We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Pestana Kruger Lodge

Expedia.comUS$126*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$126*
US$127*
US$127*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Pestana Kruger Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

369 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 222: English reviews
Start your review of Pestana Kruger Lodge
 Click to rate
Austin, Texas
Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel does a great job of providing a beautiful stay where you can connect with nature. This is not a luxury lodge but it is a economical place with great amenities. Each family gets their own home which has a tv, AC, and bathroom. Our home had a main bedroom area with large windows and a bathroom with tub...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sonalib4
PKL_Manager, General Manager at Pestana Kruger Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Sona Thank you so much for your review. First let me thank you for staying at Pestana Kruger Lodge. The Lodge is currently undergoing a lot of positive improvements and I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and I will share your feedback with the rest of the team in our ongoing training sessions. We...

Swaziland
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We mingled with nature in the tranquility of the wild. We spent 3 nights of rest to celebrate our 14th anniversary with the #Loveofmylife the place is lovely with lovely people serving us. Our room was overlooking the crocodile river every morning greeting with the sound of running water in the nearby stream coupled with the sounds of rhinoceroses. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank clementnd
PKL_Manager, General Manager at Pestana Kruger Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest First let me thank you for staying at Pestana Kruger Lodge and for taking the time to complete our Survey and feedback to us on your experience at the property. The Lodge is currently undergoing a lot of positive improvements, from New linen in all our rooms to improvements in various other areas with more positive changes planned...

Reviewed 18 April 2017

he worst hotel I have ever stayed in The general manager should be fired- he is rude , abrupt and un accommodating They are trying to rip off the guests at every opportunity - charge R 34 a tomotoe juice ( 250 ML) , kids have to pay R 55 to go on a water slide that is part of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kirsty R
PKL_Manager, General Manager at Pestana Kruger Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Kirsty Thank you for taking the time to review your stay, we regret not having met your expectations. Unfortunately, as we have explained, we made your sunset Safari booking as per your request, and we even tried to find you when you did not show up at the scheduled time. Unfortunately the Park has a 100% cancelation policy, outside...

Reviewed 3 April 2017

We had a very pleasant stay at the hotel. From the hotel terrace we saw some hippos and rhinos. The staff was very friendly and did a great job with helping us to book a walking tour at Krüger Nationalpark. Furthermore we had delicous food.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank the_traveller_2323
PKL_Manager, General Manager at Pestana Kruger Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest First let me thank you for staying at Pestana Kruger Lodge and for taking the time to complete I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and I will share your feedback with the rest of the team in our ongoing training sessions. We are working hard towards trying to achieve service excellence and provide...

Akasia
Reviewed 27 March 2017 via mobile

I was booked for five night at Pestana Kruger Lodge on a business trip, i would like to appreciate the following ladies for their outstanding customer care ; Christina from the kitchen and Grace from sales and marketing Ladies keep up the good work ! your warm hospitality made my stay memorable 😍 however had issues with available tv channels...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nelisiwe M
PKL_Manager, General Manager at Pestana Kruger Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest First let me thank you for staying at Pestana Kruger Lodge and for taking the time to complete our Survey and feedback to us on your experience at the property. The Lodge is currently under going a lot of positive improvements, from New linen in all our rooms to improvements in various other areas with more positive changes...

George, South Africa
Reviewed 19 March 2017 via mobile

We recently returned to the hotel after a good experience on our first visit. We almost did not recognize it. They have clearly been hard at work trying improve things on the property. Firstly all the rooms have new linen and the rooms look great. We had breakfast and dinner in the hotel, our last dinner was in the Boma,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mariette R
PKL_Manager, General Manager at Pestana Kruger Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest First let me thank you for staying at Pestana Kruger Lodge and for taking the time to complete our Survey and feedback to us on your experience at the property. The Lodge is currently undergoing a lot of positive improvements, from New linen in all our rooms to improvements in various other areas with more positive changes planned...

Lugnorre
Reviewed 18 March 2017

We just ate here one evening after having made all restaurants in Malelane. We should not have come here for diner: a mediocre buffet was waiting for us and no à la carte was proposed. Hope that hotel guest do not have to suffer every evening of this horrible buffet. On top of this these one evening experiance was horribly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank M O
PKL_Manager, General Manager at Pestana Kruger Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest Let me start by saying how deeply disappointing I am to read your review on our restaurant. What you experienced on the evening is completely unacceptable, As much as i cant make any excuse for it i hope you will accept my appology for it. We pride ourselves in our menu offering both on our buffets and à...

Gold Coast, Australia
Reviewed 12 March 2017

It was with a little trepidation that we booked into the Pestana Kruger Lodge after reading some of the reviews on Trip Advisor, however given the location we decided to go ahead - and would definitely stay here again. The lodge is located on the banks of the Crocodile River with its own resident pod of hippos and the odd...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank GCTraveller2014
PKL_Manager, General Manager at Pestana Kruger Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest First let me thank you for staying at Pestana Kruger Lodge and for taking the time to complete our Survey and feedback to us on your experience at the property. The Lodge is currently undergoing a lot of positive improvements, from New linen in all our rooms to improvements in various other areas with more positive changes planned...

Reviewed 6 March 2017 via mobile

Horrible experience!! Checked in at 8pm and room was not ready. The room's television and phone was not working at all. Checked into another room at midnight. That room was not cleaned at all!! The bedding was still from the previous customers. The entire staff needs service training. The lady that came to do the house keeping laughed when we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mpumelelo
PKL_Manager, General Manager at Pestana Kruger Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest First let me thank you for staying at Pestana Kruger Lodge and for taking the time to complete our Survey and feedback to us on your experience at the property. The Lodge is currently under going a lot of positive improvements, from New linen in all our rooms to improvements in various other areas with more positive changes...

Boston
Reviewed 14 February 2017

We stayed here first weekend in February in room 103 overlooking the crocodile river. The room was spacious and very clean, the AC worked great. The Lodge booked an afternoon safari for us which picked us up and dropped us off right at the reception, which was great after a long day of driving and the safari. We ended up...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hauntas
PKL_Manager, General Manager at Pestana Kruger Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest First let me thank you for staying at Pestana Kruger Lodge and for taking the time to complete our Survey and feedback to us on your experience at the property. The Lodge is currently undergoing a lot of positive improvements, from New linen in all our rooms to improvements in various other areas with more positive changes planned...

252 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (244)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (77)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (101)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malelane
4.4 km away
Rio Vista Lodge
Rio Vista Lodge
#2 of 11 in Malelane
100 reviews
9.7 km away
Buhala Lodge
Buhala Lodge
#1 of 10 in Malelane
309 reviews
4.9 km away
River House Lodge
River House Lodge
#4 of 11 in Malelane
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.3 km away
Bushwise Safaris
Bushwise Safaris
#3 of 33 in Marloth Park
313 reviews
37.5 km away
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
#73 of 171 in Kruger National Park
94 reviews
14.7 km away
Kambaku River Lodge
Kambaku River Lodge
#2 of 10 in Malelane
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Internet
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Graded TGCSA 4-star, Pestana Kruger Lodge is situated 700 meters away from Malelane Gate, the most southern entrance to the Kruger National Park. The Lodge is surrounded by 22ha of indigenous gardens and bush with magnificent views of the Crocodile River, which forms the border with the Kruger National Park. Accommodation comprises 74 well-appointed rooms, all with modern facilities. The Lodge is a great choice for families wanting a relaxing holiday in the African bush. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Pestana Kruger Lodge

Address: R570 Riverside Road | 150 meters from Malelane Gate, Kruger National Park, Malelane 1320, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Malelane
Price Range: RM478 - RM670 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Kruger Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pestana Kruger Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Kruger Hotel Malelane
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Pestana Kruger Lodge staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Pestana Kruger Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try to stay closer to the main reception lodge - it is more accessible to the pool area as well!”
sonalib4, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“Book a Deluxe Room - you won't regret it”
GCTraveller2014, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Book the deluxe rooms to have a great view of the river/animals”
bezzer2014, 24 Jan 2017 | Read review
“all nice rooms”
kingsrest, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms near the river are very pleasant.”
271hiltont, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$126* /night
View Deal
TravelocityUS$127
Agoda.comUS$127
Booking.comUS$127
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates