We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hilton Cape Town City Centre

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,186 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hilton Cape Town City Centre
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,025: English reviews
San Francisco, California
Reviewed 28 February 2016 via mobile

Although we were upgraded to a beautiful room - we came back to our room at 8:30 pm on 2/22/16 and were shocked to find our door wide open (stuck open against the magnetic door stop mounted to the inside wall of our room). Hilton security confirmed from the hallway cameras that the door had been left open for several...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TLaiS
MarcSchumacher, General Manager at Hilton Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at our property. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed our modern and comfortable rooms. I sincerely regret to learn about the incident and would like to take this opportunity to sincerely apologize for the inconvenience. Your report is viewed in a serious light....

Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 February 2016 via mobile

Don't stay in the V&A it's a Floridian shopping mall with restaurants and droves of tourists. Stay at Hilton Centre next to the Bo Kaap area. This is real Cape Town where the locals hang out and it's half the price of the V&A. The bars in this area are proper local, the Beer Garden on Bree St. Great place...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank harryf007
MarcSchumacher, General Manager at Hilton Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. It delights me to read that you enjoyed being in the location which was close to awesome restaurants, bars and local markets. Thank you for your recommendation to other travellers and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Mother City. With my...

Malibu
Reviewed 26 February 2016

This hotel is centrally located and has a free shuttle to the tourist area and business district. The room was spacious and immaculate. The executive lounge had a very generous complimentary breakfast and a cocktail and canapé offering that lasted for 3 hours. The staff were very helpful and efficient and seemed to care about their guests.

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tom734
MarcSchumacher, General Manager at Hilton Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time write about your recent stay at Hilton Cape Town City Centre. Thank you for the positive review regarding the location, amenities, accommodation and service received from our helpful staff. Your feedback is valued and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. With my personal regards, Marc Schumacher General Manager

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 26 February 2016

I stayed 3 nights in another hotel in Cape Town and then one week in the Hilton City Centre. I should have stayed all the time in the Hilton, would have been much nicer. The location is very good. Long Street is very close, the colorful Bo Kaap is just beside the hotel and they run a shuttle bus to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GarySchmid30
MarcSchumacher, General Manager at Hilton Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor. It's such a pleasure to know that you enjoyed your time here with us and would recommend Hilton Cape Town City Centre to other travellers. Your positive comments are greatly appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. With my personal regards, Marc Schumacher General Manager

Inverness, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 February 2016

No welcome on arrival. Room not ready after 3hours. Pool shut for 8days no alternative offered, it was more acceptable for guests to move to another hotel than to come up with a solution, customers being disappointed didn't even cross their mind it seemed. Carnival outside hotel late night, early morning no warning given. We were TOLD we would have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LisaDon1
MarcSchumacher, General Manager at Hilton Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at our property. I would like to take this opportunity to sincerely apologize for the unwelcomed atmosphere you received at reception. Please be assured its certainly not in keeping with the high standards we strive to maintain. The matter has been communicated to the Front...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 24 February 2016

My wife and I were moved to another hotel in capetown because of an over booking issue. No explanation and no follow up, which caused issues with our day trip the following day. Our tour operator had to make numerous calls to rectify the issues that the Hilton had caused. My wife and I were disappointed in their lack of...

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Deyvis M
MarcSchumacher, General Manager at Hilton Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at Hilton Cape Town City Centre. With regards to your booking, this was a very unfortunate incident where we had an interface failure in the reservation system for one day, which left the hotel with an overbooking situation. This is absolutely not the service we...

Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 February 2016

Beautifully furnished room with most comfortable bed. Concierge service outstanding. Buffet breakfast good and all staff very helpful. Quiet location but only short walk to amenities - cafes, shops, market, etc. Shuttle bus to and from The Waterfront. The best Hilton stayed in and I have visited a good few! Pool and fitness centre and open air lounge bar.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stewart H
MarcSchumacher, General Manager at Hilton Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at our property. Your positive comments regarding your room and service received from our concierge staff is much appreciated. Thank you for recommending our hotel to other travellers placing emphasis on our great location which is in close proximity to cafes, the V& A Waterfront...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 24 February 2016

After multiple flights from Australia, we arrived at the Hilton in Cape Town to find they had an error in their system and we were shunted to another hotel in the city with no further explanation. Shazeem refused to answer our questions which included, notifying our tour operators of our move and where our parcel delivery for the next day...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Maria I
MarcSchumacher, General Manager at Hilton Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at Hilton Cape Town City Centre. With regards to your booking, this was a very unfortunate incident where we had an interface failure in the reservation system for one day, which left the hotel with an overbooking situation. This is absolutely not the service we...

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 22 February 2016

We had Halal Foreigners visiting and took them to the Hilton for a meal. Service was extremely slow (not lots of people in restaurant) so no excuse, food was well presented but not up to scratch. We had to return one dish and the other guest was too hungry to complain as he did not want to wait for his...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Odie104
MarcSchumacher, General Manager at Hilton Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for sharing your recent experience on Trip Advisor. It disheartens me to read that you were not satisfied with the service received. This is definitely not the normal standard of service we offer our guests at Hilton Cape Town City Centre. I refer to your comments regarding dinner at our Restaurant. Please accept our sincere...

Phoenix, AZ
Reviewed 22 February 2016 via mobile

As far as hotels personally as long as its clean and safe for a good price I'm happy. Stayed 3 nights and had no issues at all, but if you're on business the wifi is very poor, at least in our room on the second floor so took multiple tries to send an attachment with a text message. Location is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank clarkkr79
MarcSchumacher, General Manager at Hilton Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay at Hilton Cape Town City Centre. I'm pleased to read that you had a great stay and enjoyed your view of Table Mountain from your room. Your recommendation to travellers is much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Mother...

431 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (338)
Viewed
View from Room (38)
Viewed
Room/Suite (65)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (32)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (27)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (159)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (93)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (48)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (28)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel & Spa
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel & Spa
#36 of 106 in Cape Town Central
913 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#16 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,624 reviews
The Westin Cape Town
#23 of 106 in Cape Town Central
2,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#32 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,632 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,179 reviews
Pepperclub Hotel & Spa
#46 of 106 in Cape Town Central
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the heart of South Africa's second largest city at the foot of Table Mountain, the Hilton Cape Town City Centre hotel is only 20 minutes from Cape Town Airport and is close to many shops and businesses, the wine district, a variety of beaches and the National Parliament. All of the modern Guest Rooms at this Cape Town hotel boast large windows, 32-inch LCD TVs and complimentary wireless internet access. Upgrade to an Executive Room for stunning views of Table Mountain or the city and access to the Executive Lounge, with complimentary breakfast, canapés and drinks. Hold a conference for up to 120 guests in one of 6 meeting rooms or 2 board rooms, which offer the very latest in audio/visual technology and ensure your event is a success with our business center. Indulge in an all-day dining experience in the elegant Mezbaan restaurants(Halaal certified by ICSA) and sip cocktails and relax with a fragrant shisha pipe in the exotic Signal Hill Terrace Lounge and Restaurant. Work out in our Fitness Center or soak up the glorious South African sunshine and stunning views of the Bo-Kaap and Table Mountain in the outdoor swimming pool. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hilton Cape Town City Centre

Address: 126 Buitengracht Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > Schotsche Kloof
Price Range: RM647 - RM1,812 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Cape Town City Centre 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hilton Cape Town City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Cape Town City Centre Hotel Cape Town Central
Hilton Cape Town City Centre South Africa
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#36 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#40 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#43 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hilton Cape Town City Centre staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Hilton Cape Town City Centre staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room with a view of Table Mountain - sensational to wake up to every morning.”
 of 5 bubbles Aussie8869, 10 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Not a hotel I would recommend when there are so many others to choose from”
 of 5 bubbles lindajI7178WR, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Overlooking the pool is probably best with balcony”
 of 5 bubbles PaulineL109, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Have a meal at this hotel if you visit Cape Town.”
 of 5 bubbles DDR1234, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a view of Table Mountain”
 of 5 bubbles 998marciam, 27 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5