We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Sweet Orange Guest House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Sweet Orange Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

176 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sweet Orange Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 92: English reviews
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2015

We stayed here for 5 nights at the end of a long tour through South Africa. The staff were welcoming, the decor rather quirky, yet appealing, and the breakfasts totally lovely. One nice touch was 'today's breakfast special' ranging from various fruit smoothies, to Bircher Muesli and sweet filled pancakes. Freshly squeezed juice and eggs cooked to order. This guest... More 

Helpful?
Thank cath5960
SweetestGuesthouses, Front Office Manager at Sweet Orange Guest House, responded to this review

Dear cath5960, We would like to Thank you for taking the time to review our Sweet Orange Guesthouse and ad personal comments to it. Our focus is to serve a good and delicous breakfast in order to start your day during your holiday perfectly and served on the communal table, our guest’s exchange information between each other. The Sea Point... More 

Switzerland
Level Contributor
273 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2015

We stayed one night at this quirky, faux-colonial guesthouse, one of several 'Sweets' close to good restaurants and oceanside walks.Everything worked fine (lighting, toilet, showers, etc) but the whole place made a - possibly intentional - run-down impression (doors that stuck, old furniture, eccentric décor). Our bed (room 'Moon') was very comfortable and the room spacious with direct access to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Tony E
MaggieF8005, Front Office Manager at Sweet Orange Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Tony E, The entire team of Sweetest Guesthouses is pleased about your review and we appreciate your valuable time to place personal comments. Each review placed is very important to us and we will pass your comments on to all staff members. Kind regards, Bridget and the entire team of Sweetest Guesthouses More 

Misterton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2014

We started a cycle tour of the Cape and ended it here. We were very lucky to have two different rooms, both being very nice. All amenities were catered for and the breakfasts were very good. However you have to pay for WiFi - ANNOYING!

Helpful?
1 Thank _lindastill
SweetestGuesthouses, Owner at Sweet Orange Guest House, responded to this review

Dear mistertonmum, Your review is appreciate and we thank you for your personal time you spend to place it. It is true, that we do charge for the WiFi usage, unfortunately Telecommunication is quite expensive in South Africa and to provide an undisturbed access we installed the best Technology available. We are sure user will understand that it is inevitable... More 

Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2014

I recently stayed here one night with a group of girlfriends after my hen party. I checked in late afternoon to find my friends relaxing with their feet in the pool and a bottle of champagne on ice. The enclosed garden is surrounded by tropical plants and has small pool with deck chairs for relaxing and soaking up the sun.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank emily w
SweetestGuesthouses, Owner at Sweet Orange Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Emily w, We thank you for the time to rate our Sweet Orange Guesthouse on Tripadvisor.com as well as your comments about your stay at our establishment. Every review is very valuable for us and we appreciate that you spend your time to place it. We will pass on your comments to Bridget 1, Bridget 3 and Themba, it... More 

Gent
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2014

We stayed 3 nights. Plus : Very friendly and helpfull staff - clean rooms Minus: Very noisy (and we had some young Germans in the house who seemed to have overtaken the house: very loud music, smoking and chatting very loudly on the coach just for our window. The breakfast - we have had better ones in places who were... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mamapek
SweetestGuesthouses, Guest Relations Manager at Sweet Orange Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Mamapek, thank you for taking the time to write a review and giving future guests a feedback about our guesthouses. Our entire team is always doing its best to make you feel at home while you are staying with us. With pleasure we will also pass on the compliment about the clean rooms to our housekeepers. With our full... More 

Ballina, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Sweet Orange was in a great location. Very attractive guesthouse with the best breakfast around. Staff were very helpful and left hot water bottles every night for the guests. Rooms and dining area were beautifully decorated and the fireplace in the kitchen gave it a very homely feel. Would definitely stay there again!

Helpful?
Thank Lee R
SweetestGuesthouses, Front Office Manager at Sweet Orange Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Lee Thank you very much for spending your valuable time to review our Sweet Orange Guesthouse on Trip Advisor. It is grat to hear that you very much liked our breakfast and we are more than happy that you enjoyed our hot water bottle-service. Thanks for your lovely feedback and we are already looking forward to welcoming you again.... More 

Lucerne, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I stayed at the Sweet Orange Guesthouse for 2 nights and I felt like at home as soon as I walked in. All the staff members were very friendly and made my stay most enjoyable. The breakfast is awesome! They are offering a special every day, I could try the muesli and the fruit smoothie which both of them were... More 

Helpful?
Thank a_friedli
SweetestGuesthouses, Front Office Manager at Sweet Orange Guest House, responded to this review

Dear a_friedli We want to say Thank you for spending your valuable time to review our Sweet Orange Guesthouse on TripAdvisor. It is great to hear, that you very much liked the breakfast. Besides a full continental and English breakfast combination, we serve as well a special which changes every day. It is good to hear that our guest enjoy... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

Was definitely not a pleasant stay. "Room service" constantly knocked on the door and would just let themselves in from time to time with no explanation. No privacy at all. Also after the room was cleaned my door was left open with all my belongings inside... No explanation was provided. Disappointed a won't be coming back.

Helpful?
Thank London_Leon50
SweetestGuesthouses, Owner at Sweet Orange Guest House, responded to this review

We thank London_Leon50 for his review and we would like to take the opportunity to comment on his issues he had while staying at Sweet Orange Guesthouse. When reading your personal comment about the room services we were indeed quite surprised as it sound that our staff is constantly in the rooms. It is true that our housekeepers must first... More 

Tavistock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Although we booked at the Sweetest Orange, we were allocated to the Sweet Olive, one of four properties run by the Sweetest Orange company, all in the Seapoint neighbourhood. Sweet Olive is a lovely friendly house with 5 bedrooms, and being small provides a homely atmosphere, it was just like staying at a friend's house. There are plenty of good... More 

Helpful?
Thank carolhor
SweetestGuesthouses, Owner at Sweet Orange Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Carolhor, We appreciate your review and thank you for your time to add as well comments about your stay & experience at Sweet Olive Guesthouse. Your review is very valuable to us and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully we will have the chance again to welcome you at Sweetest Guesthouses when you visit... More 

Cologne, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Great place to stay and to discover whole of Cape Town and cape. Close to beaches, excellent restaurants. Coming back after town excursions felt like coming home. House and rooms are cosy and quiet relaxing.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Annette F
SweetestGuesthouses, Guest Relations Manager at Sweet Orange Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Anette F We would like to say thank you for this comment which is very valuable to us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our aim is to create in our Guesthouses an atmosphere that our clients experience a home away from home. To hear this will motivate our staff even more. We... More 

27 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (27)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
1:26
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Sweet Ocean View Guesthouse
#62 of 106 in Cape Town Central
165 reviews
Sweet Olive Guesthouse
#52 of 164 in Cape Town Central
90 reviews
Sweet Lemon Boutique Bed & Break...
#56 of 164 in Cape Town Central
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sweet Berries Holiday Houses
#81 of 164 in Cape Town Central
35 reviews
City Bowl
Orange Guesthouse
Orange Guesthouse
#96 of 164 in Cape Town Central
35 reviews
Cape Standard
#12 of 164 in Cape Town Central
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sweet Orange is a beautiful classic Victorian home that was built in the early 1900’s. The wooden floors, ceilings, windows and doors have all been lovingly restored, emanating style and elegance at its best. Each of the six large rooms, all with en-suite bathrooms, have been individually designed and furnished with flat screen TV’s, hairdryers, mini-safes and other essentials for a relaxing stay. Our tranquil garden complete with a small pool is the perfect place for a further relaxing African sun-soaked experience.Let us treat you to a superior service in this elegant environment. We guarantee you a friendly, warm, relaxing atmosphere for an absolutely comfortable stay in our guesthouse. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sweet Orange Guest House

Address: No. 1 Bellevue Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Price Range: RM298 - RM440 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sweet Orange Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Sweet Orange Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sweet Orange Guest House Cape Town, South Africa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sweet Orange Guest House staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Sweet Orange Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The room "Dreams"”
 of 5 bubbles claudiabW4640CV, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Check with staff if you have specific requests as there are several properties.”
 of 5 bubbles TravellersJD, 20 Oct 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are exceptional”
 of 5 bubbles 268glendah, 16 Sep 2016 | Read review
“The room Moon was very nice”
  • communal breakfast table
 of 5 bubbles , 13 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Get the room with the name of Moon”
 of 5 bubbles vickyd698, 16 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay