We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Sabie River Bush Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Sabie River Bush Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

430 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sabie River Bush Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 307: English reviews
Towcester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 November 2016

Staff were friendly, food and accommodation were excellent. Had a lovely stay there staff go the extra mile to be helpful. Stayed in the family lodge and had an amazing view of the Sabi River. Animals come to the river in the morning and evening. Close to the gate of the Kruger National Park.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank margaretsQ7916VV
sabieriverbushlodge, Owner at Sabie River Bush Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Margaret, WOW what a great compliment to the staff of the Lodge, your review title of "Excellent, Highly Recommend" is great news and is greatly appreciated by all of us at the Lodge. Thank you for the time taken to review our Lodge and for your business. Thank you for the positive feedback regarding the food and the Log...

Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 23 November 2016

We stayed in a tent and had a lovely time. Only thing that can be improved is dinner. A buffet would be perfect. Safari was very well organized a we were lucky to see a lot of game. The ranger (Lucky) was good and great fun.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rob D
sabieriverbushlodge, Owner at Sabie River Bush Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Rob, thank you for the great review and for the positive feedback regarding your Safari into the Kruger National Park with our qualified game guide, good to hear that you saw lots of animals on your Safari. Thank you for the feedback on the Dinner, we do do buffets on a few occasions depending on weather, guest numbers etc....

Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 November 2016

Wow, it was a fantastic place to stay after our trip into Kruger. The staff were fantastic, the food was wonderful. the accommodation is fantastic... the view was so relaxing. it was a place a recommend to any one. xxx

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank M6353HYjacquelinem
sabieriverbushlodge, Owner at Sabie River Bush Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Jacquelin, WOW, great start to your review, thank you for your time taken to review our Lodge and for the great review score 5/5, this will help the Lodge to continue achieving its review score of 4.5/5 for over 300 reviews. Thank you for all the positive remarks regarding your stay and in particular that of the food. Please...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 November 2016 via mobile

Just 20 mins drive from Paul Kruger gate, the hotel is clean, with the comfiest beds ever! Food is tasty and breakfasts plentiful. The staff are attentive and courteous. The grounds are lovely, situated on the banks of the Sabie River. We saw hippo fighting one morning and spotted water buffalo on the opposite bank. The weather has been mixed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cheshirecat386
Bad Kreuznach, Germany
Reviewed 17 November 2016

We came with a Group of 13 motorcyclists for 2 nights and a full day Safari in Krueger NP. Initial mix-ups with regard to our booking were expeditiously cleared up by a friendly and motivated staff. Meals and Service were really excellent. Only the guides on the Safari were not really informative and hardly understandable as they talked Little and...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hajo R
ND
Reviewed 15 November 2016

What wonderful and inexpensive place overlooking the Sabie River and close to the Kruger Gate of Kruger Park. We spent a relaxing evening here before entering the Park. Would consider staying here instead of inside the park were it not for the later main gate opening times in the morning.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank millionmilesNd
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 November 2016

So sad as the lodge has a beautiful setting overlooking the Sabie River and some nice accommodation with good food but our room No 4 was the worst room we have ever had in the past 21 yrs of our travelling the World. Apart from being in complete need of decoration the shower and toilet stunk and our room was...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Destinations B
sabieriverbushlodge, Owner at Sabie River Bush Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Michael thank you for the feedback. As i explained to you at the Lodge your booking was made by your travel agent, i have gone back and checked who made reservations when and found that your booking was the last booking for the check-in date of the 3rd Nov 2016, there was one booking that was made after yours,...

Heveadorp, Netherlands
Reviewed 14 November 2016

Only stayed short, one night, transit to Kruger park. Enjoyed particularly the riverside deck and the dinner there, and the weather change that brought the rain. Negatives: found the room a little cramped with a not so logical use of space (a corridor). Would have enjoyed to sleep with the windows open and a fan on but there were no...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank bov657
Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewed 14 November 2016

Great place. We did not stay long, but it was enjoyable all the same. To be recommended. Good value for money and a good place to hang out after a long trip from Johannesburg. Check in was a little slow and inefficient.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rikke L
England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 November 2016

We stayed in bungalow 1, a very comfortable 2 bedroom cabin overlooking the Sabie River and the edge of the Kruger Park, during our 3 night stay we saw buffalo, elephants, a mongoose and various birds from our deck. The lodge has well trained friendly staff and a morning game drive with Lucky is well worth the early rise and...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank ADRIAN J

310 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (295)
Viewed
View from Room (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (33)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (26)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Other (147)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hazyview
16.3 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate
21.4 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview
21.3 km away
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.3 km away
Sabi River Sun Resort
Sabi River Sun Resort
#2 of 12 in Hazyview
708 reviews
17.8 km away
Perry's Bridge Hollow
Perry's Bridge Hollow
#1 of 12 in Hazyview
291 reviews
20.1 km away
Kruger Park Lodge
Kruger Park Lodge
#3 of 43 in Hazyview
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located on the banks of the Sabie River overlooking the majestic Kruger National Park lies Sabie River Bush Lodge, a bush lodge where you can "recharge your soul" and experience the African Bush. Situated a mere 19kms from the world famous Paul Kruger Gate and 13kms from Phabeni Gate, this is the place you want to be! Sitting on our raised pool deck enjoying great, friendly service and a cocktail with an African twist, one can view the BIG 5 and some of our smaller, yet beautiful, wildlife. With an extensive bird watching opportunity, there is no better place to sit back, relax and take in the natural beauty of the African Bushveld while all your needs are taken care of by our staff! Join us on a guided safari in our open vehicle into the Kruger National Park for a chance to get closer to the amazing animals the Kruger National Park boasts home to. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sabie River Bush Lodge

Address: R536 Portia Shabangu Drive | Kruger Gate road, Hazyview 1242, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Hazyview
Price Range: RM241 - RM1,074 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sabie River Bush Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Sabie River Bush Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sabie River Bush Lodge staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Sabie River Bush Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don' expect too much”
 of 5 bubbles AussieGirl57, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
“book early to get the best value.....its worth it”
 of 5 bubbles Kloffusjohn, 3 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Choose a room that face the river.”
 of 5 bubbles aventer2017, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“If possible get a river view room.”
 of 5 bubbles Brutus_8, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“River view rooms are nice and the tents but these can be noisy”
 of 5 bubbles dorothy270, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5