We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town

Protea HotelsUS$106*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$135*
US$106*
Great Deal
US$108*
US$125*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Professional photos
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town
Panoramas (7)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

987 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 834: English reviews
Start your review of Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town
 Click to rate
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This hotel is quiet trendy on the route to Table Mountain. It is efficiently managed and provides excellent meals and are accommodating if you return late in the evening for dinner. There is a spa on the premises which I have used a few times. I stayed for 2 nights with a group and I have no complaints in recommending...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sureshinee
Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

First time in South Africa, and this hotel was booked for me through Gate 1 travel. Upon entering, I was greeted warmly and professionally by a very nice young lady. I asked if I could change rooms, she did it with no problems. The rooms are small but who comes to sit in a hotel room when in South Africa...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ngriffith32655
Anso V, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town, responded to this review

Dear ngriffith32655 Thank you for staying with us and I hope you had a great time exploring and experiencing Cape Town. Thank you for your compliments, I wish you safe travels and we look forward to welcome you back again. Regards, Anso Venter General Manager

Kranskop
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I stayed for a day in this hotel, but if I can tell you the service is so great, I came for the meeting from KwaZulu-Natal, it was so great the room was clean, the staff was super friendly and welcoming. The food was so tasty and the waiters and bartenders are so friendly. I would suggest that you visit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nosiphiwe B
Anso V, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town, responded to this review

Dear Nosiphiwe, Thank you for staying with us and I hope you had a great time exploring and experiencing Cape Town. Thank you for your compliments, I wish you safe travels and we look forward to welcome you back again. Regards, Anso Venter General Manager

Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed 4 nights in May 2017. The hotel was very clean and the staff was extremely helpful with everything from recommending and booking restaurants to helping with electrical converters. Within walking distance of several good restaurants and the in hotel restaurant was very good as well. Our stay included breakfast buffet.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dave T
Anso V, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town, responded to this review

Dear Dave T, Thank you for staying with us and I hope you had a great time exploring and experiencing Cape Town. Thank you for your compliments, I have shared them with my TEAM. I wish you safe travels and we look forward to welcome you back again. Regards, Anso Venter General Manager

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My fiancé and I decided to stay at the hotel for a long weekend. The price for the stay was very good (also we have a prokard so got better rates). The room was clean. Unfortunately we had no view of table mountain but that was okay. Pool was lovely! So was the food and service. The hotel is ideally...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nicolesR8634VT
Janneman B, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town, responded to this review

Dear NicolesR8634VT, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. I am delighted to hear it was a pleasant one and that you had the chance to explore Cape Town, Wishing you safe travels & look forward to welcoming you back. Regards, Asheena Pillay

Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I am one more time on a business trip in my favorite city and once more made a great choice of hotels! The location is ideal and walking distance from many attractions and restaurants. The rooms are medium size but comfortable and clean... I have a fantastic view of the table mountain and the staff are extremely friendly and responsive....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mimo2405
Janneman B, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town, responded to this review

Dear Mimo2405, Thank you for sharing your experience at the Protea Hotel Fire & Ice Cape Town. With a mission to provide superior customer service, we take great pride in serving your needs and are delighted to hear that we have met your expectations. As a VALUED CUSTOMER your feedback will be shared with the team to continue to inspire...

Nelspruit, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I had stayed at the Fire and Ice a few times many years ago and welcomed the thought of returning. Boy, what a disappointment in almost every respect, the charm and uniqueness lost in favour of poor service, sub standard room and tacky finishing. Whilst check in was acceptable it all went downhill from there. Only one service elevator to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John D
MelissaGabriel, Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town, responded to this review

Dear John D Thank you for your valued feedback received and please accept my most sincere apologies for the delay in responding to you. It really saddens me that you had to endure these service lapses you had experienced, particularly within our Front Office and Housekeeping departments. Given the events, I can relate to your disappointment and frustration. Please accept...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I've visited this establishment 4 times and 3 out of those 4 times was the worst. I last time I was there I booked a family room which smelled like cigarette and with very outdated decor and furniture. The curtains in our loft was torn. See pictures... and thats disgusting to say the least. When we arrived on the Thursday...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Landi Z
Janneman B, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town, responded to this review

Dear Landi Z Thank you for your valued feedback. Please accept my sincere apologies for falling short in providing you with exceptional service whilst in our care! We take your comments very seriously and would really appreciate the opportunity to speak to you personally. Please may I ask you to mail your details to asheena.pillay@marriott.com. I look forward to hearing...

