the basic amenities. There are a lot of activities for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melisha L
AlpineHeathResort, Digital Marketing Co-ordinator at Alpine Heath Resort, responded to this review

Greetings, Thank you very much for your valued comments. We are so glad to see you had a fantastic time with us and we hope to see you again in the near future.

213 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (177)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (32)
Viewed
View from Room (33)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
3:27
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (63)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jagersrust
6.9 km away
Mont Aux Sources Hotel
Mont Aux Sources Hotel
#4 of 4 in Bergville
216 reviews
10.5 km away
Cavern Drakensberg Resort & Spa
37.0 km away
Cathedral Peak Hotel
Cathedral Peak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Giants Castle Game Reserve
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.2 km away
Sandford Park Country Hotel
4.3 km away
Drakensberg Mountain Retreat
29.6 km away
Little Switzerland Hotel
Little Switzerland Hotel
#3 of 13 in Bergville
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
ALPINE HEATH RESORT – A PLACE OF WONDER. The magnificent mountains of the Drakensberg provide the spectacular backdrop for Alpine Heath Resort. The resort is located midway between Durban and Johannesburg, and offers superb accommodation, fine cuisine, All-Out-Adventure pursuits and superb conference and wedding facilities. This resort is a sports enthusiast’s dream with a host of activities available to keep the entire family entertained. Guests can choose from indoors activities like:•Board Games •Squash •Table-tennis •Gym •Spa treatments. There is also an extensive range of outdoor activities, which includes: •Horse-riding •Tennis •Volleyball •Fishing •Mountain biking •Tennis •Putt-putt course •Swimming and even friendly sport matches. The kids will be fully entertained with FUNtastic options that are sure to exceed any child’s expectations and energy levels. A daily variety of things to do, from arts & crafts to nature related activities are on offer. Children will never have a dull moment with the exclusive Kid’s Entertainment Program at the Kid’s WOW Zone! Just five minutes drive away is the All Out Adventures, which caters for extreme adrenaline junkies. Their activities vary from their well-reputed Canopy Tours to the Zipline and Kingswing. Alpine Heath Resort has many hiking trails, varying in difficulty, on offer. Situated in a World Heritage Site, the resort is the perfect base from which to explore some of the country’s finest trail attractions including the Amphitheatre, Tugela Falls (the World’s second highest waterfall) and Mont aux Sources. The Royal National Park is located 15km from the resort and boasts fantastic hiking opportunities at the world-famous Amphitheatre. Some of the trails available are: •Chain Ladder Hike •Tugela Gorge •Surprise Ridge •Cannibal Cave •Cascades, Look Out Rock •Tiger Falls. A trip to the Drakensberg would be incomplete without visiting the Spioenkop Battlefields and all the history associated with the South Africa Anglo-Boer War. Relive the memories of past heroes and walk in the footsteps of three great leaders, Winston Churchill, Mahatma Gandhi and General Louis Botha. Alpine Heath Resort offers guests a number of dining options. Hungry patrons can choose between self-catering or enjoy the culinary delights of the resort’s La Gruyeres Restaurant, savor some scrumptious offerings at the resort’s onsite eateries - The Tavern or the Pizzeria Inferno Pizzeria, enjoy light snacks at The Coffee Shop or shop for some fresh produce at the Village Market & Deli so that guests can prepare cuisine in the comfort of their own chalets. The resort has 100 luxuriously appointed, fully-equipped chalets offering panoramic mountain views from comfortable lounges, a fireplace for those romantic wintery evenings, kitchen, patio, satellite TV and three cozy bedrooms. Alpine Heath Resort is truly a highlight of the Drakensberg and it’s what makes this unique berg village so popular all year round. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Alpine Heath Resort

Address: D119, Old Cavernberg Road | Northern Drakensberg, Jagersrust 3354, South Africa (Formerly Three Cities Alpine Heath Resort)
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Jagersrust
Price Range: RM536 - RM1,236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alpine Heath Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Alpine Heath Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpine Heath Hotel Drakensberg Region
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Alpine Heath Resort staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from Alpine Heath Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“One must visit this place to experience it for themselves. A child friendly resort.”
 of 5 bubbles chaplain2729, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a Deluxe room”
 of 5 bubbles 858bilalv, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Choose location close to main restaurants if kids with you”
 of 5 bubbles , 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Please have some shower caps available and a phonebook in each room so that you can be able to call the reception and some other areas within the resort”
 of 5 bubbles hlengiwem2017, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“There is room for improvements with basic maintenance.”
 of 5 bubbles 627ismailr, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5