We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Never at Home Cape Town

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Never at Home Cape Town
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

200 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Never at Home Cape Town
See the most recent reviews
Showing 168: English reviews
Cape Town
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 October 2016

Friendly service. Reception very helpful and friendly. Room was clean and homey. Although tv channels not working and air conditioning was faulty. Restaurant meal was excellent. Thank you never @home. Hope to see you guys soon. X0x0

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank T1889URsandrar
Nicole W, Manager at Never at Home Cape Town, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel​, we are​ glad ​to hear ​that you had a good stay. We ​apologise for​ ​the issues you had with the ​TV​ channels and air conditioning - we have since corrected ​both ​these ​problems​. We look forward to being able to accommodate you again in the near future. More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 October 2016

As a solo female traveller I was put at ease upon arrival with the staff being welcoming and informative about the surrounding area. And never@home's location couldn't be better with it being within walking distance to many great shops and restaurants, Green Point Park, a very short walk to the V&A waterfront while still remaining close to Long Street and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank AshJade88
Nicole W, Manager at Never at Home Cape Town, responded to this review

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to review never@home​ in such detail - your positive feedback is very much appreciated​. We loo​k​ forward to welcoming you and your friends from London in the near future. More 

Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2016

Very friendly and helpful staff, clean rooms tidied every day, location just by the supermarket, burger (same building) and similar things. I think it's worth comparing to the other backpackers located in the same street, Sunflower Stop. Prices for 8-people room (my case) are very similar. Both are great, but quite different at the same time. Never@Home: - has shops... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Stefan_Banach
Nicole W, Manager at Never at Home Cape Town, responded to this review

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for the review. More 

Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2016

Ok so I arrived at 1pm, got told rudely by the front staff lady (her name start with L) that check in is at 2. And that was it, didn't even tell me I can store my luggage or not, or even recommend me to do something, or tell me I can hang around. Anyway I come in again at... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Kla K
Nicole W, Manager at Never at Home Cape Town, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review . We are disappointed to hear that you had such a negative experience. We usually check people in early at all times if the beds/room was open the night before. We have employed some wonderful new reception staff who are undergoing extensive training so that this kind of scenario does not happen... More 

Decatur, Georgia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2016

What a contrast between the service of two employees. Tammy was lukewarm and Nellie was exceptional. Because of this, I might try somewhere else. Otherwise, the facility was located in a good location and the decor was very bright and cheerful.

Helpful?
Thank Pappylongstockings
Nicole W, Manager at Never at Home Cape Town, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review. Tammy is no longer with the company. We aim to continually improve our service ethic with happy friendly staff. More 

Port Alfred, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2016

Was down in Cape Town on a school tour and I must say for a hostel, it was a lovely place to stay, conveniently located next to a supermarket, a variety of restaurants and not to forget Waterfront! The staff were super friendly and helpful. Special mention to Kudzi(if I haven't mixed up names)! What a gem! The beds were... More 

Helpful?
Thank VimbanasheZ
Nicole W, Manager at Never at Home Cape Town, responded to this review

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for the review. More 

2 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2016

After travelling all over South Africa our tours final destination was Never @ Home, we arrived at 12 noon and was rudely told that we were early and that our rooms were not ready, Tammy and her reception partner were not nice, rolling their eyes and slapping at the keyboards. I got a map from the display and asked were... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jeanne Michelle T
Nicole W, Manager at Never at Home Cape Town, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback. Tammy is no longer with the company - we are sorry that you had such a negative experience with her. Service and a happy team is a key focus which we will continue to work at. More 

London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2016

Recommended. The kitchen was clean and therefore celiac-friendly. Staff nice. Well located and near good deli, Giovanni's, who have some understanding of gluten-free and serve free-range chicken. There was very heavy use of cleaning chemicals, though. Would be great if the hostel could switch to less toxic cleaning methods. Safe.

Helpful?
Thank SophieLyle
Nicole W, Manager at Never at Home Cape Town, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the hostel. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. More 

Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2016

This somewhat new property is clean and polished. I rented a twin room with my girlfriend for a week and a half, and we were quite comfortable, especially being allowed to smoke on the terrace outside the front door. Tammy, one of the staff is exceptionally friendly and helpful always going the extra mile for customers (she also lent us... More 

Helpful?
Thank Matewis_vdk
Nicole W, Manager at Never at Home Cape Town, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the hostel. We were disappointed to read about some of the negative elements after you spent so much time with us. Service is key and we have addressed the various comments with our crew. More 

Hannover, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2016

I stayed at Never@Home for 10 nights and enjoyed every bit of it. All tourist attractions are in walking distance, the stadium and V&A Waterfront just on the other side of the street. As well a nice big park, a lighthouse and beaches are just a few minutes away. While you have everything you need close by it is not... More 

Helpful?
Thank KathaVi
Nicole W, Manager at Never at Home Cape Town, responded to this review

Thank you for the lovely review. We hope to see you again. More 

129 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (43)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (86)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (22)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.6 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfont Breakwater Lodge
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#52 of 106 in Cape Town Central
830 reviews
1.1 km away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,792 reviews
0.7 km away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#15 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#28 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,407 reviews
0.7 km away
The Commodore
The Commodore
#44 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,032 reviews
0.3 km away
Atlantic Point Backpackers
Atlantic Point Backpackers
#2 of 128 in Cape Town Central
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated on the vibrant Green Point "strip", we are surrounded by trendy restaurants and bars, overlook the Cape Town Stadium and in walking distance of the famous V & A Waterfront, Cape Town CBD and the Seapoint Promenade. Easy access to public transport provides guests with rapid access to Long Street (South Africa's most famous party destination), Table Mountain (a new 7 wonder of the world) and some of the best beaches Cape Town has to offer. We provide a range of accommodation including shared dormitories and double/twin rooms for those looking for something a little more intimate. Separate sanctuary accommodation is also available for females only. The majority of our rooms are en-suite with additional communal bathrooms provided for extra convenience. Basics, necessities like lockers, bedding, heating and air conditioning are supplied in all rooms. Our reception is open 24 hours and safety and security is a key priority. The Randy Warthog, bar and restaurant overlooks the hostel waterhole (swimming pool and sundeck to those in the know). Randy hosts parties and events most days of the week, including traditional braai's (barbeque in South African language). A continental breakfast or a full cooked breakfast is available at the Randy for an inexpensive cost. Additional hostel facilities include a communal kitchen, inside and outside social areas, internet zone and bicycle hire for those with a little more energy. Fast wireless connectivity is available throughout property. Our travel desk guys just love Cape Town and can advise you on all the hot spots and best day trips! They can also advise you on what not to do. A hostel shuttle bus runs daily (for a surcharge) for in house guests, and safe car parking (on request) for those independent types. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Never at Home Cape Town

Address: 107 Main Road | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa (Formerly Hotel Graeme)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Price Range: RM76 - RM393 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Never at Home Cape Town 2*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HostelWorld, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Never at Home Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Graeme Hotel Cape Town
Never At Home Cape Town South Africa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Never at Home Cape Town staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Never at Home Cape Town staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Dorm or private...we all know how this works.”
 of 5 bubbles Woodnorton1, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms further away from Pub Area quieter....”
 of 5 bubbles wendydavies61, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Couple rooms, upstairs are AWESOME.... so relaxing.”
 of 5 bubbles D3619BZmike, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“cheap upgrades available”
 of 5 bubbles 679philc, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“8-person room was absolutely OK”
 of 5 bubbles Stefan_Banach, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay