We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

514 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction
See the most recent reviews
Showing 443: English reviews
Mebane, North Carolina
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2016

The hotel is within walking distance to the Victoria and Alfred Waterfront. There is also a small mall about 3 blocks from the hotel which has shops, especially a hardware store and grocery store! Very accommodating front desk personnel. Breakfast buffet was above average. My room was relatively small.

Helpful?
Thank JToler
PHVJ-GM, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction, responded to this review

Dear JToler, Thank you for your words of appreciation and for taking the time to give us your feedback after your recent stay at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction! We are delighted that you found the hotel comfortable and the Chef will be pleased to hear that you appreciated our buffet breakfast. The TEAM take great pride... More 

LOS ANGELES
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2016 via mobile

Nice staff, decent location to Bree Street restaurants (10 minute walk) & free shuttles at night to the Waterfront mall. Rooms comfy (bathrooms though clean had a mildewed smell unfortunately). Restaruant food was decent. Breakfast was pricy 185 rand so best off going to a much fancier and cheaper spot on Bree.

Helpful?
Thank chan0198
PHVJ-GM, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction, responded to this review

Dear chan0198, We are truly thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us! Thank you for the detailed review regarding our rooms, ideal location and restaurant. I will ensure that our whole TEAM receives your recognition to continue to motivate and inspire them to deliver exceptional service. We sincerely do hope that we would have the opportunity of welcoming you... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2016 via mobile

I spent three nights in a standard room (others may be very different - they say you get what you pay for) and spent the entire time being frustrated by the poor lighting. This seems to be a recurring theme in many hotels. The lighting was just not adequate for me to work in my room in the evening (and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Elena W
PHVJ-GM, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction, responded to this review

Dear Elena W, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review after your most recent stay at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction! On behalf of the management and STAFF, I would like to apologise most sincerely for your unacceptable stay experience. We are extremely saddened by your feedback. As you are aware, Protea... More 

Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Level Contributor
141 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2016

Very nice, modern hotel with good service and close to the wonderful waterfront area with the many restaurants and shops., etc. Also close enough to walk to the business district. The only negative was the nearby construction that made the traffic worse and having to walk around it. Hotel was good, bed comfortable, very good breakfast. The only negative was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Olli S
PHVJ-GM, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction, responded to this review

Dear Olli S, We are incredibly happy to see that you were well looked after and that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you very much for the detailed review. Your positive comments regarding our service and delicious breakfast are highly appreciated! Our goal is to provide all GUESTS with an unforgettable experience, although it is clear from your... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
698 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2016 via mobile

This hotel is well-located near the V&A Waterfront and the city centre. I had to wait about 5 minutes for check-in, the front desk is quite slow. Wanted a cappucino this morning, but there was nobody to do this - only opens at about 630am. Nice bed, basic bathroom amenities. Wifi very slow. Good sized rooms. Nothing special, also not... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hooggenoeg
PHVJ-GM, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction, responded to this review

Dear Hooggenoeg, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review after your most recent stay at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction! We would like to extend our most sincere apologies for not meeting your expectations. With aspiration to always exceed GUEST expectations, we have unfortunately fallen short of this goal during your visit.... More 

Waldorf, Maryland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2016

Beautiful hotel and within walking distance from the V&A waterfront. Clean and modern. Wifi is restricted to 500 mb per day, Enricco was nice enough to extend my wifi service for me. You can get bkst within your rate. Hotel does provide shuttle service to the airport for a fee.

Helpful?
1 Thank Kiana T
PHVJ-GM, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction, responded to this review

Dear Kiana T, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the TripAdvisor community. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the high level of service and comfort that we are proud to offer our VALUED GUESTS. We are glad that you liked our modern rooms and that you had the opportunity to enjoy all the activities... More 

Level Contributor
89 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2016 via mobile

I stayed here for several nights as part of a Gate1 tour and was very pleased. The room was quite spacious with a desk and nice flat screen TV. The bathroom was nice and clean with good water pressure in the shower. The dining room is nicely appointed. The breakfast buffet was very good with a nice variety of hot... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Midwesterner44
PHVJ-GM, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction, responded to this review

Dear Midwesterner44, Thank you for your exceptional feedback after your stay at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction! We are so happy to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your time with us and that you found our rooms, breakfast and service up to standard. We will ensure that the TEAM receive your special recognition to continue to motivate... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2016

Stayed at the loft as part of my Honeymoon in Dec 2013. Very welcoming, excellent service and hotel. Very well kept and spacious loft with two bathrooms. Great breakfast and location, I will definitely return

Helpful?
Thank Mohammed H
PHVJ-GM, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction, responded to this review

Dear Mohammed H, We are delighted to hear that you celebrated your honeymoon with us and we are happy to hear that we have managed to exceed your expectations. Your recommendation is highly valued and we have taken the liberty to share your comments with the rest of our TEAM. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.... More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 September 2016 via mobile

I got the feeling this hotel now relies on its position and reputation for "funky" decor to maintain its occupancy rates. No complaints about the facilities and room itself, but I was really disappointed with service. Room service was a shocker , taking an hour and 20 mins to bring a hamburger despite 3 phone calls. No apology to speak... More 

Helpful?
Thank Susan S
PHVJ-GM, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction, responded to this review

Dear Susan S, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor. On behalf of the management and STAFF at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction, I would like to apologise most sincerely for your unacceptable service experience. We are currently in the process of reviewing the matter and can assure you that your feedback... More 

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2016

Modern, contemporary furnishings in a full-service hotel. Staff was especially helpful with all of my requests (extra pillows/blankets/bag assistance). Breakfast had plenty of options and bar staff in the evening was very welcoming!

Helpful?
Thank Ashley L
PHVJ-GM, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction, responded to this review

Dear Ashley L, We are so pleased to hear that you had an pleasurable experience with us, thank you for the positive feedback you have given us. We are delighted that you found the staff helpful and the Chef will be pleased to hear that you appreciated our buffet breakfast. We pride ourselves on only delivering the highest quality of... More 

276 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (131)
Viewed
Room/Suite (47)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (145)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (34)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (34)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.6 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfont Breakwater Lodge
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#52 of 106 in Cape Town Central
830 reviews
2.7 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#69 of 106 in Cape Town Central
273 reviews
1.6 km away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marr...
#78 of 106 in Cape Town Central
926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town North Wharf
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#59 of 106 in Cape Town Central
286 reviews
0.5 km away
City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront
City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront
#64 of 106 in Cape Town Central
386 reviews
1.0 km away
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town Foreshore
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town F...
#50 of 106 in Cape Town Central
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated in the urban landscape of Greenpoint, one of Cape Town's trendiest suburbs, The Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction's location offers easy access to major Cape Town tourist attractions as well as the CBD, the Cape Town International Convention Centre and the V&A Waterfront for GUESTS staying on business. Our in house, Connexxion Restaurant is the perfect option for guests on the go. The breakfast buffet remains of international standard with a huge variety of items to choose from and for your convenience - breakfast hours over weekends are extended so you can sleep in! The Hotel provides a new contemporary urban lifestyle where you can live, work and play within a 5 kilometre radius. Walk to the Cape Quarter Lifestyle Centre and the Greenpoint Park or cycle on the new pedestrian and cycle ways. Catch a MyCity bus or the red Cape Town Tourism bus to visit Clifton, Camps Bay beach or as far as Simon's Town and Constantia! All the bedrooms feature sleek, modern design that offer environmentally friendly lighting, water-saving rain showers and energy efficient entertainment options like the Bravia LCD screens and iPod docking stations. International adapter installations also improve services to our International GUESTS. Protea Hotel Victoria Junction - a contemporary urban lifestyle! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction

Address: corner Somerset Road and Ebenezer Road, Cape Town Central 8002, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel Victoria Junction Waterfront)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Price Range: RM518 - RM1,116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Cape Town
Protea Hotel Victoria Junction
Victoria Junction
Protea Hotel By Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction South Africa
Hotel Style:
#24 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#35 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#50 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Junior suite on the 5th floor are really nice”
 of 5 bubbles DavidI938, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“5th floor has good views of the city”
 of 5 bubbles sawkiap, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The loft rooms are decadent. I was in 505 with distant view of the ocean.”
 of 5 bubbles Radford007, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in a loft unit. Keep in mind it is not suitable for physically impaired people, the stairs could be quite testing.”
 of 5 bubbles ronelc24, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“the rooms with the view to the street side are great - looking out on a hill”
  • super clean and fresh water daily
  • great beds
  • great view of nature
  • best coookies!
  • best coffee and khayalitsha cookies - the BEST!
  • cautious of nature and saving the planet
 of 5 bubbles LizaV_12, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay