We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Cellars-Hohenort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Cellars-Hohenort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

371 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 326: English reviews
Start your review of The Cellars-Hohenort
 Click to rate
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Well located a short distance from Constantia village the cellars is a quality establishment in a great location. Public rooms are attractive and comfortable although attention needs to be given to the restaurant layout by management. Too many tables in a poor configuration. Rooms in the Cellars very comfortable and the staff obliging. Clean and good vfm.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rob B
DominicPrendegast, General Manager at The Cellars-Hohenort, responded to this review

Dear Rob B Many thanks for your great review, I am happy to hear that you found our location convenient and enjoyed your stay at the Hotel. I would be very interested to find out more on your observations regarding our restaurant table configuration - please drop me an email to gm@cellars-hohenort.co.za Kind regards Dominic

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

The saving grace for Cellars Hohenoet was the exceptional service we received... We were made to feel very welcome from the moment we arrived and the staff couldn't do enough to make our stay enjoyable. The room however was disappointing. It was lovely and quiet and in a fantastic position, opening onto a small terrace and the pool, but the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank duncanmacrae
DominicPrendegast, General Manager at The Cellars-Hohenort, responded to this review

Dear duncanmacrae Thank you for your review of our Hotel, I am pleased that generally your stay was good but would wish to apologise to you for your observations in the room - this is unacceptable and I will personally investigate this with my Team. We will be continuing with our room refurbishment project in the winter and I do...

Reviewed 1 week ago

What's there not to like at this beautiful Relais et Chateau hotel! Gardens are beautifully maintained, flowers, walking paths, small vineyard. Hotel is charming with rooms in two historic buildings. Staff are gracious and attententive. Dining is either on the terrace outdoors or inside where you can look through the floor to ceiling windows at the lovely gardens. The Greenhouse...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank M L
DominicPrendegast, General Manager at The Cellars-Hohenort, responded to this review

Dear M L Thank you kindly for your fabulous review, I am so pleased that our staff took great care of you and that you enjoyed all our facilities. We are very centrally situated in the peaceful & beautiful Constantia valley yet close enough to all Cape Town's attractions. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future...

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

Cellars Hohenort is one of three of the Collection by Liz McGrath. Cellars Hohenhort is located in the Constantia area of Cape Town and has as its vista, the sprawling views of the Cape Peninsula or Table Mountain as it's backdrop. There are two main buildings and several smaller buildings - 42 rooms in all. Each room is individually decorated...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A_regular_traveler57
DominicPrendegast, General Manager at The Cellars-Hohenort, responded to this review

Dear A_regular_traveler57 Many thanks for your fabulous review of the Hotel, I am delighted that you enjoyed our rooms and all our amenities and that the staff were welcoming and of assistance. I am happy to hear that you had a pleasant dinner in The Conservatory and enjoyed the traditional Cape Bobotie and wines on offer. I look forward to...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

A roast beef Sunday lunch is not a South African tradition but is very popular at The Cellars so I had to try. What a disappointment,the beef was passable,the Yorkshire pudding very good but the vegetables,though they looked good, were so raw as to be inedible. What a disapointment. Sadly Cellars,set in the most beautiful gardens,has lost it's sparkle. It...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lucyrupert
DominicPrendegast, General Manager at The Cellars-Hohenort, responded to this review

Dear lucyrupert Many thanks for providing your feedback on your Sunday lunch experience, my sincere apologies that you did not enjoy it - I assure you that I will take your comments up with our chef. It is important that your experience is a good one and complacency is certainly not what we wish to convey, we value your patronage...

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Cellars Hohenart is a hidden gem. You wouldn't easily find it ... it's tucked away on a back road in Constantia. The grounds are beautifully manicured and the historic buildings are lovingly maintained.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CarolynOnTheGo
DominicPrendegast, General Manager at The Cellars-Hohenort, responded to this review

Dear CarolynOnTheGo Thank you for the visit to the Hotel and the review, we appreciate that you enjoyed our grounds and landmark buildings, they have a uniqueness and history that is enthralling. I look forward to your return Regards Dominic

Munich, Germany
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have been in the Cellars various times and found the hotel, the Spa and restaurants as well as the service every time of high quality. The atmosphere is relaxed, the outside pool area is well maintained and quiet.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ugstark
DominicPrendegast, General Manager at The Cellars-Hohenort, responded to this review

Dear ugstark Many thanks for your fabulous review, I am delighted that you had a wonderful stay again and enjoyed our Spa and restaurants and had a relaxing experience. I look forward to welcoming you back soon! Kind regards Dominic

Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We were very excited ahead of our stay at the hotel as my husband had last stayed there 20 years ago and wanted to share the experience. Unfortunately the moment we arrived things started to disappoint. We arrived at 3.00 and wanted some lunch but their lunch menu cut off time was 3.00, so we were offered tapas, sandwiches or...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tigerlily012
DominicPrendegast, General Manager at The Cellars-Hohenort, responded to this review

Dear tigerlily012 Many thanks for your feedback, I will follow up on your late lunch in the restaurant immediately, although we do have segmented service periods such as lunch, high tea, afternoon tea and dinner, we do not enforce these. It is there merely so our chefs can begin freshly prepping for the forthcoming service period and there should have...

Crowborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a classy hotel in lovely gardens. We had a nice room and facilities. The breakfast was good and we had dinner in the Conservatory Restaurant. The staff were very pleasant and efficient. The cheese soufflé starter was individually prepared (of course) but rather strong in taste. The steak main was beautifully prepared but very filling. Once again I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sagatourist
DominicPrendegast, General Manager at The Cellars-Hohenort, responded to this review

Dear sagatourist Many thanks for your review I am delighted that you had a wonderful stay with us and enjoyed the services and food. I apologise for the large group nearby but generally, when larger tables get together the conversation levels do increase a tad. I do trust that we will see you back soon Kind regards Dominic

Croxley Green, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I had the privilege of staying over for 3 nights recently. Beautiful setting, spacious rooms and a view to die for! Friendly and attentive staff (with Meryl deserving a special mention). If I have to fault them (I don't want to ...) I'd suggest that turn down should ideally be finished long BEFORE 9pm and the service in the bar...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Esther B
DominicPrendegast, General Manager at The Cellars-Hohenort, responded to this review

Dear Esther B Thank you for your feedback it is most appreciated, I am so pleased that you found our services and staff attentive. Many thanks for the update on the turndown service, 9pm is a bit late and they should have completed all rooms by that time so this warrants a follow-up - as does the confusion at the...

239 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (214)
Viewed
Dining (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (65)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
2:15
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (49)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Constantia
Steenberg Hotel
#2 of 6 in Constantia
448 reviews
The Alphen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 6 in Constantia
172 reviews
Vineyard Hotel
#1 of 3 in Newlands
1,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Last Word Constantia
#5 of 6 in Constantia
166 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#9 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast included
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in Cape Town's historical Constantia Valley, on the breathtaking slopes of Table Mountain, all the rooms and suites of The Cellars-Hohenort boast panoramic views of the impressive mountain and the beautiful grounds. Set in 9.5 acres of world renowned and award winning gardens, this historic and beautiful country escape in the city offers guests far more than just incomparable scenery. Surrounded by top wine producing farms and some of South Africa's most popular restaurants,you will find so much to do and a mere fifteen minute drive to Cape Town City center & Waterfront. Back at the hotel there are two award-winning dining experiences, including Greenhouse, where cuisine focuses on regional flavors with modern interpretations. All of this is the result of owner Liz McGrath's more than twenty years of hard work, love and endless inspiration. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Cellars-Hohenort

Address: 93 Brommersvlei Road, Constantia 7806, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Constantia
Price Range: RM906 - RM3,283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Cellars-Hohenort 5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your The Cellars-Hohenort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cellars-Hohenort Hotel Constantia
Cellars Hohenort Constantia
Cellars Hohenort Hotel Constantia
The Cellars-Hohenort Constantia, Cape Town, South Africa
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Constantia
#3 Business Hotel in Constantia
#4 Romantic Hotel in Constantia
#4 Luxury Hotel in Constantia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Cellars-Hohenort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a Cellars room”
 of 5 bubbles 853robb, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Room 55, while almost at the top of the stairs (there's no elevator!) has a lovely view over the Cape Peninsula”
 of 5 bubbles A_regular_traveler57, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Only renovated rooms/suites!”
 of 5 bubbles GlobetrotterSTR, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Can recommend room 61”
  • View out front
  • The room has its own garden
  • Overlooking the garden
  • The living room
  • View out back
  • Bathroom
  • Looking out the front door
  • The living room
 of 5 bubbles Foxy-Froggy, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Best room is the Luxury Double with verandah overlooking gardens with view of the mountain.”
 of 5 bubbles Gjill122016, 17 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5