Greater Perth, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We have never given a Marriott Hotel a poor rating review. This has to be the worst experience at check-in ever. Apparently the swipe card system was not operating and we needed staff to swipe us into the room until it was fixed. More on this, but at check-in It can only be described as CHAOTIC and NOISEY. There were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JW1955
Janneman B, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town, responded to this review

Dear JW1955 Thank you for providing us with your valued feedback on your recent stay at Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town. We appreciate your comments on the rooms and have made special note. We do offer the convenience of smoking rooms to our GUESTS and is available only on request. Please accept my sincere apologies for the services...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Our family of 3 had a 1 bedroom suite which included a kitchenette. Although the rooms were a little worn, they were clean. The staff was most helpful and responded promptly to request for an iron, more towels etc. several restaurants and grocery store within 5 blocks. We did walk to the Waterfront from the hotel but it was a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BarbaraAnn_22
Janneman B, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town, responded to this review

Dear BarbaraAnn_22 Dear TASNIM, Thank you for sharing your experience at the Protea Hotel Fire & Ice Cape Town. As a VALUED CUSTOMER, we appreciate your feedback and are delighted to hear that you had a great stay. With a spirit to serve, we take great pride in not only meeting, but exceeding your expectations. Your feedback is integral to...

539 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (341)
Viewed
Room/Suite (83)
Viewed
Bathroom (23)
Viewed
View from Room (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (57)
Viewed
Dining (49)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (23)
Viewed
Other (88)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (141)
Viewed
Amenities (8)
Viewed
Pool & Terrace (16)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Standard Room (35)
Viewed
Superior Patio Room (43)
Viewed
The Hotel (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (57)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
1.6 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#55 of 108 in Cape Town Central
593 reviews
2.4 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#67 of 108 in Cape Town Central
320 reviews
0.3 km away
African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel
African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel
#36 of 108 in Cape Town Central
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfont Breakwater Lodge
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#61 of 108 in Cape Town Central
943 reviews
1.6 km away
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town Foreshore
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town F...
#51 of 108 in Cape Town Central
785 reviews
0.3 km away
Cape Town Hollow
Cape Town Hollow
#43 of 108 in Cape Town Central
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
From the moment you step into the lobby of this edgy Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Hotel, you will be greeted by the welcoming sounds of deep house lounge beats and immersed into a world of best GUEST service known to mankind. This ultra-chic hotel is ideally situated in the heart of Cape Town and is a mere 5 minutes from the V&A Waterfront. Set within walking distance of tourist attractions such as the hip night life of Long Street as well as 15 minutes from Cape Town's famous beaches, Camps Bay and Clifton. Mingle with fellow GUESTS and locals at the renowned Communal Table, or enjoy our crisp glass bar, a coffee brewery by day and party ticket by night featuring signature milkshakes and cocktails. Our snug yet sexy rooms are modern and trendy and features all the bells and whistles needed to ensure the comfiest stay. Your cheeky bedroom, ranging from 18 m² - 23 m² (remember that saying about dynamite?) comes standard with the most comfortable king size beds and is the base from which you can explore our slick social spaces and beautiful Mother City This is Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Cape Town, Cape Town's Hottest Place to Chill. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town

Address: New Church Street, Cape Town Central 8018, South Africa (Formerly Extreme Hotel)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Price Range: RM391 - RM928 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town 4*
Number of rooms: 201
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Fire And Ice! Cape Town
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! By Marriott Cape Town South Africa
Protea Hotel Cape Town
Extreme Hotel Cape Town
Hotel Style:
#28 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#62 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“This hotel is close to Table Mountain, Signal Hill, Camps Bay and other attractions in the city”
Sureshinee, 23 May 2017 | Read review
“Room 537 is the great room, it gives you a clear view of the Table Mountain.”
nosiphiweb, 19 May 2017 | Read review
“In another hotel!”
N8797EHjohnd, 2 May 2017 | Read review
“4th floor rooms”
ADavis1977, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Upgrade to comfort status”
helenjA8163XF, 8 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Protea Hotels
US$106* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$108
CancelonUS$125
HotelQuicklyUS$135
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates