We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Bay Hotel

CancelonUS$138*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$173*
US$138*
Great Deal
US$151*
US$151*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Professional photos
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
Panoramas (14)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,085 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Bay Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 998: English reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We went for drinks to the bistro at the bay. We were told that they had run out of lemonade so none of the mixers we wanted we could have. They did not have any of the craft drinks either. Its a poor show for a hotel on the golden mile

 Report
Helpful?
Thank laralauts
Richard R, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Laralauts, My apologies that you did not receive your drinks in the expected time. I assure you we do have craft drinks and they are available. I will be around to make sure you get the appropriate service in future. My Apologies Richard Rudham

Birmingham
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here in April - which we didn't know was infact heading into winter! You wouldn't know! The weather was glorious! Only had one over cast day with a speckle of rain. The hotel is stunning - right opposite the beach 2 inifinity pools (with doughnut chairs to bop around in) and plenty of cushioned sunloungers to go around!...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank KellyRebecca22
Richard R, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear KellyRebecca22, I am very please that you enjoyed your stay with us. The weather has been great for soaking up the sun and enjoying our pool facilities. It is always a pleasure to see you enjoyed the tours. We look forward to your next stay. Kind regards Richard Rudham

A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

End of 3 week stay in S Africa and arrived to a pleasant reception area. Receptionist was pleasant on check in and showed us to our room - slightly irritated that on the way he kept telling me how lucky I was to have this room. I didn't point out that I had paid for a superior room so was...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Richard R, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review

I am terribly saddened that you did not have a good experience with us. I would really like to talk to you about your experiance if you would provide me the oppotunity. My email address is hostmanager@thebayhotel.com. Kind regards Richard Rudham

West Byfleet, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We do not stay at the Bay Hotel but use it for evening drinks and the odd lunch. On our recent visit, we noticed and distinct deterioration of the level of service in the Pool Bar and the total lack of discipline of the 'New' type of guests who think it appropriate to parade near naked through the Bar and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ray G
Richard R, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ray G, I am sad to hear you did not enjoy your afternoon with us. If my staff where not performing to the standard we are proud to keep I must personally apologies. I am currently doing my best to train and develop our service experience. If you ever feel we are not looking after you please contact me...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I just love this hotel. The rooms are fantastic and the location in Camps Bay is just superb. I love the size of the rooms with more than enough space and if you get one of their classic rooms, which leads into the pool deck, even better. We go back every year and are never disappointed.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank neilk396
Richard R, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear neilk396, It always makes my day to read a review such as yours. It is a fantastic experience to look onto those blue pools. I hope you keep fond memories of your stay with us and I look forward to seeing you next year. Kind regards Richard Rudham Host Manager

Holywood, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 April 2017

I stayed here for 12 days in March. I would return every year if possible ! The hotel rooms are a great size and very clean, with all the amenities. The hotel is immaculate. the spa and hairdresser is super. Breakfast was lovely with a good variety of choices. the pool side bar is also good. Staff did seem under...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank emmajayne110
Richard R, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Emmajayne110, Thank you for your review,I will make sure that the speed of service improves my your next stay. I am ecstatic to hear that you had a good stay. Kind regards Richard Rudham Host Manager

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 April 2017 via mobile

... until our last day. Hence 4 stars. The hotel is beautiful and most staff are helpful. Flight not until late so offered to take our bags from sea view room to day room and charge us R900 - reasonable. Finished spa treatment and wanted to charge R2900 for 3 hours in windowless room! Spoiled an otherwise perfect stay. Bay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JanDLondon
Richard R, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear JanDLondon, I am happy to hear you enjoyed the majority of your stay with us. I am however concerned that you did not feel like we offered value for money. Please contact me at your earliest convenience I will like to discuss this with you directly. My email is hostmanager@thebayhotel.com Kind regards Richard Rudham Host Manager

