We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Mountain Manor Oak Lodge Residence

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Mountain Manor Oak Lodge Residence
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

45 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 41: English reviews
Start your review of Mountain Manor Oak Lodge Residence
 Click to rate
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed in an Executive Room, which we secured late. It was pretty expensive but did not include breakfast. The manager was friendly and helpful, and the overall atmosphere of the place was pleasant. But I do have some concerns. The lighting in the Executive Room needs serious attention. It is way too dark to enable one to put on...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank brendasJ6308BT
Karlstad, Sweden
Reviewed 1 week ago

Good service, great breakfast. The bed was very comfortable. The room was large and airy. It was close to a shopping centre which was convenient. The outside facilities were very good. The atmosphere was friendly and homely and the staff very good.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 904ekaterinal
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

As the shipping agent I booked this accommodation for one of our crew members. This was done thinking that this was a 3 star Guest House being guided by the price of R840-00 per night as well as the website. To our dismay he was actually booked into a four bedded dormitory. I spoke to Gerhard who was less than...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 475suzanne
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 12 January 2017

Your thin white manager kept my family at the gate for a long time,we rang the bell several times,eventually when he came he didn't apologize he told me straight away I am not the only customer I asked for a refund he refused,what was meant to be a good family stay turned into a racial thing,I have never felt so...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Lawrence N
MJWhitehead, Owner at Mountain Manor Oak Lodge Residence, responded to this review

Dear Mam I have already responded to you via email, but since you have made this public - I must respond to you here too. You arrived whilst the manager was attending to other guests and was walking them to their room - you had to wait precisely 9 minutes at the gate for which I have apologised. There was...

Barcelona, Spain
Reviewed 11 January 2017

It is a lovely place, I will recomended to everyone. The area is really nice, restidential so you can have nice walks around there. The thing we would like to highlight is the service. Jarrod, the person who runs the place is the most servicial and friendly person, he has helped us in everything. We want to thank him to...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 234mariona
MJWhitehead, Owner at Mountain Manor Oak Lodge Residence, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to compliment. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels.

Durban
Reviewed 30 December 2016

The resort staff were very friendly and helpful. The owner Michelle was very unfriendly. She did not greet us at all although she saw us outside. She smoked at the pool in proximity to our 5 mth old..

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 795lalithaj
MJWhitehead, Owner at Mountain Manor Oak Lodge Residence, responded to this review

Good evening, My apologies for the delay in answering your comments. My name is Michelle, and I am the owner of Mountain Manor. Firstly - I do NOT smoke - I have never smoked in my life and I never will. You clearly have me confused with someone else. I am not an unfriendly person and if I had seen...

London
Reviewed 30 December 2016

The hotel and staff were lovely ! The internet was not good :( The hotel could do with a little update like a few minor broken things like chairs and door handles, but apart from that it was fabulous !

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank L2280CLannas
Pennington, South Africa
Reviewed 20 December 2016

Not a great experience. Cost versus benefit ratio not congruent. Small poorly ventilated room with not even a normal shower. The place was so locked up that I even got locked out on visiting a friend IN THE SAME PROPERTY! The pool was bearly fit for human emersement. The breakfast was good!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lennart E
MJWhitehead, Owner at Mountain Manor Oak Lodge Residence, responded to this review

Dear Lennart I'm sorry that you did not enjoy your stay as much as your friend who has been visiting our property for close to 6 years now does. There are other options in the house other than the smallest and cheapest room in the house - which you chose. As you are probably aware - Cape Town is experiencing...

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 1 December 2016

Comfortable, clean, spacious rooms. Perfect for a quick stay in Cape Town. Central location and lots of takeways / restuarants close by. Staff were pleasant and helpful. I would definitely go back to Mountain Manor Guest Lodge.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank amymQ9785RK
MJWhitehead, Owner at Mountain Manor Oak Lodge Residence, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to compliment our service - it is much appreciated. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2016 via mobile

We stayed in one of Mountain manor selfcatering units. Friendly staff...a special thanks to Elizabeth that made sure that we are comfortable and happy. The guesthouse is clean and have a nice ambience with a lovely pool and outside area where guests can relax. Very close to the cbd and a variety off good restuarants close by. We will definately...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member

46 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (25)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Forty8 Backpackers Hotel
#71 of 129 in Cape Town Central
86 reviews
City Bowl
Mountain Manor Guesthouse
Mountain Manor Guesthouse
#145 of 162 in Cape Town Central
58 reviews
City Bowl
Atforest Guest House
Atforest Guest House
#132 of 162 in Cape Town Central
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
Once in Cape Town
Once in Cape Town
#8 of 129 in Cape Town Central
435 reviews
Ashanti Lodge Gardens
#11 of 129 in Cape Town Central
484 reviews
City Bowl
Cape Town Backpackers
Cape Town Backpackers
#30 of 129 in Cape Town Central
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Mountain Manor Back Packers lodge is situated in a quiet, leafy area - a mere 10 minute walk away from the hustle and bustle of the city. Around the corner from the Gardens shopping centre - and the MyCiti bus - we are very close to the bus of Cape Town. All facilities in the Back Packers Lodge are SHARED - shared rooms / shared bathrooms / shared kitchens and entertainment areas. We offer 58 beds in total - rooms divided into either 12, 8, 6, 4 or private rooms of 2 beds. Make your choice. There is a roof top deck looking up to Table Mountain - a bar and an outdoor braai area for your convenience. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mountain Manor Oak Lodge Residence

Address: 21 Breda Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa (Formerly Mountain Manor Backpackers Lodge)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Price Range: RM227 - RM227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Mountain Manor Oak Lodge Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Manor Oak Lodge Residence Cape Town, South Africa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Mountain Manor Oak Lodge Residence staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't stay there. They are ripping you off.”
 of 5 bubbles 475suzanne, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Save yourself some trouble and don't stay here. It is dark and old and it smells like it.”
 of 5 bubbles alhdvm, 10 Feb 2015 | Read review
“Ask to be in one of the upstairs dorms!”
 of 5 bubbles RLivs, 29 Jul 2013 | Read review
“10 bed dorm room is great.”
 of 5 bubbles Mon238, 8 Jul 2012 | Read review
4 of 4