We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Traveller (24)
Room & Suite (5)
Dining (2)
Ratings and reviews
  • Excellent61%
  • Very good33%
  • Average2%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“bat eared fox”(9 reviews)
“spotted genet”(4 reviews)
“african wildcat”(4 reviews)
View all reviews
What's included
Free Parking
Breakfast Available
Pool
Airport Transportation
Room Service
Suites
Kitchenette
Pets Allowed
Wheelchair Access
Conference Facilities
Laundry Service
Free Internet
Air Conditioning
In 3000 hectares of unspoilt savannah thornveld close to Kimberley. All facilities are all fully equipped for self-catering purposes. Meals can be catered for on request. The area is well known amongst bird lovers and a wide variety of bird life, including birds endemic to the area, can...
View all hotel information
Location and contact
10km From Kimberley on R357 to Douglas, Kimberley 8305, South Africa
14.4 km to Kimberley Airport
View nearby attractions and restaurants
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (39)
Filter reviews
37 results
Traveller rating
23
12
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
23
12
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbat eared foxspotted genetafrican wildcatwildlife watchingbarn owlhoneymoon suitelocal guiderock rabbitblack backed jackalspot animalswildlife includingelephant shrewfarm styleone nightdifferent typesowners and staffself catering
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 37 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I visited Marrick with a couple of friends as we'd read online that they had good sightings of some nocturnal animals that I'd not managed to see at other places, despite trying a lot. We only stayed a couple of days but had one of...More

Thank MuseliHill
Response from TrevorDatnow, Owner at Marrick SafariResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you. Great to hear your comments. Much appreciated.

Reviewed 7 June 2018

We stayed at Marrick Safari Farm for 3 nights in June. Accommodation – we were upgraded to the Honeymoon suite as we were the only guests. Very comfortable and all the amenities needed. The creaky floor meant moving quietly was impossible! Food was excellent, varied...More

Thank Colin and Janet H
Response from TrevorDatnow, Owner at Marrick SafariResponded 8 June 2018

It was great meeting you. Thank you for visiting Marrick and for the positive feedback. Much appreciated.

Reviewed 24 May 2018

We spent 3 nights in Marrick Safari with the goal to find rare nocturnal mammals like aardvark, aardwolve and the very elusive black footed cat. We never expected to see all 3 of them but during our 3 night drives was our guide "Jony" able...More

Thank wuca
Response from TrevorDatnow, Owner at Marrick SafariResponded 27 May 2018

Vielen Dank. Much appreciated.

Reviewed 23 May 2018

We stayed at Marrick's for one night only. We liked the nature and it being so close to the main road to Bloemfontein, as we were traveling there. The accommodation is rather old style but accommodating. Unfortunately the door of our on suite bathroom locked...More

Thank WilmaSchweiz
Response from TrevorDatnow, Owner at Marrick SafariResponded 25 May 2018

I am very sorry to hear. There is always a first; this has never happened before. I will certainly take this up with management. If you ever come this way again, please ask to speak to the owner directly and we will do our utmost...More

Reviewed 1 May 2018 via mobile

We had a nice two night stay at Marrick. We had the guineafowl cottage which I think may not be the nicest cottage, it was three bedrooms but not that well suited to 6 adults, it would have been better for 4 adults with two...More

Thank TravelerNix
Response from TrevorDatnow, Owner at Marrick SafariResponded 2 May 2018

Thanks for your feedback. We do appreciate any detail that we can improve on. I am pleased that you had a fantastic night drive because that is what Marrick is all about. Yes you are correct, the Guinea Fowl Cottage is not the nicest and...More

View more reviews
About
Description
In 3000 hectares of unspoilt savannah thornveld close to Kimberley. All facilities are all fully equipped for self-catering purposes. Meals can be catered for on request. The area is well known amongst bird lovers ...More and a wide variety of bird life, including birds endemic to the area, can be spotted here. 4x4 game drives are hugely rewarding with large herds of indigenous antelope in their natural habitat and enjoy a delicious buffet style breakfast in the bush. Less
Room types
Suites, Kitchenette
Room types
Suites, Kitchenette
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Free Parking
Pool
Room Service
Airport Transportation
Breakfast Available
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Conference Facilities
Laundry Service
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Wheelchair Access
Beachfront
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Breakfast included
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free Internet
Room types
Suites, Kitchenette
Room types
Suites, Kitchenette
Room types
Suites, Kitchenette
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (24)
Room & Suite (5)
Dining (2)
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Marrick Safari staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Room Tips
"Honeymoon suite is the best room!"
Read review
"We had Honeymoon Suite which was in the main house. Great room if you don't want to self cater."
Read review
"We had a separate cottage with three bedrooms and three bathrooms (two en suite)."
Read review
"All trhe rooms that I saw were excellent"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing