We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Cabanas

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Cabanas
Cabanas
Panoramas (8)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

660 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Cabanas
See the most recent reviews
Showing 592: English reviews
Maun, Botswana
Reviewed 12 April 2016

We stayed in the Cabanas for a family trip to Suncity and it was perfect for what we needed. The hotel gave us two camp cots for my small boys and the facilities for kids are all close by. The KampKwena baby sitting service was brilliant and the concierge desk at Cabanas sorted it all out for us. We got...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Botswanafootprints
Ntte, Manager at Cabanas, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you very much for your feedback about your family holiday with us. We are glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and that we made your stay a great one. We agree with you that Cabanas has lots of facilities for the kids. This really adds on to a family visit. We hope...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 9 April 2016

We were last at the Cabanas a year ago. In this time they have refurbished the rooms in a modern style. Doors are coloured glass and modern with bright colours. The outside is now a modern grey - better that then cream of years past. Still a great place for children. Out only disappointment was that the entertainment centre is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Enjoymytravels
Ntte, Manager at Cabanas, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you for the feedback on your stay at Sun Cabanas. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We agree we did a great job with the refurbishment. We are glad that we still keep your children entertained. We apologise that the Wi-fi was a challenge to you. The Entertainment Centre is going to be...

Reviewed 8 April 2016 via mobile

Been checking Cabanas Sun city's website for some time now, I must say the website doesn't do justice, Cabanas is more beautiful and stylish. If you are a world traveler, there's three types of plugs in the hotel rooms for your convenience, including the USB plug, in case you forget your 3 pin. The cupboards' glass touches are out of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Walter M
Ntte, Manager at Cabanas, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you for choosing us even after seeing the website about our hotel. We are in a process to put new photos about the new product that has just been completed at the end of last year. We are happy that you found facilities in the room and on the Resort to be of the best. Hope you...

Savannah, Georgia
Reviewed 6 April 2016

When we arrived, the staff were friendly and very helpful. I checked into my room, which was small, but had all the necessary amenities. I turned on the ac and an hour later the floor was wet. So I complained and the management promised to take care of the wet floor and the leaking air conditioner unit. When I returned...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sara D
Ntte, Manager at Cabanas, responded to this review

Dear guest Our sincere apologies for not meeting your expectations. We regret that your stay was not what you expected from Sun Cabanas. We will address this with other managers to ensure that quick responses are given to our guests and to ensure we make them happy. Hope you will accept my sincere apology. We do not avoid complaints but...

Gillitts, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Reviewed 5 April 2016

After reading many negative reviews about the cabanas and the rooms, I was very impressed indeed. The room was small but very modern, king size bed, decent size bathroom, aircon and most importantly it was extremely clean including the crisp white linen. We had a quick dinner at the cabanas pool deck, which was nice, decent food, not huge portions....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tarryn F
Ntte, Manager at Cabanas, responded to this review

Dear guest Thanks very much for choosing us even after seeing negative comments about our hotel. We are so happy that you found our rooms and facilities to be of high standards. Sun Cabanas accommodates many children and this creates a hectic breakfast area. We will make note of your comment and ensure cleaning is done throughout the operating period....

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 3 April 2016

We were booked in a stylish standard family room which is modern but small. It has two single beds, a sleeper couch and a shower. Once the sleeper couch is assembled, there was no leg room; nonetheless, it wasn't much of an issue as most of the time was spent in the resort and only returned to the room, just...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charluz
George, South Africa
Reviewed 2 April 2016 via mobile

What an interesting place to visit. Very few places has so much variety to offer within such a short distance. World class Casino's, local Shabeens, water sports, fast food to first class cuisine, comedy, opera and local entertainment.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Denver2020
Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 29 March 2016

We spent 5 days in Sun City. The resort has so much to do. Our room was small, but you do not spend much time in the room except to sleep. All the staff we dealt with were friendly and the breakfast buffet was better than the hotel's 3 star grading. The Easter eggs for all the children was a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lizette B
Reviewed 28 March 2016

Recently stayed 4 days at the Cabanas at Sun City. The rooms are newly decorated. Comfortable new beds. Lovely bathrooms. The staff is very friendly. Fast service at reception. The cabanas is perfect for families. There is lots to do at Sun City. Loved it!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarelseemonster
A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2016 via mobile

Cabanas is definitely the place to stay with little kids. The activities for kids are lovely and water world is great for adults and kids! However the staff are really lazy they go away earlier for lunch so nothing available between 1 and 2 pm in terms of activities for children. A pity the staff don't return when you expect...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member

626 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (267)
Viewed
Room/Suite (33)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (37)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (139)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (323)
Viewed
Accessible Room (55)
Viewed
Amenities (38)
Viewed
Beach (21)
Viewed
Family Room with Lake View (51)
Viewed
Other (15)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
The Hotel (72)
Viewed
Twin Room with Lake View (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sun City
1.3 km away
Cascades, Sun City
Cascades, Sun City
#3 of 6 in Sun City
573 reviews
0.0 km away
The Palace of the Lost City
383.0 km away
Sun City Hotel
Sun City Hotel
#4 of 6 in Sun City
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
39.0 km away
Safari Lodge Hotel & Convention Centre
4.5 km away
Bakubung Bush Lodge
Bakubung Bush Lodge
#2 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
739 reviews
21.3 km away
The Royal Marang Hotel
The Royal Marang Hotel
#1 of 12 in Rustenburg
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Casino and Gambling
  • Golf Course
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The refreshing, laid back ambiance of the Cabanas hotel in South Africa is the immediate impression one receives upon welcome. The most relaxed of all the Sun City hotels, the Cabanas offer informal yet comfortable accommodation close to Johannesburg. All rooms offer modern decor and a retro design. Guests can choose between standard and luxury rooms, all are air-conditioned and equipped with flat screen TVs, tea and coffee making facilities, electronic safes and telephones. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cabanas

Address: R556 | Sun City Resort, Sun City 0316, South Africa
Region: South Africa > North-West Province > Sun City
Price Range: RM536 - RM1,138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cabanas 3*
Number of rooms: 380
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Cabanas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabanas, Sun City Hotel Sun City
Sun City Cabanas
Cabanas Hotel Sun City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cabanas staff and other travellers.
20 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (20)

Questions? Get answers from Cabanas staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Doesnt matter you will hardly be in it...”
 of 5 bubbles 411KD, 10 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Lake view rooms have a view of the lake but is further from the reception area where the pool is and breakfast is served.”
 of 5 bubbles Tishaf243, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
“rooms closer to the reception are always better and possibly ground floor rooms which have access to the gardens -”
 of 5 bubbles anandcheddie, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
“look for special rates on trip adviser”
 of 5 bubbles 87elskek, 21 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Take 2 rooms if you a family of 4...making it very expensive”
 of 5 bubbles brianhT4052EN, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5