Reviewed 8 April 2017

Wonderful service, relaxed and fun atmosphere, right in the heart of Camps Bay. Close to the beach and lots of fun restaurants. 20mins from Cape Town Central and all the amazing restaurants that they have their. Wonderful concierge to advise you and to organise all the fun things to do and places to eat. Book tickets on line for Cable...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa J
Richard R, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lisa J, I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We always strive to make sure our guests enjoy Cape Town to its full potential. Thank you for your review and look forward to seeing you next time. Kind regards Richard Rudham Host Manager

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 7 April 2017

enjoyed a lovely sunny day here from early in the morning until late in the evening. We were taken care of like 5 star guests, the service staff taking care, constantly walking around and taking care of all our needs. The hotel is perfectly situated, overlooking camps bay, If you want to look up whats happening out in the street,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pdijjie7
Richard R, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Pdijjie7, Thank you for the review. I am thrilled you enjoyed yourself while with us. It is always great to hear that we where able to create an environment you where able to relax in. I hope to hear from you soon. Kind regards Richard Rudham Host Manager

Pleasanton, California
Reviewed 6 April 2017

I stayed two nights at the Bay Hotel and it was amazing. Great room, location and close to Cape Town. But what separates it from other hotels is there customer service. From the gate operator, vallet, front desk, and house keeping staff. They all wanted to make sure your every need is takening care of. Sedick, the Manager, went above...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Debra M
Richard R, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Debra, It always lightens my heart to hear that guests are seeing a genuine care and kindness from our team. We always aim to not only maintain service level but exceed expectations where ever possible. I am glad Sedick was able to help with your wine, he is truly amazing. I will let him know how happy he has...

759 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (488)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (91)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (93)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (68)
Viewed
View from Room (52)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (147)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (223)
Viewed
Amenities (32)
Viewed
Cabana Pool (20)
Viewed
Main Pool (14)
Viewed
Premier Room with Mountain View (52)
Viewed
Dining (49)
Viewed
Sandy B Pool (10)
Viewed
The Hotel (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (48)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Camps Bay hotels
0.4 km away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
286 reviews
0.4 km away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
633 reviews
3.9 km away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel
0.7 km away
Camps Bay Retreat
Camps Bay Retreat
#9 of 12 in Camps Bay
403 reviews
0.2 km away
The Place on the Bay
The Place on the Bay
#10 of 12 in Camps Bay
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A distinctive blend of sophisticated elegance and casual comfort. The Bay Hotel is superbly designed with 78 rooms and suites offering luxury in an unsurpassed setting. No less than four hotel pools with expansive sun decks offer superlative views of the Atlantic Ocean and majestic Lion's Head. Renowned as a haven for romantics, leisure is our catchword, from rejuvenating spa treatments to the convenience of our unique cocktail bar. And for the ultimate in relaxation, we recommend our cigar lounge and bar with breathtaking views. Celebrate special events at the intimate Celebration Table or Private Deck overlooking a sapphire sea. Fully-equipped meeting and events venues are available to suit every occasion, including the historic Rotunda for glittering parties and flawless weddings. Breathe deep... Exhale slowly and rediscover fun. Float into blissful relaxation while enjoying our exceptional brand of hospitality. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Bay Hotel

Address: 69 Victoria Road, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Price Range: RM506 - RM2,046 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Bay Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Hotel Camps
The Bay Hotel Camps Bay, Cape Town, South Africa
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Camps Bay
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Camps Bay
#5 Business Hotel in Camps Bay
#5 Luxury Hotel in Camps Bay
#6 Romantic Hotel in Camps Bay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Bay Hotel staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question
Killarney, Ireland
chicago il
4 months ago

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from The Bay Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All the rooms have either the Sea/pool view or the Mountain view. Stayed in Room 311 - Luxury room, corner room with more privacy :)”
gsc2001in, 21 May 2017 | Read review
“Get a sea view and enjoy the sunsets”
leali2017, 30 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Probably a high Floor and rear facing”
377rayg, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“418 has lovely views of Table Mountain”
emmajayne110, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
“I booked a the second floor above the pool. That way your balcony in above the pool and looking straight out over the beach!”
debram681, 6 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Cancelon
US$138* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$151
Expedia.comUS$151
Hostelworld.comUS$173
View all 13 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates