We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Cabanas

Hotels.comUS$121*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$152*
US$121*
US$126*
US$152*
US$120*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Cabanas
Cabanas
Panoramas (8)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

685 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Cabanas
See the most recent reviews
Showing 616: English reviews
Benoni, South Africa
Reviewed 3 April 2017 via mobile

So being a somewhat frequent visitor to Sun City and deciding to spoil some family and bring them along, we booked the Cabanas for a change and due to the reduced rates.. it is very clear however why they are cheaper than the other hotels at the resort as their customer service upon arrival is non existent.. very promptly got...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robin_Clare-Talbot
Management response:

Dear Robin Am disappointed to hear that we did not meet your expectations. For this I must apologize. Kindly send me your contact details to vanessa.hoover@suninternational.com Warm regards Vanessa Hoover Cabanas Hotel Manager

Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape, South Africa
Reviewed 31 March 2017 via mobile

What an exceptional time at the Suncity, cabanas. It was a business trip but I had some down time. The service is amazing, staff are so friendly, the breakfast is Yummy yummy! The entertainment factor there is exceptional, so so much to do! Overall an amazing time. Sun City is an amazing place and a must holiday!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shaun A
Management response:

Dear Shaun, Thank you for the wonderful comments. It was a pleasure hosting you. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Warm Regards Vanessa Hoover Hotel Manager - Cabanas Hotel

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 30 March 2017

Left Durban on the early Mango flight to arrive at Lanseria airport - Destination - Sun City! From the scenic drive (passing fields of sunflowers) to the arrival at the main entrance of Sun City, was beautiful. I stayed at Cabanas and found the room to be clean and comfortable. The children LOVED the breakfast buffett! There is so much...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank AMANDA7484
Management response:

Dear Amanda, Thank you for the lovely feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back soon to the Cabanas Hotel. Warm Regards Vanessa Hoover Hotel Manager Cabanas Hotel

Surrey
Reviewed 30 March 2017 via mobile

We stayed in the Cabanas for 5 nights. The rooms have been recently refurbished. I would say we had the best room of all of them- front row ground floor right by the lake. Room 2601 was lovely and peaceful. Beds are comfortable and rooms are airconditioned with a bar fridge that you can use for your own snacks and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Ilzani
Management response:

Dear Ilanzi, Thank you for choosing the Cabanas Hotel. We are pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay. Look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Warm Regards Vanessa Hoover Hotel Manager

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 27 March 2017

Even if you have been to Sun City before, you have a whole new world waiting for you post the November 2016 renovations to the entire complex. The new Sun Central entertainment centre is now a fabulous, 5 star food court and activity centre. No more fighting for tables - there is plenty of space to sit and enjoy take...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank gazv10
Management response:

Dear Gav10 Thank you for your lovely comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sun City soon. Warm Regards Vanessa Hoover Hotel Manager Cabanas Hotel

Springbok
Reviewed 27 March 2017

We enjoyed our stay at the Cabanas. Although a bit expensive, one must remember that you not only pay for the room, but also for the use of all the facilities (like Valley of Waves). In that regard it is great value for money. Only drawback, the shower smelled funny and water welled up while showering. This however wasn't a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ben S
Management response:

Dear Ben S, Thank you fro your feedback. We look forward to seeing you soon. Warm Regards Vanessa Hoover Hotel Manager Cabanas Hotel

Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewed 26 March 2017 via mobile

I booked a room with lakeview and the rooms where nice and clean and felt new but it was too small and we had a hard time finding a space for our suitcases. The breakfast buffet is good though and the area is nice. There is not much going on at the hotel and you'll have to take the free...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PowerBlade
Management response:

Dear Power Blade, Thank you for your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Cabanas Hotel in the near future. Warm Regards Vanessa Hoover Hotel Manager Cabanas Hotel

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 22 March 2017

We stayed for a single night at the Cabanas with a group of family and friends. Each room had two or three kids plus parents in. The feedback is: Positives: Two play areas for the kids, one dedicated to meal times Breakfast! Refurbished rooms (interesting colour scheme though) Price Comes with full access to Valley of the Waves Beverages and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adrianvdm
Management response:

Dear Adrian, Thank you for choosing the Cabanas hotel and for the feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sun City. Warm Regards Vanessa Hoover Hotel Manager Cabanas Hotel

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 21 March 2017

Positives: Good, varied breakfast It's the cheapest place to stay if you have to stay at Sun City Good service from everyone - nice, friendly and helpful staff Beds are comfortable Negatives: Rooms are small and feel cramped As a general rule at Sun City the coffee is terrible Extractor fan in our bedroom made a lot of noise and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SWelz
Management response:

Dear SWelz Thank you for your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sun City soon. Warm Regards Vanessa

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 20 March 2017

We stayed at the hotel for an event and had a great time. The rooms are small and it is a pity that they open to the corridor. This means that you have little privacy in the room unless the curtains are drawn. That was our only gripe and we didn't spend much time in the room because there is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicoline_11
Management response:

Dear Nicoline_11 Thank you for choosing the Cabanas Hotel. We are glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay. Look forward to welcoming you back to the Cabanas. Warm Regards Vanessa Hoover Hotel Manager Cabanas Hotel

629 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (270)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (37)
Viewed
Room/Suite (33)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (142)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (323)
Viewed
Accessible Room (55)
Viewed
Amenities (38)
Viewed
Beach (21)
Viewed
Family Room with Lake View (51)
Viewed
Other (15)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
The Hotel (72)
Viewed
Twin Room with Lake View (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (7)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sun City
0.3 km away
Cascades, Sun City
Cascades, Sun City
#4 of 6 in Sun City
596 reviews
0.9 km away
The Palace of the Lost City
383.0 km away
Sun City Hotel
Sun City Hotel
#3 of 6 in Sun City
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.8 km away
Safari Lodge Hotel & Convention Centre
4.5 km away
Bakubung Bush Lodge
Bakubung Bush Lodge
#2 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
767 reviews
31.6 km away
The Royal Marang Hotel
The Royal Marang Hotel
#1 of 12 in Rustenburg
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Casino and Gambling
  • Golf Course
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The refreshing, laid back ambiance of the Cabanas hotel in South Africa is the immediate impression one receives upon welcome. The most relaxed of all the Sun City hotels, the Cabanas offer informal yet comfortable accommodation close to Johannesburg. All rooms offer modern decor and a retro design. Guests can choose between standard and luxury rooms, all are air-conditioned and equipped with flat screen TVs, tea and coffee making facilities, electronic safes and telephones. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cabanas

Address: R556 | Sun City Resort, Sun City 0316, South Africa
Region: South Africa > North-West Province > Sun City
Price Range: RM511 - RM1,023 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cabanas 3*
Number of rooms: 380
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cabanas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabanas, Sun City Hotel Sun City
Sun City Cabanas
Cabanas Hotel Sun City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cabanas staff and other travellers.
23 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (23)

Questions? Get answers from Cabanas staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Lake view is recommended, although the walking especially from the room to reception is not old age friendly.”
abcdef493, 23 May 2017 | Read review
“Don't stay in another hotel in Sun City”
barkera3, 11 May 2017 | Read review
“Lake View - although you have to walk out 50 steps to get the view”
navnithp, 1 May 2017 | Read review
“If you have toddlers, rather choose the garden units on the ground floor”
Nirasha_Sewpersad, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Doesnt matter you will hardly be in it...”
411KD, 10 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$121* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$126
TravelocityUS$120
HotelQuicklyUS$152
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates