We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Old Vic Traveller's Inn

02/04/2017 03/04/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Old Vic Traveller\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

135 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Old Vic Traveller's Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 110: English reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2016 via mobile

What a sad experience was this! The room was good and the hospitality of the staff couldn't be better. They were very friendly and helpful. BUT... The manager of this place made it an awful experience. We couldn't believe how bad she is treating her staff. I felt sick afterwards.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dorien S
krugerandmore, Owner at Old Vic Traveller's Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for review. It amaze me that you not happy with the manger you still give a negative review rating after stating the staff were good and the rooms were good. I am the owner Dave , I know my staff are happy working at the Old Vic and also know under pressure every one re acts differently ....

Rome, Italy
Reviewed 11 February 2016

I booked with them a tour and there were no other tourists that day, so I had to pay more. The next day they found another and I went with him to Kruger park and to the Blyde river canyon. They gave me back the difference and I don't know how many agencies would have done the same. Excellent guides...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank giovannirome2016
krugerandmore, Owner at Old Vic Traveller's Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for this review.It was a pleasure to look after and the refund was as per our word. Thanks Dave

Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewed 19 January 2016

Just about money. They can provide what you want, but pay first. There is no friendship or any kind of help. they decide for you at what time you eat, what time you leave, when you go, etc. And the staff is threated like badly.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Chapdeluc
krugerandmore, Owner at Old Vic Traveller's Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing us at our request.It is always great to get positive feed back. Unfortunately in today's world and been a well-travelled person you should be able to understand why we take payment upfront for the accommodation (as we do not want to have runners not paying( and this happen often in other backpackers),just like paying for your...

Tzaneen, South Africa
Reviewed 10 January 2016

One of my best New Years was spent with you. I had an American from LA as companion at the bar, the lovely front lady with the unpronounceable name (I called her Nomsie) turned on the TV for us, and we listened and jiggled to music from the 70s and 80s. Met interesting people from all over the world and...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan E
krugerandmore, Manager at Old Vic Traveller's Inn, responded to this review

Thank you and what is so great to hear is that you enjoyed the backpackers . This is a wonderful way of meeting people in a backpackers Thanks for taking time to review and say wonderful things about our staff Dave

Swedesboro, New Jersey
Reviewed 7 January 2016

We stayed here for 5 nights with a huge group of people. Crazy Dave, the owner, is an awesome help and is great at setting up trips to Kruger. The rooms were very clean. Some more spacious than others. There are lots of kitchens to use, and many places to go sit an relax. There's a restaurant, bar, pool, and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Olivia P
krugerandmore, Owner at Old Vic Traveller's Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. Yes we do some times turn wifi off as people from the USA and other countries can skype at 1 am in the morning and keep neighbors and others guest awake talking ! We love have groups here so much fun Thanks Crazy Dave

Beverley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 January 2016

We stayed for 2 nights and did a 2 day tour of Kruger and surrounding area. We chose the old vic as we had a very limited opportunity to do all the sights we had been recommended to see in Kruger park and the waterfalls and sights around. Flexi tours were the only company I could find that offered a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeleeman
krugerandmore, Owner at Old Vic Traveller's Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review us. It was a pleasure to help you and we are glad you enjoyed staying at backpackers and took the en-suite room which does not cost much more. We are happy you enjoyed Kruger and the surrounding area. thanks Dave

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 23 December 2015

The place is nearly ruined our holiday. We couldn't even sleep there for a night as it was unbearable. The Linen is not changed they just make the bed after the other guests checked out!! We arrived for our holiday early around 12 and the check in is 14:00. When we arrived there was no electricity and we were told...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank traveller007144
krugerandmore, Owner at Old Vic Traveller's Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing us as per our request. We are sorry you never stayed with us but at least you could still review us. It is true there was no electricity for 24 hours in most of Nelspruit this is out of my control. There is a reason for a 2 pm check in not 12 as you stated...

Arezzo, Italy
Reviewed 14 December 2015

Hostel is nice and rooms are goods. But in my opinion the hostel is overpriced for what they offered. Location is bad and far from everything. Noisy in early morning even. Dave, the owner, is very helpful though and gave us useful information and arraged things for us.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Petrarquista
krugerandmore, Owner at Old Vic Traveller's Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. What is over priced for you?most hostels are the same price as us Dorms are 160 rand a night. Thanks Dave

Seville, Spain
Reviewed 14 December 2015

the hostel is nice and rooms are fines. but overpriced . Hostel also is isolated for everywhere and there is not kitchen nor food menu. Dave ,the owner, is very helpful though and helped us with all info and arrangements needed.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank gonzalor915
krugerandmore, Owner at Old Vic Traveller's Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the review even if it is the same as your partners. We do have a communal kitchen and we do sell breakfast and dinner or offer takeaways. Over priced !! we are one of the cheapest place to stay in Nelspruit and on average the same as most backpackers in South Africa and much cheaper than the...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 5 December 2015

Staff were useless, dont have a clue about things to do around the area and not very helpful. Accomodation average. Wifi terrible The location was a long way from the centre, if you dont have a car you shouldnt stay here

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Dominic A
krugerandmore, Owner at Old Vic Traveller's Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing us.The staff know quite a bit of information onthe area like Kruger ,Blyde ,chimp Eden,Sudwala caves and malls and taxi numbers. The cleaners do not know all this info,sorry. Yes wifi can be fast or slow but it is always free we are in Africa . Yes we do live in the suburbs away from the...

103 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (48)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (55)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (35)
02/04/2017 03/04/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelspruit hotels
2.5 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit
2.6 km away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Promenade
BEST WESTERN Hotel Promenade
#13 of 19 in Nelspruit
39 reviews
4.2 km away
Mercure Nelspruit
Mercure Nelspruit
#8 of 19 in Nelspruit
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
La Villa Vita Nelspruit
La Villa Vita Nelspruit
#2 of 19 in Nelspruit
256 reviews
3.5 km away
Zebrina Guesthouse
Zebrina Guesthouse
#7 of 70 in Nelspruit
122 reviews
11.7 km away
Bundu Lodge
Bundu Lodge
#4 of 62 in Nelspruit
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Experience the South African Lowveld like never before ……Kruger and More caters for the international traveller visiting Southern Africa. Our accommodation is suitable for South African sport groups, families, couples and single travellers. We are situated in Nelspruit, the capital of Mpumalanga, and will accommodate you with real South African hospitality. Crazy Dave (who did the travel thing himself for 4 years) and Bella believe in comfort and value for money. We Offer: Accommodation Travel Desk Tours in and around the Big 5 countryside. Car Rentals Adventure Trips . ... more   less 

Additional Information about Old Vic Traveller's Inn

Address: 12 Impala Street, Nelspruit 1200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Nelspruit
Price Range: RM75 - RM248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Old Vic Traveller's Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and HostelWorld so you can book your Old Vic Traveller's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Old Vic Traveller's Inn staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Old Vic Traveller's Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We stayed in room 4 - use the blackout curtains after dark to block the light from the motion-activated light on the steps opposite.”
 of 5 bubbles Mattalbman, 9 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms attached to the building housing reception are newer and better equipped.”
 of 5 bubbles anonn256, 21 Aug 2016 | Read review
“They had a nice suite superior to all of the rooms”
 of 5 bubbles guigavis, 18 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Look at several rooms before deciding. Ask how many people will be sharing the dorm.”
 of 5 bubbles LadyLawyerTraveler, 28 Apr 2016 | Read review
“We chose an en suite. Why would you not????”
 of 5 bubbles Jeleeman, 1 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
* /night
View Deal
Priceline
Travelocity
Hostelworld.comUS$21
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates