We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Monate Game Lodge

  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Save
Enter dates to see best deals
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
View Deals
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
View Deals
Close 
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

334 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Monate Game Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 330: English reviews
Jhb
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Was really enjoyable, animals come right up to your front door! The food was 10/10. The service was great if you in the bar and dinning area. Pity there isn't waiters that bring drinks to the pool side or jacuzzi, so you wet the floor when you order.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank rossj940
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Words cannot express my thanks to the Staff at Monate for ensuring that the wedding was a success and the days before and after were too. The management bent over backwards and the food was first class. The venue and accommodation was 5 star.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Graham I
Sa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The service was perfect, we felt so special. Everything was thought through in fine detail. I enjoyed Solly and the game drives, He is truly of great value to Monate. Will I refer other O Yes!!! Will I visit again most definitely!!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 6clivem
Pretoria
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Thank you for an awesome experience. The rooms are very stylish and the conference facility great. We enjoyed the food and the variety were more than expected. The game drive was a great experience and the sunset drinks in the veld was amazing. The dinner under the stars and the one in the cave are a memorable event and we...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 407jeaninev
MonateGL, Public Relations Manager at Monate Game Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for the beautiful review. It was a pleasure having you. We hope to host you again in future!

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I had the privilege to visited quite a number of game lodges before and I was pleasantly surprise by the unique setup and variety of the "bush" experiences. The boma is classy and the gave a "WOW". The success of the lodge is do believe is the manner in which a balance is created between a 5 star experience and...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 438joeyb
MonateGL, Public Relations Manager at Monate Game Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for the beautiful feedback. We pride ourselves in our great staff and service, and are pleased that you experienced nothing less. We hope you will visit again soon!

Pretoria
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Thank you for an excellent experience! The staff is friendly and efficient. Thank you for exposing the group to all the venues and for accommodating us within our budgeted amount. I would definitely make us of this facility again if possible.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 521suzetteg
MonateGL, Public Relations Manager at Monate Game Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for the review! It was a pleasure having you and we hope to welcome you back to Monate again soon!

Jhb
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The stay and facilities where very good but the food was very disappointing. Expected more elegant/ thoughtful food. Menu's not constructed well. And the wedding dessert was a complete disaster. Someone please teach the chef to make creme brulé. That was the worst course.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 747chantelk
MonateGL, Public Relations Manager at Monate Game Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that this was your experience. We will take the matter up with the relevant department. We trust on your next visit you will be impressed.

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 4 January 2017

Like the previous reviewer, we had no water in the taps or in the bath in our room at night. We called the manager on duty who said he would send someone to look at this but no one ever came. The next morning we complained and asked whether anything could be done to remedy this poor service and inconvenience....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LisaSwart
MonateGL, Public Relations Manager at Monate Game Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay as we pride ourselves in happy guests. We will investigate the matter and get in touch with you privately regarding our findings.

Jhb
Reviewed 2 January 2017

The bathroom had no shower and that was inconvenient. Not really any entertainment for kids and teenagers. We also had no water for 1 night and nobody tried to assist. Also had billing problems and we had to pay in because they quoted wrong. Not really our problem.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank kurtm2017
MonateGL, Public Relations Manager at Monate Game Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We will investigate the matter and get in touch with you privately regarding our findings. We always aim to give guests the best experience and we are sorry you did not have that.

Uk
Reviewed 28 December 2016

We stayed here with friends for a wedding which was fantastic! Very atmospheric and the activities available made it even more enjoyable. The staff were friendly and knowledgeable, especially on game drives.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 165nicolaj
MonateGL, Public Relations Manager at Monate Game Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back again soon!

185 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (163)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (33)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (73)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Modimolle (Nylstroom)
29.5 km away
Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa
Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa
#1 of 3 in Modimolle (Nylstroom)
297 reviews
32.6 km away
Zwahili Private Game Lodge & Spa
Zwahili Private Game Lodge & Spa
#3 of 23 in Modimolle (Nylstroom)
176 reviews
44.4 km away
Abba Game Lodge
Abba Game Lodge
#4 of 23 in Modimolle (Nylstroom)
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
46.9 km away
Leeuwenhof Country Lodge & Spa
Leeuwenhof Country Lodge & Spa
#2 of 23 in Modimolle (Nylstroom)
91 reviews
0.0 km away
Askari Game Lodge & Spa
Askari Game Lodge & Spa
#1 of 10 in Hekpoort
409 reviews
32.3 km away
Linga-Longa
Linga-Longa
#19 of 49 in Bela Bela
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Discover the gem of the bushveld... Monate Game Lodge is an elegant and peaceful breakaway retreat where guests can enjoy the tranquility of the bush whilst being treated like royalty. Nestled in manicured gardens, the modern rooms offer an opportunity to indulge in a peaceful and relaxing environment. With all the amenities & necessities at one's reach, each air-conditioned room also has its own spacious full en-suite bathroom, mini bar, hair dryers and other necessities, accommodating a maximum of 52 sharing or 26 singles. The two luxury tented units offer another two en-suite rooms each, with private splash pools on the deck and lounges, bringing the total capacity of Monate Game Lodge to 60 sharing. At Monate our unsurpassed dining experience is designed to tantalize your taste buds, specializing from venison to vegetarian dishes, served in different settings, such as our unique natural cave, in the open bush, around the lodge camp fire or air-conditioned dining room. Indulge in a night cap under the stars around a bonfire, listening to the wooing of the jackals, bringing about a restful night's sleep. Monate's private game reserve is set in 1839 hectares of bush, open plains and a variety of interesting koppies and is home to buffalo, hippos, crocodiles, giraffe, zebra, wildebeest, brown hyena & large variety of antelope. Behold Mother Nature at her best watching the sunset whilst sipping cocktails in the open bush during late afternoon game drives. We are proud to be a part of a cheetah rehabilitation project. Our modern conference centre is situated close to the lodge sporting wireless internet connection and mobile telephone reception. The fully equipped air-conditioned centre can accommodate all seating styles with breakaway rooms and en-suites. Being a malaria-free location makes us ideal for team building coupled with the beauty of the surroundings. Additional facilities include under cover parking, complimentary tea / coffee station in our lounge accompanied by DSTV on our large screen TV, fully licensed bar, outdoor swimming pools, jacuzzi, not to mention clay pigeon shooting & our 9 hole mini golf course. Larger groups can rest assured with the knowledge of exclusive use of the lodge for the duration of their stay. Our exceptional and vibrant team will ensure that your function is an overwhelming and memorable success. Monate Game Lodge IS Limpopo's best kept Secret! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Monate Game Lodge

Address: Modimolle (Nylstroom) 0510, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Modimolle (Nylstroom)
Number of rooms: 28
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Monate Game Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Good, clean, well furnished, serviced accommodation with every room looking out on lovely well kept grounds”
 of 5 bubbles _ali_sharman, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“There are 2 private lodges which are worth trying to get if you can and don 't miss dinner in the cave”
 of 5 bubbles PretoriaRobbo, 22 Dec 2016 | Read review
“I would chose the tents. The connected rooms are not sound proof.”
 of 5 bubbles lindav133, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Skukuza lodge is nice and private if that is what you are looking for”
 of 5 bubbles petromaree, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms are beautifula and well placed. Rooms set aside for the bridal party offer more privace and have amazing outdoor showers!”
 of 5 bubbles biddy511, 7 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5