We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Backpack

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
The Backpack
The Backpack
Panoramas (10)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

621 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Backpack
See the most recent reviews
Showing 523: English reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2015 via mobile

Started our south Africa trip staying at this hostel and only Complaint would be it made every other hostel pale in comparison. Great place with fun outgoing people. Staff very helpful and the breakfast was well beyond what would expect, really good!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joshkinnear
JadeCPT, Duty Manager at The Backpack, responded to this review

Hey! Thank you for the great compliment, very far from a complaint! We are so glad you enjoyed interacting with our lovely staff and enjoyed the free continental breakfast. Hope to see you again soon, Kind Regards, Jade Calmeyer

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 6 August 2015

The trouble with such high reviews is it creates high expectations. This place becomes extremely noisy well before dawn with various overlander crews stomping around hauling gear to and from, banging walls etc, not to mention the kitchen crew-- who are a bit more quiet, but still create an echoing affect with their pots, pans, recycled bottles from the bar...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Brian J
JadeCPT, Duty Manager at The Backpack, responded to this review

Hi there. We have high reviews because we are here to give the guests a great experience, a memorable stay, and with efforts from all staff we are able to achieve this. Your review does not sound like it was meant for us - we have noise level control after midnight, we do not have overlander crew moving gear around...

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 30 July 2015

Cape Town was the end of a 5 month overland journey that began in Cairo. After months of camping and a spectrum of hostels and hotels, it was a sheer delight to end here. Hip, spacious, and clean with great wifi, communal spaces, safes, and eager and helpful staff made for a wonderful close to an epic journey. A couple...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ChaeAmando
JadeCPT, Duty Manager at The Backpack, responded to this review

Hi there and thank you for the review of The Backpack. Wow, aren't you so lucky to have done such an incredible Africa Trip and we are so happy that your last stop was with us. We are so glad that you had a great time and we hope to make it "epic" for you in the future. Kind Regards,...

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 29 July 2015

I did a fair amount of research when I booked my stay at The Back Pack in Cape Town and I have to say that I'm very happy with the results. Firstly, the staff are incredibly friendly and helpful, second, this is one of the friendliest hostels I have ever stayed at. There is a great vibe lingering in this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GK L
JadeCPT, Duty Manager at The Backpack, responded to this review

Hey, thanks for the awesome review! We are so pleased that The Backpack gave you a space to make new friends with staff and travelers, so you could wonder into the city centre to try out the restaurants and clubs. We only provide a free breakfast as there are so many great food places just down the road from us...

Armagh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 July 2015

My partner and I stayed here for 5 nights at the start of the month. Really nice hostel. Staff are very good- we had a problem with cold water in our shower and they were very apologetic and got it sorted straight away! Room was a bit cold, however, it is winter in SA so this is to be expected!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SuzannaVa
JadeCPT, Duty Manager at The Backpack, responded to this review

Hi there and thank you for taking the time to review us! We are so glad that you enjoyed your cold winter stay with us and that the efforts the staff made to make you warmer and happier went a long way. We do apologise that you did not receive your key deposit money back but be sure to know...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 23 July 2015

It was a nice simple room (I had a single). The bed was comfy. It had a wardrobe with a safe inside. There was also a bench and a bedside lamp. The heater is slow to heat up the room but get's there eventually. It's very close to Kloof Street which has a lot of restaurants. Showers and toilets were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kd0g2
JadeCPT, Duty Manager at The Backpack, responded to this review

Hey, thanks for the awesome review! It is great to hear that you had a brilliant stay with us and that the breakfast was well received! The closer you are to the WiFi router the better the signal is and unfortunately there are some dead spots around the hostel which we are trying to fix. We hope to see you...

A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed 22 July 2015 via mobile

The Backpack is the perfect place to stay. The wonderful staff makes everything so easy and the place feels like home. Such a great atmosphere and an awesome place to meet some great people. It is an awesome home base for anyone who is staying in Cape Town and is looking for a great trip.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
JadeCPT, Duty Manager at The Backpack, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review, we are so chuffed to know that your stay was one of a kind with us and that staying with us made your trip to Cape Town that much more special. We hope that we will be seeing you again in the future! Kind Regards, Jade Calmeyer.

Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewed 21 July 2015

We traveled in a group of 4 and spent 3 nights in the "President's Suite". The bedroom was very tidy and the bathroom was well kept. The staff helped us to plan activities for our time in Cape Town. The staff members took care of communicating with various tour/ group activities to ensure a successful booking. Every staff member from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aaron B
JadeCPT, Duty Manager at The Backpack, responded to this review

Hi there and thank you for taking the time to give us this review. We are so happy to hear that every single staff member in The Backpack treated you well and made sure that they met your every need. We are so proud when our story gets passed on and when guests can understand how their stay with us...

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 20 July 2015

The Backpacker is even better in reality than on the photographs. It is well located close to Kloof and Long street where there are many excellent restaurants and bars. The décor and style is very vibrant and you can really feel comfortable and at home. We stayed in the Madiba room which was excellent with a view over the swimming...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BenKunz
JadeCPT, Duty Manager at The Backpack, responded to this review

Hello, thank you for reviewing us. It's awesome that you had a good stay with us, enjoying your room, Cape Town and its surrounding and the spectacular views of Table Mountain from our swimming pool area! Come back again soon, Kind Regards, Jade Calmeyer

Truro, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 July 2015

I spent 5 nights in total and the friendliness of all the staff is what makes the Back Pack different. With such a reception it helps all travellers relax and talk and i thoroughly enjoyed my staff and met so great people from all over the world. Well recommended i stayed in a small dorm and it was clean ,sociable...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank forevermagpie
JadeCPT, Duty Manager at The Backpack, responded to this review

Hi, thanks for the lovely review of our hostel! We are so chuffed that the staff made your stay excellent and that all the advice we could give helped! We hope that in the future you can come back and stay with us again! Kind Regards, Jade Calmeyer

377 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (164)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
1:48
Videos (5)
Viewed
Other (77)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (182)
Viewed
Amenities (24)
Viewed
Pool (8)
Viewed
President's Suite (38)
Viewed
Private Room (27)
Viewed
Private Room with Shared Bathroom (20)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
The Hotel (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
2.3 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#68 of 106 in Cape Town Central
275 reviews
1.0 km away
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#46 of 106 in Cape Town Central
670 reviews
0.9 km away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#17 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
#24 of 106 in Cape Town Central
408 reviews
2.3 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfont Breakwater Lodge
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#53 of 106 in Cape Town Central
831 reviews
3.1 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Selected as best value stay in the world 2014 by Lonely Planet and Best Hostel in Africa 2014 by Hostelworld customers. Making a difference is more than just an initiative of The Backpack, it is the way we are, the way we work and the way we live. South Africa's original award-winning backpacker hostel and travel agency is simply the best place to make your travel arrangements, with all the facilities you can expect from a hip, urban hostel, such as stylishly decorated Afro-chic rooms offering superior comfort and quality, with shared or en-suite bathrooms, private electronic safes and in-house ATM. Stay in touch in our internet cafe or use WiFi throughout the hostel; swim in the pool with a stunning view of Table Mountain, or meet like-minded international travellers in our buzzing Cafe or Bar. We offer a variety of rooms, ranging from 8- and 4-bed dorms, to singles, twins, doubles and family rooms. We have recently built a loft apartment with amazing views of Table Mountain featuring its own kitchen. The hostel has communal kitchen and dining facilities; lots of sociable and chill-out spots to relax in. A night on the town in Long Street, gorgeous Clifton and Camps Bay beaches, Table Mountain, V&A Waterfront and the city centre is just a stone's throw away. Awards: Awarded Best Hostel in South Africa 2014, 2013, 2010, 2009 & 2008, Awarded Best Hostel in Africa 2014, Lonely Planet Top 10 Best Value Stays 2014. Independent winner for Best Practice Economic Impact - Imvelo Awards 2011, Independent winner for Best Single Resource Management Program in Waste Management - Imvelo Awards 2011, "One of the world's 10 coolest hostels" Guardian UK - 2010, Winner of 2011 AA Quality Assured Accommodation ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Backpack

Address: 74 New Church Street | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl , Tamboerskloof
Price Range: RM116 - RM525 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Orbitz, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Backpack reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Backpack Hotel Cape Town Central
The Backpack Cape Town, South Africa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Backpack staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Johannesburg, South Africa
Tel Aviv, Israel

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Backpack staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Share rooms at the back have a view of Table Mountain.”
 of 5 bubbles 515janettew, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
“The rooms at the front of the building get early sun, so its a little harder to sleep in, but otherwise, they were all good!”
 of 5 bubbles amycD7797QP, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Car parking is a schlep, but its a great place to stay ! Private bathroom rooms are the best.”
 of 5 bubbles Mukti_Ki, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“pay a little extra and get a private room”
 of 5 bubbles Shona68, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Best location next to table mountain and long street”
 of 5 bubbles 558rafaeli, 4 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay