We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Avatara Guest House

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Avatara Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

62 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 58: English reviews
Start your review of Avatara Guest House
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great, friendly and care taking team! Very clean house and rooms with nice personal deco and lots of character. Tasty breakfast. Perfectly located at the doorstep of waterfront and Signal Hill. Full of places to go eat and drink during day and night. Safe walking neighborhood. Definitively a reco!

Thank Chevy-Kid
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 7 February 2017

When you are staying in Cape Town, location is very important. Avatara is in the perfect location--close enough to walk to the V&A Waterfront, many restaurants and stores, a pharmacy, etc. and most importantly, to feel safe while doing it. The staff are helpful and flexible, allowing luggage storage, lending electrical converters, arranging airport transportation and preparing super-early breakfasts when...

1Thank travel-hawthorne
Reviewed 30 January 2017

Avatara was a very nice place to stay. We loved the Old (lovely high ceilings-creaky stairs-large windows) mixed with the New (king-sized bed-modern bathrooms-wifi). Our room was roomy and comfortable. The breakfast was very good, served in a lovely patio room with a glass-ceiling. Staff members were very friendly and very helpful, not only with the accommodations, but also with...

Thank julie b
Reviewed 18 January 2017

Avatara Guesthouse is in a great safe location, walkable area and walking distance from numerous restaurants and cafes. The staff are also very hard working and sincere, they really seemed to care whether we were satisfied or comfortable. Breakfast was included, the buffet was humble but it did offer all the delicious essentials like fruits, cereals, bread, freshly made omelettes,...

2Thank L S
Reviewed 10 January 2017

Thanks Cher for another wonderful stay, made all the better by your fabulous staff, and the upgrade to room 3. This has always been my favourite room, and is now even better. I love the window to the outside, this now allows fresh air in from outside, along with even more sunshine. The room is so fresh and airy now....

1Thank InfijarKen
Reviewed 9 January 2017

Spent a night with the family at the guesthouse. Very friendly staff, very good location, still quiet. Our room was beautiful and had a british turn-of-the-century touch to it. Lots of dark wood. Prices were a little on the steep side, we felt. Would come again tough, if budget allows for it.

Thank Silentbasho
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 November 2016

Very friendly and comfortable guesthouse in a good location close to the Waterfront. Cher is a delightful lady and very welcoming (despite my late arrival!). Decent shower, lots of clothes hanging space and I'd happily stay there again.

1Thank David_from_Brissle
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 21 September 2016 via mobile

Very pleasant place to stay. Always tidy and well kept. My parents were staying in the waterfront and after looking at my room would have preferred Avatara. Host replied to all my emails and was very friendly and welcoming

1Thank jackkarikios
Hermanus, South Africa
Reviewed 20 February 2016

A delightful boutique guest house in Green Point only a short walk from the Waterfront. This guest house is run by the delightful Cher and her team who look after you with care and interest. Lovely rooms, two of which overlook the inner courtyard where you have breakfast. Two car parking spaces out front and plenty of on-street parking.

Thank Nigel k
CherPoz, Owner at Avatara Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to compliment us. We appreciate it and we were honoured to share your special engagement with you too. Thank you so much for choosing us!

Reviewed 19 February 2016 via mobile

Good location , clean and spacious rooms . Friendly owner and staff and helped us to book a trip to a game reserve However would benefit from air conditioning and a lock up to store bags . We had a late night flight and unable to leave our bags anywhere so had to carry them around in the heat. Our...

Thank pinkpurplejohn
CherPoz, Owner at Avatara Guest House, responded to this review

Hi So sorry that you found Avatara to be just ok. I had responded to all of your requests, even late at night - immediately- with assistance as I really try to make our guest's experience as best as possible. If I may explain the issues you complained about: we offer early check ins and check outs at no additional...

31 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (8)
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Dining (1)
Room/Suite (1)
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (23)
Room/Suite (12)
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Bathroom (2)
View from Room (1)
Dining (1)
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
Port View House
#88 of 163 in Cape Town Central
76 reviews
Cape Standard
#16 of 163 in Cape Town Central
547 reviews
4 On Varneys
#39 of 163 in Cape Town Central
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Harpers House
#137 of 949 in Cape Town
62 reviews
Wilton Manor Guest House
#29 of 163 in Cape Town Central
258 reviews
City Bowl
12 Hofmeyr
12 Hofmeyr
#62 of 163 in Cape Town Central
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Looking for that ideal home away from home while you explore Cape Town… Avatara offers this and much more. Situated at the foot of Signal Hill, we are within walking distance to the popular V&A Waterfront, Green Point Stadium, De Waterkant’s Cape Quarter and a 5 minute drive to Table Mountain, CTICC, city centre and the world’s most spectacular beaches. Deli’s, restaurants and shops are all meters away from our doorstep.Tranquil romantic rooms echoing a sophisticated mood from the original Victorian home ensures comfort and convenience. Features include Oregon Pine floors, high old-fashioned ceilings and the rooms are equipped with exquisite crisp linen, flat screen tv’s, heated towel rails and WiFi. We want guests to feel rested and serene, shifting their energy in a positive way while they explore our beautiful city. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Avatara Guest House

Address: 25 Leinster Road | Corner York Road, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Price Range: RM323 - RM815 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Avatara Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Avatara Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avatara Guest House Cape Town, South Africa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Avatara Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“ground floor / top floor street side.”
 of 5 bubbles Chevy-Kid, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All guests seemed to respect others and were quiet even on wooden floors.”
 of 5 bubbles travel-hawthorne, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Quiet neighborhood; no elevator, so stairs to 2nd & 3rd floors; this is a lovingly renovated 19th century house with a few creaky floors, but great charm. Some rooms open into public space, but after breakfast the house feels very private.”
 of 5 bubbles donnabM5903SF, 9 Apr 2015 | Read review
“Room nr 1 was spacious and ideal for a couple. It faces the road, but if one closes the blid is very private. It is very close to the kitchen.”
 of 5 bubbles carmelizar2015, 12 Jan 2015 | Read review
“The room I had, upstairs, with a great balcony (chaise, table and chairs), great bed, clean and comfortable bathroom. I think it is number 3 or 4, but cannot remember. I would recommend upstairs, probably quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles 2014lillian2014, 13 Oct 2014 | Read review
5 of 5