We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Shepherd's Tree Game Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Shepherd\\
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Add Photo Write a Review

426 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Shepherd's Tree Game Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 361: English reviews
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 14 July 2016

The experience went above and beyond what I had expected. Every meal was delicious. Our room was very nice. During our drive we had an angry elephant charge at us and our ranger was very calm and professional and got the elephant to go away. It was exciting, beautiful, and completely awe inspiring. I can't think of a single negative...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank MichelleStates
Johan E, General Manager at Shepherd's Tree Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Michellestates Me and my team is extremely happy to learn that you found your recent stay with us to be "Absolutely Amazing", and receiving feedback like yours is the very reason we are always trying to improve and over deliver on our valued guests wildest expectations... You never know what to expect out on Safari, and I am glad...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 13 July 2016

The lodge and living facilities are 5 star, the food is excellent and the service was great. I highly recommend asking for Jason Hattingh to be your guide as he made our experience second to none. His enthusiasm, energy, and friendly demeanor made us look forward to every game drive. In the first two days, we saw lions, a leopard,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mutumbo66
Johan E, General Manager at Shepherd's Tree Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Mutumbo66 Thanks so much for your review of Shepherds Tree Game Lodge. Myself and my team is happy to learn that you found our food and service to your satisfaction, and even more so that you managed to thoroughly enjoy your Safari experience with Jason. Ill be sure to share this with him as well. We hope you visit...

Sandton
Reviewed 11 July 2016

If you are looking for the ultimate bush experience whilst surrounded by luxurious hospitality, Shepherd's Tree is your destination. The rooms, the staff, the food...par Excellence. Serene, scenic, surreal...splendid indeed. Highly recommended.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank veerand2016
Johan E, General Manager at Shepherd's Tree Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Veerand2016 Thank you for taking the time to review Shepherds Tee Game Lodge. It is wonderful for me and my team receiving feedback such as yours, and we are delighted that you found our rooms, staff and food to live up to your expectations. We hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards The Shepherds Tree Team

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 9 July 2016 via mobile

I have been so many lodges but Shepherd's Tree stands out from all of rest.From the second we got there it was absolute bliss. The food was so scrumptious and the hospitality was out of this world. The accommodation was luxurious and the bathrooms were just incredible with the most beautiful outdoor shower . The game drives were informative and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CarinDavidson
Johan E, General Manager at Shepherd's Tree Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Carin Thank you so much for your review of Shepherds Tree Game Lodge. It is always rewarding to know that we met or exceeded our guests expectations, and is delighted to learn that you found our hospitality, food and accommodation to your satisfaction. We hope to see you again in future (maybe for your birthday this time...) Kind Regards...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 9 July 2016 via mobile

What was an otherwise nice weekend at the tree game lodge we completely ruined by a faulty smoke alarm that started beeping intermittently at 2 in the morning. Unfortunately I could not trace the problem in a morning daze and thought it was from a neighbour or surrounds. Eventually gave up at 7 in the morning and called the reception...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AkashM1975
Johan E, General Manager at Shepherd's Tree Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear AkashM1975 I do apologize for the difficulties you experienced during your stay in February because of a faulty smoke alarm. This normally happens as an early warning that the alarm battery is about to die, and unfortunately this warning can occur during anytime and is beyond anyone's control. I am however glad that they did manage to sort it...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 30 June 2016

I have stayed at many nice places, but arriving at Shepherds Tree Lodge and being welcomed with amazing friendly staff made the stay enjoyable. Breath taking views from the rooms and pool area. Game drives were fun and worth waking up in the early AM. Staff was always friendly and always willing to help whether asked for it or not....

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Smartiez
Johan E, General Manager at Shepherd's Tree Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Smartiez Thank you for taking the time to review Shepherds Tree Game Lodge. It is always nice to learn that our guests enjoyed their stay and we are delighted to learn that you rate us as one of the best places you have ever stayed. We appreciate this and hope you visit again soon. Kind Regards The Shepherds Tree...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 28 June 2016

Awesome experience at Shepherds Tree Game Lodge. We stayed for 3 nights with family and friends, a group of 9. Great tour guide in Jason Hatting. he really went out of his away to ensure our comfort and experience. We saw all 3 cats, great accommodation and excellent food. Recommended.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 580gerardg
Johan E, General Manager at Shepherd's Tree Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear 580gerardg Thank you for this review of Shepherds Tree Game Lodge. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and specifically the Safari Experience with Jason, our food and also our accommodation. I'll be sure to share this with Jason as well. We hope to see you visiting again very soon... Kind Regards The Shepherds Tree Team

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 28 June 2016

My wife and I went there June 19th-22nd for our first safari experience. The service at the hotel was great. The staff is great and the service you receive is top notch. Especially during the meals - the menu is small but the food is excellent and great to eat especially after a game drive. The chef would even come...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank YouCanFindJayInLA
Johan E, General Manager at Shepherd's Tree Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear YouCanFindJayInLA We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your recent stay at Shepherds Tree Game Lodge and would like to thank you for this positive review. It is good to know we made your First Safari Experience a good one, and you found the staff and facilities to your satisfaction. I'll share this review with Jason as well,...

Johannesburg
Reviewed 24 June 2016 via mobile

This was a wonderful lodge. The accommodation was outstanding,the staff could not do enough to make this a memorable stay. The game drives were well organized and we managed to see a fair amount of game. All in all this was a truly beautiful spot for a weekend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jill W
Johan E, General Manager at Shepherd's Tree Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Jill W Thank you so much for your review of Shepherds Tree Game Lodge, it is wonderful to know you found our accommodation and staff to be "outstanding" and I'll be sure to share this with my team. We hope to see you again soon... Kind Regards The Shepherds Tree Team

Reviewed 23 June 2016 via mobile

We went for one night to Shepards tree game lodge in pilansberg it was such a great experience. The lodge manager and staff were so helpful and couldn't do enough to make our stay the best it could be. It was my birthday weekend and they went out of their way to make it so special. The game drives were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elise B
Johan E, General Manager at Shepherd's Tree Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Elise B Thank you for your review of Shepherds Tree Game Lodge. Me and my team appreciates this immensely, especially knowing that we could make it an "amazing" weekend for you and your husband. Thank you for recommending us, and we hope to see you back soon. Kind Regards The Shepherds Tree Team

415 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (410)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (62)
Viewed
Bathroom (26)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
Other (237)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pilanesberg National Park
8.9 km away
Bakubung Bush Lodge
Bakubung Bush Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
706 reviews
17.0 km away
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
#2 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
581 reviews
13.0 km away
The Palace of the Lost City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.9 km away
Ivory Tree Game Lodge
Ivory Tree Game Lodge
#4 of 14 in Pilanesberg National Park
673 reviews
4.8 km away
Tshukudu Bush Lodge
Tshukudu Bush Lodge
#6 of 14 in Pilanesberg National Park
153 reviews
15.4 km away
Tambuti Lodge
Tambuti Lodge
#1 of 14 in Pilanesberg National Park
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Skirting the northern slopes of an amphitheatre within the Pilanesberg Game Reserve lies Shepherd’s Tree Game Lodge, the lodge enjoys unrestricted vistas of the wilderness area of this big 5 wildlife sanctuary. Sweeping patios and sun decks adjoin the generous guest entertainment areas and rim-flow swimming pool. A gourmet restaurant, open entertainment decks, cigar lounge and gift gallery are amongst some of the facilities that discerning guests will find during their African safari. The lodge also includes a conference facility and Amani Spa. Attention to detail extends beyond the pleasure of your hosts, and is perhaps only rivaled by the contemporary cuisine, freshly prepared by dedicated chefs. Shepherd’s Tree features 13 double and 4 executive suites accommodating a maximum of 60 guests. Absolute privacy is ensures through the linear positioning of the suites along an elevated contour line, and providing panoramic vistas of the reserve. Each chalet features full en-suite bathrooms, tea and coffee making facilities, mini bar and safe. Whilst some of our guests will find proximity to the Sun City complex appealing, most of our guests are at Shepherd’s Tree for the thrill and excitement of big game viewing from the comfort of our custom built game viewers. Qualified and experienced guides are tasked with the pleasure of interpreting the sights and sounds of this vast wildlife sanctuary. The reserve is home to the big 5 and cheetah, wild dogs and hippo. Guests are encouraged to join their guide and host on 2 daily safaris, designed around optimal game activity periods, these occur in the early morning and in the late afternoon and evening, the afternoon safari is punctuated by a sundowner stop before continuing into the night with the use of a powerful spotlight. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Shepherd's Tree Game Lodge

Address: Pilanesberg Game Reserve | Sun City, Pilanesberg National Park 316, South Africa
Region: South Africa > North-West Province > Pilanesberg National Park
Price Range: RM1,974 - RM5,635 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shepherd's Tree Game Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Shepherd's Tree Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shepherd`s Tree Game Hotel Pilanesberg National Park
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Shepherd's Tree Game Lodge staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Shepherd's Tree Game Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms with high numbers are far away from the restaurant/pool. So you need a transfer from to and from the room. Quite far to walk.”
 of 5 bubbles holgerg151, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The pressure in the right hand side sink needed to be fixed - hot water tap. But as there were two sinks it did not both us. The room was clean & the furnishings were of the highest quality in keeping with the five star rating of the Lodge.”
 of 5 bubbles 154burnsm, 14 Dec 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in an Executive Suite (number 28) and I can't imagine that there's a room better than the one we stayed in. ”
 of 5 bubbles jennifersO1921YF, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms 15 and 16 have the best views according to the shuttle driver. We were in 5, a lower down one and the views were great. ”
 of 5 bubbles O7325HPmartinl, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“water is not supplied in the evenings next to the bed”
 of 5 bubbles lynnmurg, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay