We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel on St Georges

AMOMAUS$55*
View Deal
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$62*
US$55*
US$58*
US$58*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel on St Georges
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

441 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 347: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel on St Georges
 Click to rate
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Not my first stay or review…. I tend to stay over this time of the year for the last 3 years. There are some new faces in the staff, but I still received a friendly “welcome back” on arrival. Everything in my previous review is still the same, but the hotel is one year older and it shows. Friendly and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Boschie
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed few times before.Never had any hassles.Older(scaled down)hotel in CBD. Small reception.Dated with some small maintenance issues at times, but clean rooms.No bar, no restaurant which did not faze us, other options close-by, ask at reception .Great breakfast package included in some room types, served at cafe situated in same building structure .Superior room has spectacular view of Table Mountain.Found...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jan958
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My friend and I spent our holiday in Cape Town for a week. She picked this because it is at close to several attractions and was offered a discount through her card. The hotel was an old one with a lift that you need to be patient. The rooms we stayed were quiet, clean and tidied. The staff there are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John_C_Chan
india
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel is not so great but it is not bad too! Location: Excellent. Close to everything but still on a quieter side. Very safe. It is in the ABSA Bank building so very easy to find whether on foot or by taxi. Staff: Very professional European Standards. Always alert and friendly. Breakfast: They give vouchers to a restaurant just...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ali_asif
Cheadle Hulme, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

5 years ago used this hotel and it was located quite centrally so booked again as price was very attractive. Hotel has not changed very much and rooms were as we remembered them. Comfortable bed and kept clean. The only change was breakfast was not on the premises. You had to walk into the adjacent mall to the Kitchen deli...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael N
South Africa
Reviewed 3 March 2017

I stayed here for one night for work (only slept and barely spent any time in the room otherwise) and found it suited that requirement fine. However, for the price it would definitely not have been my personal choice had I been there for leisure (it was fine for this occasion as it was close to the work venue). Everything...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TheTalamia
HOSG, General Manager at Hotel on St Georges, responded to this review

Dear TheTalamia, Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel following your stay with us. Our rates are comparable to similar hotels in our neighborhood, as we feel we provide some of the best value because of our prime location and personal service standards. We are sorry that this was not your impression this time around....

Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed 3 March 2017

OK hotel with a rule that guests are not allowed. it could be good for tourists with families but not for business people. Staff were cordial. Rooms were ok comfortable. you need to go out into the mall to have the breakfast.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Satya M
HOSG, General Manager at Hotel on St Georges, responded to this review

Dear Satya M, Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel following your stay with us in November 2016. Keeping the safety of guests as priority; we strictly adhere to security guidelines. The basic policies of the hotel to restrict non registered guests from the guest floors for safety are standard at most hotels. We do...

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 2 March 2017

Excellent hotel ideal as a centre for shopping and getting about to the tourist attractions and restaurants the free car parking was also very good and efficient. the free WIFI and use of the computer also enhanced the visit

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WINCHMAN6871
HOSG, General Manager at Hotel on St Georges, responded to this review

Dear WINCHMAN6871, Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at Hotel on St Georges. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and had a chance to experience our beautiful city of Cape Town. It is our passion that our guests leave with forever positive memories. We hope that you return to us...

Douglas, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 March 2017 via mobile

We Stayed here for 2 nights we had a great time staff very friendly and ever so helpful it's our 2nd time staying here must admit this was as good as the first ? Valet parking is also great I would certainly revisit this hotel again and thanks to all members of staff

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ian Q
HOSG, General Manager at Hotel on St Georges, responded to this review

Dear ian Q, Let me begin by thanking you for sharing your feedback with us. It is always rewarding to receive such wonderful praises from a guest. We always try our best to run like clockwork, whilst still delivering a personalised service to all our guests and I am delighted that this has been reflected in both of your stays....

Tondela, Portugal
Reviewed 1 March 2017

Very old hotel. With the wind at night the ceiling ir wall make noise. Impossible to sleep. Ask the reception to change my room. They são was fully book. Anda it was not. Very rude people. We were adiviced not not walk around after sunset. The valet mande 2 scratches in the car. All bad. Place to avoid

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pedrodomestre
HOSG, General Manager at Hotel on St Georges, responded to this review

Dear pedrodomestre, Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel following your recent stay with us. I apologize for what appears to have been a very disappointing stay with us. During your stay, we were experiencing our famous Cape Town Winds that were blowing in excess of 50 kms'/hour. We were unfortunately fully booked on the...

108 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (96)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#44 of 106 in Cape Town Central
757 reviews
0.8 km away
Parliament Hotel
Parliament Hotel
#37 of 106 in Cape Town Central
567 reviews
0.5 km away
AHA Inn on the Square
AHA Inn on the Square
#66 of 106 in Cape Town Central
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Fountains Hotel
Fountains Hotel
#80 of 106 in Cape Town Central
511 reviews
0.8 km away
Cape Town Lodge
Cape Town Lodge
#71 of 106 in Cape Town Central
661 reviews
0.5 km away
Cape Diamond Hotel
Cape Diamond Hotel
#78 of 106 in Cape Town Central
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hotel on St. George’s is conveniently located on the foreshore, the major hub of Cape Town’s legal, financial and publishing district. This location enjoys the convenience of being a few minutes’ walk from Cape Town CBD, Cape Town International Convention Centre and the world renowned V&A Waterfront and 22 kilometers from Cape Town International Airport. The Hotel offers affordable accommodation as well as a trendy Nail Salon less than 2 minutes walking distance from the hotel backed by a professional and dedicated team. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel on St Georges

Address: St Georges Mall | cnr Riebeek St, Cape Town Central 8000, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Price Range: RM213 - RM539 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel on St Georges 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel on St Georges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Georges Cape Town
St Georges Hotel Cape Town
Hotel St Georges
Hotel On St Georges Cape Town, South Africa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel on St Georges staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel on St Georges staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Higher floors are quieter”
M5456SGmichaeln, 3 Apr 2017 | Read review
“it is a good hotel if you are not on business”
20satyam, 3 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Having only stayed in a seventh floor room difficult to advise”
WINCHMAN6871, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Provide the requested bed and not improvise. Wipe clean the furniture and keep bathrooms clean everyday.”
sibongilem992, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“As we left after 3 1/2 hour, I cannot comment.”
  • Cupboard Door
  • Handle on drawer
Silliusmillius53, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
AMOMA
US$55* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$58
Hotels.comUS$58
TripAdvisorUS$55
View all 13 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates