We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mountain Manor Guesthouse

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Mountain Manor Guesthouse
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

61 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mountain Manor Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Showing 55: English reviews
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 February 2015

If you are looking to share with cockroaches, a large rodent and enjoy service/attitude from the Fawlty Towers school of hotel management, then this is a must! My two young sons & I stayed in room 18 of the self catering accommodation during February . Broken toilet flush on arrival, which took several attempts over 3 days by the plumber...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank S7885KIannak
MJWhitehead, Manager at Mountain Manor Guesthouse, responded to this review

Be aware - we live in the City. When the wind blows, we get cockroaches blowing around - when the fruit trees in our neighbours garden are in full fruit - we get rats and squirrels coming to visit them. We have City Council treat for rates on a rotational basis in the gardens - but we have to be...

Oslo, Norway
Reviewed 9 February 2015

This was our fourth stay to Mountain Manor Guesthouse. There are plenty of more elegant places to stay in Cape Town, buth this guesthouse has its own charm. Friendly staff, nice rooms, and a private pool area where friends can relax. It is simply very nice!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HWitsoe
MJWhitehead, Owner at Mountain Manor Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you Hanne - it is always a pleasure to welcome you and this time with 13 of your friends. You are a true South African Ambassador!! Look forward to the busload arriving next time!! Keep well Kind regards Michelle

Silver Spring, MD
Reviewed 8 February 2015 via mobile

This B&B offered a great location, however, the offerings of amenities were limited. If you are looking for insulated rooms, great food, and cable....go elsewhere! Basic amenities in 3 star establishments are offered here at an additional price! Nice staff but a tacky pretentious atmosphere. You have to offer goods to be considered posh...especially when theft occurs in "locked" bedrooms.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sonyacharie
MJWhitehead, Owner at Mountain Manor Guesthouse, responded to this review

Unfortunately I am completely unaware of what we are talking about here, but pretentiousness isn't what we offer. We offer home from home accommodation - you have varied kind of rooms with varied rates to choose from - from small to large rooms. standard to Superior spacious rooms and even a Back Packers lodge for the more cost conscious Guest....

Vienna, Austria
Reviewed 3 January 2015 via mobile

We had a great, comfortable 5 night stay. Situated in Oranjezicht, a 20 minutes walk from city centre, the Mountain Manor is a beautifully renovated old colonial house. Staff is welcoming and very friendly, our room downstairs was spacious and clean, the pool area is lovely and relaxing. Though the guesthouse was fully booked during our stay it was never...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julia P
MJWhitehead, Owner at Mountain Manor Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear Julia Thank you for taking the time to write a review. These really do help us in marketing our venue. We hope to see you again in the near future. Warm regards Michelle

Munich, Germany
Reviewed 16 November 2014

This b&b is the most disappointing accommodation during our trip. We were glad we stayed only two nights. The room was nice, it really was, but one of the bulbs was broken which we asked to be fixed at check in. They could have checked before check in. IT took 3 hours for them to replace the bulb. At breakfast,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jurgen M
MJWhitehead, Owner at Mountain Manor Guesthouse, responded to this review

I am sorry that you had such a poor "people's" experience at Mountain Manor. We hired new staff in October and teaching the necessary 'people's" skills does take time - we are so sorry that you felt invaded in our space. It has all been "trained in" now and we have a super bunch of friendly, attentive staff. We hope...

National Capital Territory of Delhi, India
Reviewed 27 October 2014

I stayed at 17 Breda Street for a month in 2013. I got a single room on the ground floor, it was spacious, clean and it had everything I needed. MM got a good garden, pool and excellent place for recreation. I love to recommend it to anyone who is visiting Cape Town and wants to live in the city....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AnshumaanBakshi
MJWhitehead, Owner at Mountain Manor Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely, positive review. We hope to see you again when you next visit Cape Town. Warmest regards Michelle

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I stayed at Mountain Manor Guest House, 17 Breda Street, Cape Town from 02/05 to 04/05/2014. I would like to recommend this guest house as it is one of the best establishments that I have stayed in for a long time. Everything was perfect, comfortable and spotless and the breakfast was superb. It is situated in Gardens, central Cape Town,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ReneHartslief
MJWhitehead, Owner at Mountain Manor Guesthouse, responded to this review

It was a pleasure to host you. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 10 April 2014

I travel a lot and stay in many places and most are of exceptional quality. I rarely write bad reviews, and I would rather let things sort themselves out. However, I was the guest of an international group who had booked me into this establishment and I feel that they did not get their money's worth for this guest house...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank rogerlayton
MJWhitehead, Owner at Mountain Manor Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear Roger Thank you for your recommendations and I am sorry that we did not get to meet. Unfortunately when there is a 'manager' in charge and a full time maintenance man - I would expect immediate attention to all problems but it seems that this has not happened. This manager has left us and I have no idea which...

Reviewed 23 November 2013

We stayed in a self catering "Suite", which was spacious, clean, comfortable, with all necessary kitchen utensils. The place is well located, at walking distance from Long street. As a plus would be free wi-fi (there is but you need to pay), given the price of the rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank balancee
MJWhitehead, Owner at Mountain Manor Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive compliments and we hope to host you again on your next travels.

Reviewed 12 August 2013

I lead an expedition to namibia and South Africa. We ended a month long trip here. Its a good welcoming place,the kitchen and bathrooms are clean and has plenty of hot water. Its in a good position not far from the Gardens Mall and the Gardens. Getting a taxi to the waterfront is about 80 Rand. Jason is helpful and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stumpster

50 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Kloof Nek Suites
Kloof Nek Suites
#126 of 156 in Cape Town Central
26 reviews
Wish U Were Here
#58 of 156 in Cape Town Central
122 reviews
City Bowl
Atforest Guest House
Atforest Guest House
#129 of 156 in Cape Town Central
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
Cape View Accommodation
Cape View Accommodation
#92 of 156 in Cape Town Central
24 reviews
City Bowl
Hillcrest Manor Guesthouse
Hillcrest Manor Guesthouse
#88 of 156 in Cape Town Central
29 reviews
Albatross Guest House
#93 of 156 in Cape Town Central
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
On the lower slopes of Table Mountain, above the hustle and bustle of the city - you will find these three restored Cape Colonial Mansions oozing Colonial charm and warmth. Walking distance into the City and many restaurants, Mountain Manor is extremely well situated. Mountain Manor offers a 12 bed roomed Guest House / 5 self-catering suites called Harrow House / as well as an upmarket Back Packers Lodge - catering for everyone's needs. We pride ourselves in our personal service and attention to detail and go out of our way to try to satisfy our many, varied Guests, ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mountain Manor Guesthouse

Address: 17 Breda Street | Gardens/Oranjezicht, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl , Oranjezicht
Price Range: RM330 - RM537 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mountain Manor Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mountain Manor Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Manor Guesthouse Cape Town, South Africa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Mountain Manor Guesthouse staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We stayed in an executive room and it was very comfortable”
Silliusmillius53, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Central location”
fynbosguestfarm1, 22 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a mountain View”
829PaulC, 4 May 2016 | Read review
“no lift, but wery good rooms also on ground floor”
  • a big room on two levels - very nice!
jormathisen, 10 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Avoid if you can but go for the self catering ones of not!”
Studd2710, 9 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5