We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel on St Georges

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel on St Georges
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

434 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 342: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel on St Georges
 Click to rate
South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed here for one night for work (only slept and barely spent any time in the room otherwise) and found it suited that requirement fine. However, for the price it would definitely not have been my personal choice had I been there for leisure (it was fine for this occasion as it was close to the work venue). Everything...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TheTalamia
HOSG, General Manager at Hotel on St Georges, responded to this review

Dear TheTalamia, Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel following your stay with us. Our rates are comparable to similar hotels in our neighborhood, as we feel we provide some of the best value because of our prime location and personal service standards. We are sorry that this was not your impression this time around....

Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

OK hotel with a rule that guests are not allowed. it could be good for tourists with families but not for business people. Staff were cordial. Rooms were ok comfortable. you need to go out into the mall to have the breakfast.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Satya M
HOSG, General Manager at Hotel on St Georges, responded to this review

Dear Satya M, Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel following your stay with us in November 2016. Keeping the safety of guests as priority; we strictly adhere to security guidelines. The basic policies of the hotel to restrict non registered guests from the guest floors for safety are standard at most hotels. We do...

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Excellent hotel ideal as a centre for shopping and getting about to the tourist attractions and restaurants the free car parking was also very good and efficient. the free WIFI and use of the computer also enhanced the visit

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WINCHMAN6871
HOSG, General Manager at Hotel on St Georges, responded to this review

Dear WINCHMAN6871, Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at Hotel on St Georges. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and had a chance to experience our beautiful city of Cape Town. It is our passion that our guests leave with forever positive memories. We hope that you return to us...

Douglas, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We Stayed here for 2 nights we had a great time staff very friendly and ever so helpful it's our 2nd time staying here must admit this was as good as the first ? Valet parking is also great I would certainly revisit this hotel again and thanks to all members of staff

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ian Q
HOSG, General Manager at Hotel on St Georges, responded to this review

Dear ian Q, Let me begin by thanking you for sharing your feedback with us. It is always rewarding to receive such wonderful praises from a guest. We always try our best to run like clockwork, whilst still delivering a personalised service to all our guests and I am delighted that this has been reflected in both of your stays....

Tondela, Portugal
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very old hotel. With the wind at night the ceiling ir wall make noise. Impossible to sleep. Ask the reception to change my room. They são was fully book. Anda it was not. Very rude people. We were adiviced not not walk around after sunset. The valet mande 2 scratches in the car. All bad. Place to avoid

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pedrodomestre
HOSG, General Manager at Hotel on St Georges, responded to this review

Dear pedrodomestre, Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel following your recent stay with us. I apologize for what appears to have been a very disappointing stay with us. During your stay, we were experiencing our famous Cape Town Winds that were blowing in excess of 50 kms'/hour. We were unfortunately fully booked on the...

Nelspruit, South Africa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Room was small, smelled cigarette yet we requested a non smoking room. Requested a room with a double bed but was accommodated in a room with two uneven twin beds which made it uncomfortable to sleep on.

Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank sibongilem992
HOSG, General Manager at Hotel on St Georges, responded to this review

Dear sigonbilem992, Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel as it is only through constructive feedback from our guests that we can improve the quality and standard of service. Please note that we take extreme pride in keeping our property up to the highest of standards, but clearly we had a lapse during your time...

Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I think for the majority of us travelling and staying in new locations is exciting. I certainly like doing it and am usually prepared to experience new things. When one is away from one’s home and familiar surrounds, one tends to be a little more edgy and this is something which well-trained hotel staff are usually alert to and will...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Silliusmillius53
HOSG, General Manager at Hotel on St Georges, responded to this review

Dear Silliusmillius53, Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. It breaks my heart to hear of these kinds of comments especially when they are inaccurate and not appropriate. We always appreciate constructive feedback but simply in this case the hotel must have done something that has caused you great hardship. You arrived at the hotel...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed at this hotel for one night in Feb. The hotel staff are the only reason this gets a 2 star rating. First off, no cancellations. And don't ask them what the cancellation fee is - you are supposed to know you idiot. Then, I booked a double bed and got two single beds pushed together. My room was tiny....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fangoras
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 February 2017

I stayed at the Hotel on St Georges recently. I was in Cape Town to attend a conference that was being held at the Cape Town International Conference Centre. Hotel on St Georges is located within a seven minute walk of the conference centre. So it was an ideally located hotel for my purposes. As you enter the hotel, the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mazmannan
HOSG, General Manager at Hotel on St Georges, responded to this review

Dear Mazmannan, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are looking forward to welcoming you back again next time you visit Cape Town. Warmest Regards. Yolanda Prinsloo General Manager

amanzimtoti
Reviewed 19 February 2017

The room amenities are good. The superior twin room is the way to go... Better views with 2 windows. The room is spacious and comfy and you cannot beat this hotel for location!!! Staff was friendly and helpful. A really decent place to stay if you want extra cash to spend on all the sights. Lifts are deadly fast. You...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank romym911
HOSG, General Manager at Hotel on St Georges, responded to this review

Dear romym911, Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel following your recent stay with us. We are extremely delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you experienced everything that we have to offer to our guests. It is comments such as yours that we strive for and I will most certainly share...

108 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (96)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#44 of 106 in Cape Town Central
737 reviews
0.3 km away
AHA Inn on the Square
AHA Inn on the Square
#66 of 106 in Cape Town Central
567 reviews
0.1 km away
Fountains Hotel
Fountains Hotel
#81 of 106 in Cape Town Central
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Parliament Hotel
Parliament Hotel
#39 of 106 in Cape Town Central
558 reviews
0.2 km away
Strand Tower Hotel
Strand Tower Hotel
#48 of 106 in Cape Town Central
634 reviews
0.7 km away
Cape Town Lodge
Cape Town Lodge
#71 of 106 in Cape Town Central
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hotel on St. George’s is conveniently located on the foreshore, the major hub of Cape Town’s legal, financial and publishing district. This location enjoys the convenience of being a few minutes’ walk from Cape Town CBD, Cape Town International Convention Centre and the world renowned V&A Waterfront and 22 kilometers from Cape Town International Airport. The Hotel offers affordable accommodation combined with conference facilities backed by a professional and dedicated team. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel on St Georges

Address: cnr Riebeek and St Georges Mall | PO Box 8412, Rogge Bay, Cape Town, Cape Town Central 8000, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Price Range: RM243 - RM627 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel on St Georges 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel on St Georges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Georges Cape Town
St Georges Hotel Cape Town
Hotel St Georges
Hotel On St Georges Cape Town, South Africa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel on St Georges staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel on St Georges staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“it is a good hotel if you are not on business”
 of 5 bubbles 20satyam, 3 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Having only stayed in a seventh floor room difficult to advise”
 of 5 bubbles WINCHMAN6871, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Provide the requested bed and not improvise. Wipe clean the furniture and keep bathrooms clean everyday.”
 of 5 bubbles sibongilem992, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“As we left after 3 1/2 hour, I cannot comment.”
  • Cupboard Door
  • Handle on drawer
 of 5 bubbles Silliusmillius53, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“As they say, a room with a view cannot be guaranteed, but if you do get a room without a view, you are guaranteed to have a terrible view.”
 of 5 bubbles fangoras, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5