We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Thulamela

TravelocityUS$84*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$88*
US$84*
US$88*
US$84*
US$88*
US$84*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Thulamela
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

94 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 91: English reviews
Start your review of Thulamela
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

For a romantic getaway this rustic hideaway is fabulous. Conveniently close to Hazyview yet totally secluded and private wooden chalets tucked in the bush. Large room with a nicely equipped self catering kitchen and a decent fridge stocked with a selection of drinks available to purchase. Each unit has a small Jacuzzi on the deck and a small barbeque. Private...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Frikkiedakiwi
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Thank you very much, i will never stay at any other destination when visiting your area again. Breakfast amazing!! Owner made us feel at home, what a lovely lady. I recommend Thulamela to everybody! Thank you

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 207mandil
Middelburg, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Thulamela is a very beautiful place and my husband and I enjoyed our stay a lot. The breakfast is very nice and they can even pack you a take away breakfast if you want to start the day early. The Jacuzzi on the deck is spectacular and van even be enjoyed at night. Over all the place is really neat...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 550dinar
ThulamelaHazy, Owner at Thulamela, responded to this review

Thank you dear Dina and Lourens for such a lovely response - I am so glad that you chose Thulamela for your special breakaway celebration! Best wishes to you both - you make such a super couple! Penny @ Thulamela

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This place is highly recommended. My husband and I celebrated our anniverasry at Thulamela. It was so peaceful, the service was good and we really enjoyed ourselves. Great and lovely host also, Thanks Penny

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank winnets2017
ThulamelaHazy, Owner at Thulamela, responded to this review

Dear Sami. I appreciate your positive feedback about Thulamela. We do take pride in catering to our guests’ needs the best way we can, especially when we can help you celebrate a special anniversary. If you’re traveling to our area again soon, don’t hesitate to pop in. Penny @ Thulamela

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

if you want a get away from it all you could not do better then here. stunning setting, quiet, relaxing you feel like you are the only people there. I will be booking for some friends on mine to stay there later this year as we had a lovely time here and would recommend it to anyone. we will be...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank andrijc2017
ThulamelaHazy, Owner at Thulamela, responded to this review

Dear Andrij, thank you for your positive comments. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! I hope your next stay is just around the corner. Call us if there is anything we can help you with. Chat soon Penny @ Thulamela

Johannesburg
Reviewed 17 April 2017

Very poor service , when the owner (penny) was informed , she ignored and gave off a bad attitude nothing was done about it. We had found frogs in the jaccuzi , it's not worth it No value for your money

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank junaidm15
ThulamelaHazy, Owner at Thulamela, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback Junaid - I am surprised that you think it necessary to give comment on your stay, considering the manner in which you left. We are disappointed that you didn't enjoy your stay at Thulamela, and that part of the problem you mention was that some of the wildlife made it's way to your deck-jacuzzi. The...

Witbank
Reviewed 16 April 2017

Penny was such a gem, such a warm welcome she gave us. The place is breathtakingly beautiful, clean, comfortable and definitely very romantic. The breakfast served daily was phenomenal, scrumptious and so well set out. Definitely recommend this place to one and all.... Penny will definitely be seeing more of us again

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank CraigBianca
ThulamelaHazy, Owner at Thulamela, responded to this review

Dear Craig and Bianca, thank you very much for your excellent review. I am delighted to hear that we could make Bianca's birthday weekend such a memorable experience. We can't wait to welcome you back to celebrate more of your life's milestones. Chat soon Penny @ Thulamela

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 11 April 2017

Thank you so much. Our stay at Thulamela was brilliant. We enjoyed every moment. The bedroom was nice, the bathroom was nice and the food was exquisite. Thanks Penny we will definitely make a return to Thulamela

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank arn0ldts
ThulamelaHazy, Owner at Thulamela, responded to this review

Thank you Arnoldt, for your lovely review. I am thrilled to hear you had a brilliant stay, especially for such a special occasion as your honeymoon. We hope to welcome you both back to Thulamela for your first anniversary! Chat soon Penny @ Thulamela

Greater Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 2 April 2017

What a delight to spend 3 nights at Thulamela. Unobtrusive staff, innovatively prepared breakfasts and a comfortable room with an uber private deck and jacuzzi area. Loved the touches of flower petals scattered around.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 890eugened
ThulamelaBB, Owner at Thulamela, responded to this review

Thank you dear Eugene for such a positive review - you are kind! Mission accomplished! It was so special to meet you. Let's keep in touch, Penny @ Thulamela

Boksburg
Reviewed 1 March 2017

I Worked at S.A.A seen the world, but this is the best for me. Private, Romantic = happiness. The service was excelled, the staff so friendly. its my 20th anniversary in April i will make my booking shortly. i can recommend Thulamela to any on and will give reference in person regards Dieter Seyfferdt 0834196097

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank dieters339
ThulamelaHazy, Owner at Thulamela, responded to this review

Wow Dieter, thank you so much for such a wonderful review. I am thrilled to hear that the Thulamela staff and our service met with your needs and expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Keep in touch Penny @ Thulamela

136 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (58)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (78)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (47)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hazyview hotels
4.8 km away
Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa
3.3 km away
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
2.6 km away
Perry's Bridge Hollow
Perry's Bridge Hollow
#1 of 12 in Hazyview
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview
22.4 km away
Sabie River Bush Lodge
Sabie River Bush Lodge
#4 of 40 in Hazyview
471 reviews
0.5 km away
Rissington Inn
Rissington Inn
#1 of 40 in Hazyview
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
  • Room Service
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service

Additional Information about Thulamela

Address: R40, Hazyview 1242, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Hazyview
Price Range: RM357 - RM572 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thulamela 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Thulamela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Thulamela staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We stayed in Room 6, last unit & in my opinion most private. Our pathway walked past room 5, so room 5 was not as private as ours.”
  • Room 6, Private bush veld view
  • Room overview
  • Rocking Chair in room
  • Kitchenette
  • Room with Dresser and Hairdryer
willemienp, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Cottages all the same”
Thelma123, 20 Aug 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are beautifull!!!”
tequilitsa, 22 Jun 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in Chalet 6 which is the last one on the end of the row but they are all secluded and private”
  • Shower
  • Bathroom
Fijumu, 26 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Every room is private and secluded with not another guest in sight.”
MarianKreviews, 10 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Travelocity
US$84* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$84
Orbitz.comUS$84
Booking.comUS$88
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates