We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Rio Vista Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Rio Vista Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

82 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Rio Vista Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 65: English reviews
spain
Reviewed 5 January 2016

We were originally booked at the Belvedere next door but they informed us that the whole of Malelane was without power and they did not have a back up generator. This lodge was recommended by them as they did have a back up for power. The two rooms we had were good,the viewing deck and pool was good.breakfast was good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alexanderSpain
Johannesburg
Reviewed 21 December 2015 via mobile

The view over the Kruger is lovely from the deck restaurant and the food served is hearty, no fuss fare. The air conditioning is a life saver and the rooms comfortable, clean and simple. The staff can't be nicer. It reflects exactly what the price suggests. The only negative was no door between the toilet and the room but maybe...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Johanet
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Reviewed 27 September 2015

This is a very beautiful place on the bank of Crocodile River where you get to see a lot of wildlife, especially at night. We spent only 2 nights there, but caught sight of several elephants, a rhino, a hippo, waterbucks, monkeys and plenty of birds. Sunset by the river was also very pleasant. We had a double room facing...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SunnyW358
Mishmar HaYarden, Israel
Reviewed 20 September 2015 via mobile

We had a great time at this nice hotel, with his amazingly friendly staff that took care of all our needs and answered all of our many questions. The hotel has a very good restaurant with beautiful view to the kruger park, with affordable prices.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shaharnaim
Anita B, Owner at Rio Vista Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for such kind words, I am glad you enjoyed your stay and do hope to see you in the near future

Port Elizabeth
Reviewed 10 September 2015

Stayed during August as our favourite B&B was fully booked, but had absolutely no regrets. The room on the first floor had the most amazing view over the Crocodile River and we saw many animals from our veranda. It is also a birders paradise. Saw our first ever Trumpeter Hornbill. Our Room was beautiful and very comfortable. The food at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Krugerholic
Reviewed 1 September 2015

We recently visited Rio Vista Lodge. Beautiful lodge. Just do not be booked in the rondavel. Not part of the main Lodge. Room was sub standard. Defnitely needs attention to detail. Air con not working properly. Fridge very noisy. Blinds in bathroom broken. We had to cover the window with a towel. After power failure we were offered to move...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tessa B
Anita B, Manager at Rio Vista Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I must confess the rondavels need a good revamp of which it is scheduled for January, February next year. I am so glad you had the opportunity to stay in the main lodge and enjoyed the rest of your stay. I am sure in the near future when you return the Rondavels are of a...

Alberton, South Africa
Reviewed 13 August 2015

Perfect place to stay outside the Kruger National Park. No matter what food you order "its delicious" and well served. Clean and well serviced rooms. Excellent views and a great place just to relax. We visited the Rio Vista for the last ten years and every year is an improvement.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sastarfinder
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 8 August 2015

Family run hotel with friendly efficient service. The deck restaurant and lawns are a great place for watching the elephants and hippos in the neighbouring Kruger Park come to the river to drink. The rooms are basic & clean, and the beds warm & comfortable. The only negative is that the internet connection is very weak, not normally a problem...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lesley E
Poole, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 July 2015

4 star for the accommodation, 20 stars for the views, food and welcome! The Deck Restaurant is situated on the river so you will be viewing animals such as crocs, hippos, kudu, imapla, lots of birds and we were lucky enough to see elephants while eating. You will need to book a table to make sure you get the best...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brendan B
Hartbeespoort, South Africa
Reviewed 12 July 2015

Being on the border of the Kruger National park they have the perfect location! The staff was friendly and the rooms comfy. The owners were keeping a close eye on everything and especially the older lady always friendly. On the down side. We were there on a weekend that they were fully booked so we stayed in a Rondawel and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JenBauer

77 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (57)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malelane hotels
4.8 km away
Pestana Kruger Lodge
Pestana Kruger Lodge
#1 of 1 in Malelane
334 reviews
0.5 km away
River House Lodge
River House Lodge
#5 of 11 in Malelane
73 reviews
0.6 km away
Khandizwe River Lodge
Khandizwe River Lodge
#3 of 11 in Malelane
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 km away
Buhala Lodge
Buhala Lodge
#1 of 10 in Malelane
264 reviews
10.5 km away
Kambaku River Lodge
Kambaku River Lodge
#2 of 10 in Malelane
58 reviews
0.2 km away
Belvedere-on-River
Belvedere-on-River
#4 of 11 in Malelane
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Rio Vista 4 star Lodge is situated on the border of The Kruger National Park. Experience spectacular views from The Deck overlooking the Crocodile River as animals come to graze and drink while you eat. A dam with various species of fish for the catch-and-release angler. An ideal location for a much needed relaxing break away. Rio-Vista is 27 roomed lodge, all rooms are air-conditioned with DSTV and bar fridge, swimming pool and secure parking. Our facility is child friendly with spacious gardens. We have a lovely thatched deck and cocktail bar with an open view into the Kruger park. Our a la carte Restaurant serves the best meals in the region. Lino's Lodge consist of eight air-conditioned single or sharing chalets , all with DSTV, private patio, and bar fridge. Relax in a homely atmosphere, close to shops and the Malelane Kruger Gate. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rio Vista Lodge

Address: Stand 1062 | Monte Vista Estate, Malelane 1320, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Malelane
Price Range: RM356 - RM409 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Rio Vista Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rio Vista Lodge staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Munich, Germany

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Rio Vista Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The best view over the River would be the Lino's lodge rondavel but they are not as luxurious as the RIo Vista rooms.”
  • Sunset view from room
  • View from Lino's rondavel @ Rio Vista
 of 5 bubbles RudiDu, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Select a room on the ground floor of the main building. It provides direct access to the terrace and the viewing deck!”
 of 5 bubbles knowtel, 13 Jul 2016 | Read review
“You will be spoilt for choice, each area as something quite unique to offer.but all have fantastic views of Kruger Park.”
 of 5 bubbles Y3117KKalans, 20 Jan 2016 | Read review
“All rooms, comfortable, not much of a view form any of them”
 of 5 bubbles sastarfinder, 12 Aug 2015 | Read review
“The signal for wifi is too weak to reach the rooms. wifi is free, when it's available.”
 of 5 bubbles LesleyE774, 7 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay